We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hunters Guest House
Ranked #3 of 16 Brodick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just returned from friends ruby wedding celebration. Hunters guest house provided the perfect location as the party was held at Arran on a Plate.
Caroline was the perfect hostess and we were given a complimentary upgrade to the room which overlooked the bay. The snug is a great idea for guests which provides tv fridge microwave and comfortable seating.
Breakfast was first class with a very wide choice. Everything was cooked to order. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank bigdougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 116 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Thumbs up for the Hunter's: everything was great, from the breakfast to the location, from the kindness of the hosts to the quality of the room.
It is located near to all the shops, the ferry and bus stations, it's only 10minutes walk from the main swimming pool of the isle (recommanded when the weather's bad); in front of the beach and the beach path leading to the castle.
We have been welcomed very well and couldn't dream of a more comfortable bed and a better breakfast. I have stayed in Brodick many times in the past but this one was the best, we rate this place as Nr 1.

Room Tip: I guess that if you can afford the seaview suite it's worth the price. Otherwise all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This property is a nice relaxing place to stay. Gold stars however to the Host running the property. Kind, considerate, helpful. Gave us a good guide to what we should see as we cycled around the island. Stay here. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrettDuane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The warm welcome, deep local knowledge and full advice was absolutely excellent.

This was our first time exploring Arran completely without our own wheeled transport. We asked about nearby points of interest and received first class advice and recommendation regarding local walks & facilities, thoughtfully tailored to match what we were looking for.

The rooms are very clean and welcoming, particularly those which overlook the sea. What a view looking out in the early morning light. Beautiful.
We enjoyed an excellent walk up Glen Rosa directly from the hotel (almost made it to top of The Saddle, but time defeated us - glorious views though...).

Good selection of restaurants nearby, again supported with excellent advice from the owners of Hunters Lodge.

Room Tip: Front rooms have great views & en suite facilities. Rear rooms have personal use bathrooms, acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sim353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Myself and my cousin stayed at this guest house for 2 nights in mid September 2013. There is not much new to add to the glowing reviews already written by others. It is indeed a great location and Caroline and Louise are fantastic. They only serve breakfast but there are several places to eat and a grocery store within walking distance which is great as we are from Canada and did not have a vehicle. Thanks Louise for the tip on where to find deep fried haggis as it was the best!! There are no phones in the rooms but we were able to use their personal house phone and using our calling card we were able to keep in touch with family back home which is important to us when we are travelling abroad. I do agree that the "snug" is a fabulous addition as we had a fridge to keep our drinks, a microwave to use and a place to eat our take away. As the weather was poor, we were not able to do all we planned so we will be visit Brodick again and will not hesitate to stay at Hunters Guest House when we return. When in Brodick, a visit to The Chocolate Factory next door is worth it and a stop at the cheese factory closer to Brodick Castle is a must. Watch bus schedules and plan accordingly as the bus routes are limited and there may be long time lapses between service when travelling around Isle of Arran. Visit the information center across from the Brodick pier and they will help.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotlandbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Looking for a B & B for a short break we chose Hunters on the basis of location, room sizes and views/location. We had two rooms looking out over the bay, the rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. Caroline and Louise were very welcoming and obliging. However, we found the cooked breakfast choice was rather limited and if you wanted a cooked breakfast it had to be booked the night before. The hot water in the bathroom was luke warm at times and ran out on two nights. Overall we felt it was rather expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Architect06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ3393, Owner at Hunters Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your review - We are glad you found the accommodation comfortable and the ambiance to your liking. We offer guests a choice of room only or Bed & Breakfast as we have found some prefer "brunch" and there are a number of local establishments who do this. We do ask guests if they can order the night before so we can accommodate any special requests or dietery requirements. Regarding the hot water please accept my apologies. The walk-in shower is electric so I presume it was a problem with the "roll top" bath. This does take a large volume of water - If we had been aware you were having a problem we could have "boosted" the system for you. We have just installed a new boiler and additional pump - This was something we were not able to do before opening in May so hopefully there should be lots of hot water! We have rooms ranging from £35 for a single (£50 for our smaller double) and £65 for our standard double en-suite. The rooms with the Bay Windows and uninterrupted views across to the Castle and Goatfell are more expensive at £80 pn however both had new bathrooms fitted before we opened and we do feel that these are fairly priced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we stayed at hunters guest house for three days, Caroline and loiuse were lovely, they could not do enough for us, The room was clean and it was cleaned every day.
We had tea and coffee in the room which we could help ourselves to if we wanted, We had an excellent choice for breakfast and went down a treat. The location was beautifull as it was on the sea front so the view was tremendous.
Cant fault it and cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,756 reviews
0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Brodick
965 reviews
0 mi away
The Glenartney
The Glenartney
#2 of 16 in Brodick
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#6 of 16 in Brodick
202 reviews
0 mi away
Belvedere Guest House
Belvedere Guest House
#5 of 16 in Brodick
105 reviews
0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Guest House

Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA27 8AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range: $86 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunters Guest House is a family run, local business based in the center of Brodick. We have two suites with views across the Bay to the Castle and Goatfell where guest can relax and in the morning we are happy to offer room service breakfast. Double rooms and a single room are also available on a room only or bed and breakfast basis - breakfast is in our downstairs dining room with bay window. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hunters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Guest House Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing