We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”

Belvedere Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belvedere Guest House
Ranked #6 of 16 Brodick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had a genuinely wonderful stay at the Belvedere over New Year 2012 right in the heart of Brodick. The room was lovely, extremely and a very good size. Jan & Chris couldn't have been more accomodating, giving us the option of breakfast or brunch as New Year is a time of sleeping in after some late nights. The food was lovely, very fresh and plenty of it with lots of choice. We were kept up to date with all the events happening across the island. Really can't fault it and we thought the room rate was very reasonable indeed, especially at such a busy time. A great big thank you for real Island hopspitality.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get a room due to a cancellation. Book well in advance if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
37
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My fiance and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and experienced a very satisfaying time withing the Belvedere B&B. We were met with a warm welcome and were thrilled with the view of room 1 where we stayed for one night. They provide a lot of information about Arran for new comers like us. We recommend it and would happily go back.

Room Tip: You get your money´s worth when paying extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirksworth
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed at 20 B&Bs en route from Lands End to John o'Groats by public transport. Belvedere was highest price of 20. But room was among most spacious we had with seats to look at great views. We looked for comfort, quiet, service as well as value. Belvedere met all requirements.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berriesDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh,N Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We have just stayed in Belvedere B & B in Brodick. The owner, Jan, was more than welcoming, the breakfast was fantastic and did us all day!, the shared tables at breakfast led to lots of interesting & lively conversations, we were not pressurised into taking any of the treatments or to attend Jan's son's restaurant. We did go there after meeting a couple in Lamlash who said it was so good they were returning for a second night. We stayed with our student son and a good time was had by all. His single room was much nicer than many he has stayed in and for a fair price. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms. The ones with a sea view are more expensive. We booked late and had a twin d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayeaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We only stayed one night on our tour of the isles, but found our room at the Belvedere very comfy, with the bonus of a heater you can put on when the central heating isn't going - so many other places don't allow guests to get warm when they need to! We hadn't realised it wasn't en-suite but the bathroom and another loo were nearby so no queues to use them. The views from the living rooms are superb. I was surprised that, given the spiritual nature of the hosts, the decor was plain and eclectic - although a bit of a relief to my partner who was wondering if it might be all a bit too new-age. Me, I like a little new-age. Very pleasant hosts, convenient for town and a lovely walk round the bay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satnavgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The rooms and meals were prepared with great care. You can tell they have put a lot of thought into all the little details. I was met with a warm welcome. I wish I could have stayed longer on Arran - if you are in Scotland its worth a good visit. My only small ''irk'' was the note inside the trash can that asked that you take your newspapers and magazines home with you because they didnt want to have to pay for throwing them out. I just thought it a bit ridiculous for a place of accomadation to ask you to take some of your garbage home with you. That is me being a little picky and I would still highly recommened this to my fellow travellers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiverwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I would highly reccommend this beautiful guest house. It sits in the hills of Brodick, about 5 minutes walk from the ferry terminal and has views to die for.

I had a room with a view and it was a delight to watch the sun go down, and rise again in the morning.

The couple who runs the B&B are hugely accommodating, letting us leave a bag on our last day - to collect before the ferry. I also requested breafast outside on the beautiful terrace, with views of the bay - and this was no trouble at all.

Speaking of the breakfast!? My goodness gracious me! A large selection of delicious meals. The full cooked Scottish breakfast was a really good start to the day and everything was cooked to perfection.

I loved my stay at The Belvedere and will go back as soon as I can!

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgow28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.6 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
922 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#5 of 16 in Brodick
191 reviews
5.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Guest House

Property: Belvedere Guest House
Address: Alma Road, Brodick KA27 8AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belvedere Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a "letting house" in 1920 by a retiring sea captain, Belvedere has always been occupied by holidaymakers. Captain Hamilton brought back South American mahogany as ship's ballast from which our doors and skirting boards are made. We have complemented this with antique furniture from the same period and some much older, although guest bedrooms are all modern and regularly refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Belvedere Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Guest House Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing