We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb break!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auchrannie House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brodick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auchrannie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A superb break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Auchrannie on 16th and 17th of March . It was a gift from our family and the room, facilities and food were all of an outstanding quality in my opinion. The massage I had was one of the best, we ate dinner in Cruize and Brambles which were both very tasy and the range at breakfast in Brambles was extensive. I believe what made it so good was the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff we met.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blindsay54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    233
    61
    26
    17
See reviews for
212
898
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Auchrannie Country House Hotel on the 11th of March for an overnight. It was a Christmas gift from our daughter. We stayed in room 16 of the house hotel. Upon arrival, we were escorted to our room by one of the receptionists and that's when it all went completely wrong for us. When we entered the room there was a distinct nauseating smell inside. The stink was coming from the en suite shower room and toilet. We did complain to the receptionist at the time and she said that she would send a member of the housekeeping staff to rectify the problem. We did ask for an alternative room at that point but she told us that there were no alternative rooms currently available and assured us that the problem would be dealt with efficiently. A member of the housekeeping staff did attend promptly but could only offer an apology after spending about 20 unsuccessful minutes attempting to eliminate the stench. We were then told that a member of the maintenance staff would finally resolve the problem by adding stronger chemicals to the waste water system which was identified as the origin of the odor. A member of the maintenance staff did attend and after spending some time probing, stabbing and digging a metal rod down the waste pipe of the wash hand basin, before finally adding chemicals to it's inner parts, we were finally told that the problem was solved and we could start to enjoy the hotel facilities. We were happy to go for a walk before going to the hotel restaurant for our evening meal. On returning from the restaurant, we went to bed for the night. My wife woke me up at 0230 hrs to inform me that the stench had returned, as bad as before, and what could we do about it? I did not want to inform reception at that time in the morning nor did I want another lengthy visit from the maintenance staff. We decided to open a window for some fresh air and report it in the morning to the duty manager. We were reluctant to open the window, for security reasons, because our room was on the ground floor next to a parking area but our options were disappearing instantly. In the morning, the duty manager, who's name is Patricia L' Anson, came to our room at our request. We fully explained to her the sequence of events which we had experienced from our moment of arrival at room 16. She offered an apology on behalf of the hotel and offered to waiver a restaurant payment of £11.35 as compensation for our horrendous overnight Auchrannie experience. She also told us that the hotel was fully booked for that day and evening otherwise she would have offered us another room to make up for the disaster we had endured. We did check online for availability that day and to our surprise and extreme disappointment there were various rooms currently still available - but not for us. We did eventually receive a complimentary gift voucher to the value of £50.00 which we could use towards goods and services at Auchrannie resort. As you may well know, Arran is the island where the Auchrannie resort is and it cost us more than £50.00 in travelling expenses just to get to the resort by train and ferry. I did contact Patricia L'Anson by email on the day of our departure requesting compensation but to date, have yet to receive her acknowledgement and feedback. Obviously, the £50.00 gift voucher is our final and only offer. In our opinion, Auchrannie hotel did not go out of it's way to help us or offer us any satisfactory explanations or reasonable compensation. Customer care and needs are obviously not their priority. Maximising their profits is top of their preference list. If you ever visit the Scottish island of Arran do yourself and your pocket a favour by giving the Auchrannie Country House Hotel a miss.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank JGEalarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RS_General_Manager, Manager at Auchrannie House Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for your review and I was sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the way your unfortunate experience was dealt with. Having looked into your issue, I would like to make afew comments.
As soon as we became aware of the problem, a room move was offered on the day of your arrival, but you opted to stay where you were.
I can confirm that at the time of your check out, we did not have any rooms available in either the House Hotel or the Spa Resort for that evening, and can only assume that there were cancellations later in the day.
As we were aware that the room was purchased as a present, our manager on duty was reluctant to disclose how much was paid for your one night stay. However, I can confirm that the room was purchased from Groupon on a room only rate for a total of £55, hence the offer of a £50 voucher as compensation.
The amount removed from your bill was the amount outstanding for the meals taken during your stay.
It is disappointing when problems occur, and although the drain was fixed shortly after your departure, I apologise that we were unable to resolve the matter whilst you were here.
Please feel free to contact me at the hotel if you wish to discuss the matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had a 2-day break at Auchrannie and, as always, we greatly enjoyed the experience. We didn't take the car but the Hotel minibus collected us at the ferry terminal - and took us back at the end of our stay. The usual high standard of accommodation/spa facilities in the Hotel with a lovely view from our room window up the glen to the mountains. We had a lunch in the Cruize Bar and breakfast and dinner both days in Brambles Restaurant and the food was very good indeed. There is such a pleasant atmosphere throughout Auchrannie and all members of staff are so friendly and helpful. We love exploring Arran, on foot or by bus, so we will definitely be back soon for one of Auchrannie's good-value short breaks!!

Room Tip: We would choose a room at the side of the Hotel with views up the glen to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Smiling, friendly, helpful staff, food choices, stylish decor, relaxation in resident's lounge, views, facilities-Auchrannie ticks all the boxes. Birthday card in mum's room on arrival was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilwinning
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely relaxing chilled out weekend at the hotel with my friend.Came back feeling refreshed and ready for a new week at work. Room was lovely . Bathroom had a lovely walk in shower. Ate at both Brambles restaurant and Cruize. All food was lovely. Staff friendly and helpful. Altogether a fantastic experience!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Simply amazing! This place is so friendly, clean and very professional they seem to have thought of everything. Great room, great facilities, great food and a relaxed atmosphere. We were very well catered for and the hotel has a high standard ALL round,WE WILL BE BACK.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Huv666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

First time at this hotel and it won't be our last. From the minute we arrived we were treated to excellent service throughout. Quality of facilities, i.e. Rooms, Spa, Food, were of first class.
Many hotels provide good service but are let down members of their staff. Auchrannie Country House Hotel obviously take pride in training their staff to the very highest of standard.
Our overall experience, First Class.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 29.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordongormac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
13.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 1 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie House Hotel

Property: Auchrannie House Hotel
Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Country Hotel
Auchrannie Country Brodick
Auchrannie House Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing