We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
97
30
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
30
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location wifi worked well cooked breakfast bed was comfortable restaurants and shops brodick castle received a very warm welcome ferry terminal within walking distance lovely guesthouse lovely breakfast b and b overlooking the sea a lovely stay tea coffee lovely room weekend break
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 129 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Two night break in this small guest house. First impression of the premise was of a nice well kept place.
Once entering we received a very warm welcome from our host and shown to our room. The host couldn't have been any more friendly and approachable to talk with.
Anyway our room was almost perfect for our stay we were in a small double room which was ideal for our stay but if saying longer I would try and book a larger room. The room was spotless with ideal lighting and good complimentary shortbread! The only downside was the tv didn't seem to receivea signal but I wasn't visiting this stunning island to sit watching a tv !
In the morning we went for breakfast where we received another good welcome from the host and another member of staff. The room was also spotless with excellent options from the buffet side of breakfast. I also had a full breakfast on both mornings which set me up for the day and cooked to perfection!
There was a small lounge type room on the top floor for guests to use called the snug which contained a vast range of information on the island ranging from walks yo attractions as well as restersunts on the area. There was also a microwave and a fridge where I would have took advantage of if I was staying longer!
Overall, top marks for the host, top marks for the cleanliness, top marks for the facilities!
When I am visiting the island again hunters lodge will be my first choice of accommodation!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

This was a lovely place to stay. The staff were welcoming and friendly and knowledgeable about the area. There was lots of useful information within the guest house, bus time tables, things to do ect.

The place was absolutely spotless! We stayed for 2 nights and during this the room was replenished and tidied which we weren't expecting from a guest house.

Everything about the place was good quality including the toiletries, towels, bedding, pillows, mattress, food.

The staff let you have you privacy and freedom. There was only one minor disappointment which was there wasn't a signal for the TV but we didn't spend much time in the room. It wasn't a big issue, there was a large TV up in the snug along with board games and books.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Lise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

First holiday in ten years and was travelling alone. This place provided good value for money, a clean, well looked after room, a very welcome breakfast and had a central location that made it convenient for travel around the island. For anyone travelling alone or as a couple, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JakeHalsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

A nice homely old fashioned b&b, like your parents told you about, in a good way. Within walking distance of the ferry terminal. We had room 6 which had a lovely view of the wall behind the kitchen, and nothing else. No wardrobe, and a ‘compact’ bathroom. Huge bed, but duvet not big enough for it. Two single duvets would have been a better idea. Breakfast was fine, no facility for any other meals, though generous d-i-y tea/coffee in the room. Thankfully the wifi worked well, because the tv just didn’t at all, no signal. I found it hard to believe that nobody that had stayed in that room had raised this issue with the owner before. This was the only downside to our stay, other than there was very little parking available, you are just out on the prom somewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 98PaulB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

This was our second trip to Arran staying at Hunters - we loved staying with them so much the first time that we had to come back! Beautiful rooms, beautiful breakfasts and great location. We also love the fact that they provide so much useful information about Arran and what to do. Above all, everyone at Hunters is so lovely, friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitlink1232018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews