We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star comfort traditional service, and excellent food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for a wekend break and would like to thank all concerned for making our stay at the hotel memorable, (even the peacocks and chickens).
We received a a warm welcome from the front of house, and experienced excellent service thoughout.
We must add a very special thanks to the chef who amazed us with his talented cooking and presentation,
With such good service, food and wine it made our short stay totally relaxing and look forward to our next visit.
J and P North Yorkshire

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us so much and that you have taken the time and trouble to share your experience. We very much enjoyed meeting you and hope that you will be back soon. Antony sends a special 'thank you' for the lovely things you wrote about his cooking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 243 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay here last Saturday. We were met by the owner who was such a lovely gentleman. After explaining the confusion over our booking (which was made through a third party) we were upgraded to done of the cottages. The owner has exquisite taste and this is shown throughout the decoration of the cottages. We were invited for a drink of tea in the main house which is unbelievable. We took a walk around the grounds on Sunday morning before breakfast and they didn't disappoint. Breakfast was the most enjoyable experience. We were truly spoilt. The homemade Danish pastries are to die for. If you get a chance to stay here I would highly recommend. We are already planning our return!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for such an enthusiastic review. It's always gratifying to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and you certainly seem to have done so. We really enjoyed meeting you and hope to be able to welcome you back before too very long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A wonderful evening courtesy of dear friends who were staying at this lovely hotel for a dinner to celebrate my 50th birthday. Exquisite food and wine, delightful surroundings and friendly helpful hosts made for a perfect and truly memorable occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AlastairM736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us. We enjoyed meeting you and hope that next time we may be treated to a little piano recital after dinner!!! thank you for taking the trouble to write such a super review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We hae been to Kilmichael so many times now we have lost count. The first visit was for our anniversary in 1996 and we have gone for either a birthday or our anniversary almost every year since. We always receive the same warm welcome, nothing is too much trouble for the couple who run this intimate hotel.

Each room is uniquely decorated and has its own character. We have tried all of them now except the single rooms and our firm favourite is the Forest room which has a four poster bed and spa bath for two. The Byre Suite has the same so is well worth trying, the reason we prefer the Forest room is because it's in the main house so you don't risk getting wet if it is raining when it's time to go for dinner.

There is a lounge area where drinks and canapes are served before dinner, this is very comfortable and if you are so inclined you can make conversation with other guests and diners while you are waiting, very civilised. Dinner is a set menu but don't let that put you off, the food is simply exquisite. We have to say that although the food has always been good the chef has improved the food every year and at our last stay every mouthful was a delight. Even foods that I wouldn't normally choose from a menu have been delicious.

After dinner you can retire to the lounge area again and enjoy coffee and hand made chocolates, there is also a well stocked bar so you can finish the evening off with a port or brandy.

During the day you can enjoy wandering the grounds - the peacocks are spectacular and there are some cute chickens.

Definitely a great place for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Have a good look at the choice of rooms on their internet site and choose one which has the faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We 're really thrilled to get such praise and delighted that you keep coming back. Antony is particularly chuffed that you are so impressed with his cooking and all of us are grateful that you have taken the time and trouble to write such lovely things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What can I say about the Kilmichael Hotel? Words can't describe the wonderful time we had here!

My boyfriend (now fiance!) proposed to me at Glenashdale falls in Whiting Bay. He then surprised me with a suite at Kilmichael Hotel! We were greeted by Helen who had been in touch with my fiance arranging the stay, and she didn't hesitate to congratulate us with genuine warmth. Straight away I felt relaxed and welcome!

Helen took us round to the stables where our suite 'The Byre' was. Ross could not have booked a more wonderful room! We had a four poster bed, romantic music provided (We chose Ella Fitzgerald), an AMAZING jacuzzi bath and a lovely separate living room with a beautiful tea service. Ross had also arranged (with advice from Anthony I *think*) for us to have champagne and chocolates on arrival - of course this set me off crying! Helen left us to get settled into our room with information about dinner and breakfast.

We arrived in the first drawing room about 7pm to find a cosy log fire burning. As we chatted to the other guests we were brought some delicious canapes and served our wine. We were then taken to our table by a very efficient waiter. Dinner was incredible! Venison pate, borsht, lamb, bachelors pudding, a cheeseboard and all finished with coffee in the second 'blue' drawing room. What a meal! I would never have ordered the menu myself but the chef had done a fabulous job that I was able to eat everything without hesitation! Delish! Towards the end of the meal the staff surprised us with a mini chocolate cake with sparklers - what kindness!

We headed back to an incredible comfy bed which was warm and dozed off quickly due to the quiet surroundings. Breakfast was another lovely experience! I asked for poached eggs on toast and was presented with two fresh eggs served on toast cut into a loveheart shape! This almost set me off again! Ross was served with his full scottish breakfast. Although this was a fry up it was incredibly light and non greasy, brilliantly cooked. Along with the warm pastries, homemade jam and never ending supply of coffee, we were very satisfied customers!

After settling up (Ross wouldn't let me see that part, what a good boy!) we took a walk around the grounds. Lots of peacocks, chickens and two very angry geese who didn't discriminate about who they chased - me or the other birds! The grounds are beautiful and we could have wandered around them all day!

We really loved our stay and the fact that we had no mobile phone signal only added to the idyllic 'bubble' we felt we were in from the moment we walked in the door. I cannot reccommend Kilmichael House enough and thank all the staff from the bottom of my heart for all the effort they put into making our engagement so memorable! Hopefully we can return very soon and sample some more of the brilliant cooking and take advantage of the jacuzzi bath again!!!

Hannah Drain and Ross Allan

Room Tip: The Byre is a gorgeous suite. Lots of sunshine and a stunning bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for writing this review and for your kind messages. These occasions are so important that it's a great privilege to be able to be able to contribute to its success. every good wish for your future happiness together. (Love the picture of your newly-adorned ring-finger at Glenashdale Falls!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just back from a wonderful week on Arran. We stayed in Kilmichael's Hotel self catering cottages.
Peacock cottage was perfect for our needs. Very comfortable and homely yet spacious and bright. Beautifully decorated with fabulous showers and an amazing spa bath that made all the difference after an afternoon's kayaking. As we were cooking all our meals at night i was very impresssed with the battery of kitchen implements provided and how easy it was to cook there.

Beautiful surroundings and very kind and friendly owners. I did not eat in the restaurant this time but have before and can highly recommend it, they have just received their 17th AA inspectords choice rosette.
Such a private and relaxed setting with amazing gardens and every need met.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cirenec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

We are delighted that you were so comfortable in the cottage and enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for troubling to write this kind review. We do hope to welcome you back again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were captivated by the Kilmichael House Hotel. The intimate ambience, antique furnishings, and delicious menus were all enough to make our four day stay truly memorable, but it was the way that we were made to feel quite simply 'at home' that distinguished this hotel from equvalent establishments.
If you enjoy the quality of hotels recommended by Relais & Chateaux, Kilmichael is for you; it achieves the same standards, but with the personal touch that reflects the 20 years experience of its owners.
Nestled in the stunning scenery of the Island of Arran - a wonderful place to explore come sun or rain - the Kilmichael House Hotel is a gem of a place. We were already planning to return before we boarded the ferry to the Scottish mainland.
A & J Hampshire

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

It's so kind of you to take the time and trouble to write such a generous review. Thank you. We do hope to be able to welcome you back again and that a return visit will be just as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.7 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
769 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
581 reviews
5.4 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
185 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmichael Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmichael Country House Hotel

Address: Glen Cloy, Brodick KA27 8BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilmichael Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality, comfort and style are the hallmarks of the Kilmichael experience. All the rooms are elegantly and individually decorated to maintain the look and feel of a particularly attractive country house, while offering the standards of comfort and service associated with the very best hotels. Indeed, Kilmichael has twice been awarded 'Scottish Country House Hotel of the Year' and consistently achieves higher grades than other island hotels in every major guidebook and award scheme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilmichael Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmichael Country House Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing