We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful experience”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Merlin House

Merlin House enjoy a barbecue on the patio whilst enjoying the stunning views!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Merlin House enjoy a barbecue on the patio whilst enjoying the stunning views!
Decking at Merlin House Kitchen with lots of equipment inc. slo cooker, juicer,coffee machine, washer etc
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Merlin House enjoy a barbecue on the patio whilst enjoying the stunning views!
Decking at Merlin House
Kitchen with lots of equipment inc. slo cooker, juicer,coffee machine, washer etc
Driveway to Merlin House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brodick, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
4Wanderin...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My sisters, cousin, and I stayed at Merlin House at the start of June and we had the most fantastic time. Lesley was incredibly helpful and thoughtful-- picking us up at the ferry terminal even though we were hours late, providing advice and lifts, and generally just being the most friendly and attentive host we've ever experienced. She and her husband even took us out to their local pub on our first evening to join their pub quiz. The house is great and equipped with everything you need for self-catering (although the climb up the long drive in not for the faint of heart). We never figured out how to work the shower so that it wasn't too hot--but we put that down to not understanding British taps and were too embarrassed to ask what we were doing wrong-- so we advise that you ask Lesley upon arrival and don't muddle through on your own. You can catch the bus at the bottom of the drive and be on your way to exploring the island. We would return in a heartbeat. Thank you again Lesley for a lovely stay in your home!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2015
it is a shame the girls didn't ask about the shower. Probably just the control on 'medium' easily mistaken. We are always here for help and advice. We're really pleased they had a wonderful time and would, to quote, ' welcome them back in a heartbeat'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scbedinbu...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a great few days on Arran and there was loads to see and do, especially with a 2 year old. Merlin house was a great location and with amazing views. This suited our needs, it was very clean and the owners were very helpful and were there to meet us when we arrived. Shame we had to leave a day early because of the ferry strike!

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
It was a shame the ferry strike meant they had to leave a day early. However, as they had a great time and were pleased with the property, hopefully it made leaving a day earlier not quite so hard! Would love to see them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W
Northumberland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing and pleasant”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lesley and her family made us welcome. Always available for local knowledge.
Very clean and tidy house which was well equipped for our needs.
Good location for peace and quiet but also not far into Brodick Town centre.
Hill walks close by too, overall well worth a visit if you need to get away for a relaxing break.

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
We always like people to feel 'at home'and nothing is too much trouble for us to make their holiday or short break memorable for all the right reasons and we genuinely would love people to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view on a sunny day”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed over a long weekend and had a relaxing time. House provides everything you need and the view being the best part. Easy access to all of arran from house and Lesley very friendly and accommodating. All 4 adults had a great time and would return again.

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2015
Really pleased they had a good time. We try our best to give everyone a wonderful experience
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samantha...
ayrshire scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rustic retreat.”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great stay at merlin house. Lesley and her family very niece people ,also good and patient with the kids. Accommodation perfect for a base to explore arran also safe and secure for the kids as it sits up on a hill. Chickens roam free so my kids were very entertained by them. Everything you need within accommodation, Lesley supplies cleaning products and coffee ,tea sugar ect. Excellent value for money. Hope to return in the summer .

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Thank you for your review! yes, one of the best things here is the safety of children away from the main road. We are adding new equipment and comfort products all the time. Looking forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view and complete peace and quiet”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights with our infant son. The house was exactly what we were looking for. It has a great view, is very quiet while still close to the ferry terminal and has everything you need for a self-catered stay in Arran. The owner is very friendly and helpful. A car is highly recommended though as the house is on top of a pretty long and steep hill.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Thank you for your very nice review. We're glad you had a good stay and hope you will return. The long steep hill is well worth the drive when you get the view from the house. new equipment and comfort products are being added all the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aanderber...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Leslie and Dennis where fabulous hosts. Having their keen local insight really added to our memorable holiday. They welcomed us to their property and we were made to feel at home. The view is great and the property is well located in between Brodick and Corrie. We had no problems with using bikes to get around. We would highly recommend this property for your holiday as it is so close to the beach just down the drive.

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Enjoyed your visit to us here. You will notice positive changes if you return which we hope you will. Thank you for your review and you never know, we may end up in Montana sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing