We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11 out of 10!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I booked a wedding anniversary week-end here on the strength of other tripadvisor reviews and the hotel website. You never know if the reality will match what you read, but in this case it did, and more!

Arran is a beautiful island, and the hotel is in a lovely location beside a burn in a glen leading inland from Brodick. The rocky peaks of the northern part of the island tower over it and obligingly caught the morning sun each day we were there. The hotel is set in peaceful wooded grounds with a beautiful woodland garden made more magical by peacocks and sculptures.

The building itself is a gem which has been lovingly preserved and restored and the interior is sympathetically decorated and furnished with unobtrusive good taste, particularly in the entrance hall and the two delightful drawing rooms. The welcome was warm and genuine and the service was impeccable throughout our stay. Our room was comfortable and well appointed and the small welcome decanter of Arran malt whisky was a particularly nice touch.

Last, but best of all, the food. Breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice of fresh local produce, including excellent new laid eggs, but dinner was simply superb in every detail and our only regret was to have booked to eat there on only one night of our stay.

Finally we particularly appreciated the fact that there were no hidden extras making an unwelcome appearance on the bill, and charges for extras such as tea and drinks were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you so much for your splendid review. We are very pleased indeed that your anniversary trip lived up to expectations and that you got such pleasure from your stay. May we take this opportunity to wish you many more happy anniversaries and hope that your visit to Kilmichael will be the first of many!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Kilmichael Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 243 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had been to Kilmichael House Hotel for our 30th Anniversary and our daughters graciously treated us to a return for our 40th. We had great memories of our first stay and I have to say that we were a little apprehensive in case our memories had become "rose tinted" with the passage of time. We needn't have worried.
It was the peaceful haven we had remembered, with a restaurant serving some of the best meals we have ever eaten. We stayed in the Garden Suite which had a bedroom with a very comfortable 4 poster bed and en-suite facilities. There was a delightful sitting room with an adjoining bathroom. The toiletries were from Arran Aromatics and complemented the sense of tranquility which permeated the House and grounds.
We were made to feel almost like members of the family by Geoffrey, Anthony and Helen for whom nothing was too much trouble.
As we said before leaving, we won't leave it for another 10years.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

We are so pleased your memories of Kilmichael were not disappointed. We always feel a great responsibility when guests choose us to celebrate an important occasion and it's reassuring to know that you had such a good time. Congratulations once again on forty years together and thank you so much for writing such lovely things about Kilmichael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Sue & I have been coming here for years. Everything and I mean everything...about this place is truly wonderful. Geoffrey, Anthony, Helen et al make your stay so relaxed and enjoyable its hard not to return. The service is fantastic, the food is wonderful and the comforts are quite frankly stupendous! If you only visit Arran once in your life then make sure you head for Kilmichael Country House Hotel!! :-)

Room Tip: If you are looking for real comfort then book The Byre!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

What a kind and generous review! We're always really pleased to hear that you have booked again, even if your exploits in the hills leave us feeling exhausted at the mere idea! Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a glowing report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just returned from celebrating our ruby wedding at the kilmichael hotel, we cannot express in words how special our stay was. Accommodation is first class, food is superb and everyone so friendly and made it so memorable, it's so nice to go to a special hotel which also allows you to bring your dog. We will be back

Room Tip: I don't think it would matter which room you chose they are all lovely
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allisons_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Congratulations once again on your anniversary. We were flattered that you chose to celebrate such an important occasion with us and are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at Kilmichael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Superbly appointed cottage in a beautiful setting. Great attention to detail, arrival gifts of wine, home-made jam, and fresh eggs from the owners' chickens. An excellent place to leave day-to-day drudgery behind and to revive the spirits. Thank you Geoffrey and Anthony for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Mallard Cottage - spacious, and ideally appointed for family or two couples. Own garden and parking...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to let people know about your stay in Mallard Cottage. We are delighted that you felt you had escaped from drudgery and only sorry that you had to go back to it! Get planning another escape soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our first visit to Arran and apart from this being an utterly charming place to stay and apart from the suite we had being very comfortable and loving all the attention to detail such as the heart shaped shortbread, fresh fruit, flowers and whisky and apart from the owners and staff being utterly charming and helpful, the star of the show has to be the food. This is where one gets hooked. The chef, Anthony, who happens to be one of the owners lures you in by producing the most memorable plates of food we have ever tasted. There is no choice incidentally. You are made aware of the evenings menu that morning and can discuss any changes you may wish to make but follow our lead! Go with the flow and you will not be disappointed. We are looking forward to when time allows us to visit again.

Room Tip: We chose the Byre suite which had a seperate lounge, bedroom and bathroom and was located away from...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirwillcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for your super review. We were all thrilled to read your report of your stay here - and Antony is almost insufferably smug! We are very happy that your time here was so enjoyable, and truly hope you will be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in the garden suite. Beautifully decorated and comfortable. We loved the attention to detail with little touches such as a wee dram in the lounge area, the very addictive home made love heart shortbread and the Arran Aromatics products in the bathrooms which we really like to use. We enjoyed a very peaceful and comfortable nights sleep in a four poster bed.
We had a superb dinner in the dining room and the service was really top notch. The menu was altered especially for my lactose intolerance which was great. They even remembered this the next day at breakfast. The owners of Kilmichael were very friendly and hospitable. On our next visit to Arran we will definitely be staying there. It was a lovely experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulfallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

It's always good to hear that guests have enjoyed themselves and it was very good of you to take the time and trouble to write. We really enjoyed meeting you and hope that you and your partner will be able to squeeze in more visits to Kilmichael in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.7 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,196 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
943 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
576 reviews
5.4 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
180 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmichael Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmichael Country House Hotel

Address: Glen Cloy, Brodick KA27 8BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilmichael Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality, comfort and style are the hallmarks of the Kilmichael experience. All the rooms are elegantly and individually decorated to maintain the look and feel of a particularly attractive country house, while offering the standards of comfort and service associated with the very best hotels. Indeed, Kilmichael has twice been awarded 'Scottish Country House Hotel of the Year' and consistently achieves higher grades than other island hotels in every major guidebook and award scheme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kilmichael Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmichael Country House Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing