We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing girls only days away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brodick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auchrannie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing girls only days away”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights at the auchrannie hotel, I must say the staff were excellent very friendly would do anything for you. Dinner in the brambles restaurant was very nice, service was a bit slow but meal delicious. Also dined in the cruise restaurant in the spa hotel, service better and meal just as good. Was let down by breakfast four of us there and two had finished their breakfasts before the other two even got theirs. Overall would recommend it beautiful surroundings if you can drag yourself out of the sauna and steam rooms!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shasni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    235
    61
    26
    17
See reviews for
216
907
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We go to Arran several times a year, and on this visit we decided to to upgrade to an executive room, it was a nice room, a little cold and draughty because of the single glazed bay window. Our room could have done with a dusting as it clearly had not been done for several days we also noticed this same issue in some of the public areas around the hotel. We received an invite to view one of the time share lodges which we decided to take up, I was very impressed with the lodge (although the priced advertised was no where near the actual cost) I left all my details and was promised that I would be contacted after the Xmas holiday, I have received no contact at all and my wife was disappointed that she never received her complimentary glass of wine for taking up the invite. I am now looking for alternatives, you missed a deal there Auchrannie!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

stayed two nights feb 2013, in old house, first room no 27 had no bath to bathe baby as requested oops, quiet and comfortable though situated just above pool, second room no 7 had bath but noise from above and next door there was a champion snorer, was a nightmare, reception allowed extra half hour check out for us to rest and nap however all we could hear was cleaners upstairs, reception seemed quite nonplussed. spa good but lacked overall experience ie. husband not given any drink after massage or told to sit and come around, massage good but little things could make massive difference to the experience. food in brambles was very good, and great breakfasts. arran is beautiful and very relaxing as soon as you step off the ferry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We received a groupon stay here as an Xmas gift and stayed there last night.

The resort bus picked us up from the ferry and even although busy, check in was fast. The staff are very helpful and showed us up to our room and helped carry our bags.

Our room (no 25) was a twin instead of a double, however that wasn't a major issue - it was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was amazing. You can tell there has been a lot of money spent on the hotel and resort.

We had a £20pp allowance for food for dinner and we decided to eat in Brambles Bar, Seafood and Grill. It was fairly pricey and the alcohol also which I gues we were expecting.
Upon walking into the restaurant we thought 'WOW!' the atmosphere was fantastic and there was a fire in the hearth with couches in front of it.
I had garlic bread baked in foil as a starter (normally it's a side dish) and the baguette was pale, undercooked and soggy with the garlic butter.
The main course I had the salmon fillet which was fine, nothing to write home about, but fine.
Desert I had sticky toffee pudding which really let the entire meal down....it was dry, no give in the sponge when you tried to cut a bit and overall quite bland. Disappointing.

Breakfast was not included in our stay and @ £12.95 for full cooked or £8.95 for continental, about the same price as other 4* hotels.
Against my better judgement I ordered a full cooked breakfast consisting of bacon, fried egg, 2 potato scones, local lorne sausage, mushrooms and black pudding.
I gave te black pudding to my boyfriend as it was squelching in grease, the bacon was practically still oinking and again dripping in grease and the potato scones were hard on the outside and raw in the middle.
I sent it back and the waitress and waiter both advised that the potato scones aren't fried due to allergies and that they had had complaints about them being 'soggy'. I find this especially bamboozling seeing as they were too dry and the rest of the plate was swimming in grease!
They replaced the breakfast and brought back another which was worse! Thankfully they did not charge me for it (at £12.95 I would have been apoplectic!). If you boast 4* your food really has to hit the mark and overall this failed miserably.

I would go back for the hotel (know that I have seen they do deals) and leisure facilities however I would definitely steer well clear of the over-priced, under-delivering restaurant!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank younglau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RS_General_Manager, Manager at Auchrannie House Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review, and I am sorry that your breakfast in Brambles fell short of your expectations. Auchrannie breakfasts are award winning, and I can only apologise that in this instance we seem to have fallen short of our ususal high standards. As can be seen from previous reviews, this is certainly not the norm.
Having spoken to the staff on duty, they were not aware that you were unhappy with your replacement breakfast, otherwise they may have been able to offer you alternative items, more to your specific liking.
I do hope that this has not deterred you from revisiting Brambles on your next visit to Auchrannie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A great place just to get away from it all - not busy, lovely food and room with excellent bathroom. Pool was great, had a fantastic massage in the spa. Couldn't book into Brambles restaurant on first night as was full - perhaps booking could be included in the hotel booking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our (too short) stay was perfect. Our room in the main house was spotless and comfortable, if perhaps a little small. But with so much to do on Arran, who wants to spend time in their room? Dinner in Brambles was superb. Great food and wine, great service and great value. Used the pool and steam room which again was spotless. Sitiing in front of the open fire was a great way to end the night. Lots of little touches, like the Arran Aromatics in the bathroom were appreciated. What they say in their advertising, that Auchrannie is addictive, is true. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrnmrsgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed in the house hotel and could not fault the service or the Hotel. Food in Brambles Restuarant was exeellent on both nights. Room was spacious and clean.
The road signs to the resort could be improved as could signs within the site. One minor irritation was the surcharge £1 per day for Visitor Gifting Option.
Other than than the above an excelent 2 day break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMBEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie House Hotel

Property: Auchrannie House Hotel
Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Country Hotel
Auchrannie Country Brodick
Auchrannie House Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing