We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed - gone down hill!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brodick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auchrannie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissapointed - gone down hill!”
Reviewed October 21, 2007

We had a family get together of 6 adults for the weekend staying at the Auchrannie. The facilities at the hotel are good but the service is 3 star at best. I would not recommend taking the DB & B as you may be better off finding a decent restaurant else where on the island. I had been to the garden restuarant last year and it was just lovely, unfortunately both the food and service has gone right down hill. The service in Brambles restaurant was just as bad and we were served by about 4 or 5 different waiters/waitresses. We had to pour our own wine and had to go to the bar a couple of times to ask for service. In the hotel room we had had cobwebs which looked like they had been there for a long time, a spider we killed on the first night was not cleaned up during our 3 day stay! Some light bulbs had blown in 2 rooms, the bill was not prepared as requested and there was a mix up with daily newspapers

We spoke to the manager on departure togive some positive feedback on the stay in the hope that Auchrannie will once again regain its 4 start status, have since written an email and have heard nothing. We would expect to have some feedback within 4 weeks - I dont really think they care anymore.

I would definately recommend Arran as we had a great holiday, I would not recommend staying at the Auchrannie as you will undoubtedly be dissapointed and its not cheap.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank macaweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArranMan, Manager at Auchrannie House Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2007
“We apologise for the delay in reply which was due to the Manager in question going on holiday the next day for 3 weeks (as explained at the time). I myself have e mailed and had no response from the guests. The restaurant and housekeeping issues were discussed with the Heads of Department at the time with a view to ensuring these problems do not re-occur. Poor housekeeping, service and food are not the norm at Auchrannie and we pride ourselves on the opposite. Unfortunately, on this occasion several smaller problems rolled into one to create a bigger problem and for that we agologise to the guests, but hope they will return to give Auchrannie another chance. We would also like to add that Auchrannie House Hotel has just recieived confirmation of our continuing 4 Star status from VisitScotland, exceeded the Silver EatScotland standard for the Garden Restaurant and achieved the EatScotland standard for Brambles Brasserie.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    237
    61
    26
    17
See reviews for
220
912
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Stayed for a special weekend in the Country House. Room with lounge off it was pleasant though perhaps a little less special than we had expected however as we spent less time in the room than planned it was not an issue. The highlight of the trip was two excellent meals in the Garden Restaurant with lamb, venison and fish cooked to perfection and delicate flavours used for starters and desserts. The bar at night was a little crowded, especially on the Saturday night when there was a wedding in the Country House, however the staff worked well to look after all the guests. Breakfasts are lovely, buffet "starters" including a perfect fresh fruit compote and main dishes cooked to order. The products used are of the highest quality and I would recommend the bacon, apple and black pudding bruschetta.
Leisure Centre is good, though the staff were a little officious as I had the room card as I was having a facial my husband was given a hard time trying to go into the gym with only the room key. The said facial was very good and at £40 very good value Apart from the wedding party and their guests, the hotel was relatively quiet with very few children in evidence even though we stayed over a weekend.
We toured the Island and would recommend a trip round the Island distillery - if you can get Douglas you are in for a treat. Arran Aromatics, which is just up the road from the hotel is an excellent place to shop and Island Cheeses beside it is fascinating as you watch the cheeses being waxed, taste a few and can organise hampers for future presents.

  • Liked — The excellent food
  • Disliked — The officious leisure centre attendants
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

My husband and I booked a two night break in the Spa Resort. Booking via the internet was quick and hassle free. We are frequent visitors to Arran, usually opting to stay self catering, this time we fancied a change and decided to book Auchrannie. We got the 12.30pm sailing from Ardrossan and arrived in Brodick at 12.55 after a pleasant sail over to Arran.

First impressions of the Spa Resort were good. Reception is bright and airy and I was welcomed by a friendly receptionist, who was very helpful. Our room was ready and we wer on the 1st floor. The room was very spacious, nice big bed, ample space in wardrobe, good lighting etc. Comp water was waiting in the fridge, which was a nice touch. Bathroom was OK, nothing to set the heather alight to be honest but it was clean and Arran Aromatics toiletries were nice to see.

After our lunch in Cruize (staff here were nice and attentive) food was good and a fair choice for lunches, I went back to the room for shower. As per my feedback to the hotel, the shower is excellent, very powerful and plenty of hot water. Only negative point was the shower curtain. It stuck to me and really let this bathroom down, perhaps the management could review these awful curtains and install nice glass screens for their guests.

Did not eat in the resort on the first night, as we wanted to eat in The Brodick Bar but booked Brambles for Sunday evening. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of healthy options to choose from. I liked the fact the hotel tried to use local produce as much as possible. Service in Cruize was excellent.

Wandered over to the Country House to enquire about lodges. We expressed an interest in possibly purchasing a week (we are time share owners in another RCI Resort) and we were kind of surprised at the lack of interest shown by a member of staff, we got the impression that as there is 100% occupancy, they are not that bothered about getting new sales!!! Very odd indeed. There were no lodges available for us to view, so we had to make do with a pack, which was made up for us.

Brambles for dinner was good. The comfy couches, real fire and candles all contributed to a romantic ambience. We were made very welcome by Gary,who really was the only member of staff there, to have a smile on his face and make you feel welcome. The humous a bit strange and I felt it had been lying n the fridge for a while. OH had
haggis starter which look and tasted a lot better than the humous.
Main courses were special salmon and duck which were excellent. We finished off evening by having a Drambuie by the roaring fire. Very nice indeed.

I would recommend Auchrannie. We had Spa passes but did not have the time to use them, so cannot comment on these facilities. Please get rid of the awful shower curtains!!!! A nice relaxing break and we will be back.

  • Liked — Nice spacious room, comfy bed!
  • Disliked — Shower curtain
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arrangrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We are regular visitors to Arran and on this occasion decided to stay at the Spa resort where we had a very enjoyable break.
Everything was first class and we felt really relaxed during our stay. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The food in Cruz was excellent - at lunch/dinner there was a good choice of menu, the food was well presented and tasted delious - the price was good too. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice and all freshly prepared. You could also select other items to order such as smoked haddock - very tasty!.

The staff were polite and keen to give an excellent service. We had a great time and will definitely return soon.

  • Liked — The quality of accommodation and service
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJKYorkshire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aYRSHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

I have just returned from a two night stay at the Auchrannie resort and what a treat. I am a forty something female away with a few friends. On our arrival off the morning ferry we were too early to check into our rooms. The reception staff offered us our leisure passes to use the facilities until we could check in. However as it was such a glorious day we decided to head out for a hike. The staff kindly advised us of a great glen walk from the hotel to a neighbouring village approx. 5 miles.away. We were shown the leisure facilities to change into our walking gear and our luggage stored until our return. Walking through the Spa resort we all felt reluctant not to stay as the pool area looked fabulous as did the goodies in the shop too! We walked through the grounds of the hotel, the gardens impressive and down the glen to Lamlash. After an ice cream at the Pier Cafe , a great wee find, we jumped on the local bus back to the resort excited to see our rooms. We were not dissapointed! Our room s were in the Spa resort, tastefully decorated, local Arran aromatics toiletries in the bathroom. Oh and the shower was wonderful! Quickly settled then headed for a swim before tea. Great sized swimmimg pool and sauna , steam room, not brave enough to try the cold bucket of water! We booked for dinner in one of the three restaurants on site. "brambles" A bit more formal than the cruize restaurant. located at the Spa resort .The service here was first class. We were welcomed by "Gary" and shown to comfy sofas where over a pre dinner drink we took ages to decide over the menu. . Extensive choice and a nice touch using local produce as much as possible. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Lamb delicious, cooked to perfection and as for the white chocolate creme brulee! After dinner we had our coffee , cheese board served back at the lovely sofas.
We finished off our evening at a local pub folk night which was great! That was just day one!
After a great sleep - we even asked the make of the mattresses sooooo comfy - we headed for breakfast and again what a choice. The choice of smoothies as well as other fruit juices was a nice touch. Staff here were friendly and welcoming. Despite the volume of people the waiter even remembered what each of us drank the following morning. Interestingly the breakfast area was full, but the design of the area still makes for a quiet atmosphere. That day we enjoyed a few of the treatments form the SPA area. The Espa products are wonderful and the treatments available so relaxing.
My overall impression is of a top class resort located in an extremely beautiful part of the world. The staff were all welcoming and extremely helpful with questions re the resort , the island , and little local tips to enhance ones stay. The resort caters well for families, couples, groups of friends time away. I would suggest discussing your holiday needs with the staff to consider which area within this resort is right for you.
Only one suggestion the quality of the hot chocolate is not of the same lxury standard! I KNOW WHAT A MOAN!

  • Liked — dIVERSITY , LOCATION, QUALITY
  • Disliked — hOT chocolate
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mamac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

My wife and I stayed here recently. We booked for a long weekend. The hotel insisted on us booking DB&B for the Friday and Saturday nights. I thought that a hotel with 2 AA rosettes should be OK, but a blanket half-board policy is over the top; particularly given that there are other excellent places to eat on the island.

Positives:
The staff - engaging and courteous. We were well looked after in the hotel and in the Spa.
The location - easy access from the ferry and to the rest of the island. The hotel caters for a range of activities; we were supplied with packed lunches for a day in the hills.
The food - uncomplicated menus using local produce. The Brambles restaurant is better value for dinner than the Garden (see below). Breakfast was good.

Neutrals:
Rooms and accommodation. Bedrooms (particularly bathrooms) need upgrading. Tired fittings. The corridors and public spaces also need upgrading. We counted 6 fire doors between our room and reception - a hassle for carrying luggage and excessive even in the event of fire.
"Spa" - the treatment staff were excellent - quite the best massage in a long time. The treatment rooms were good too. A couple of guests we met had spent most of the weekend in there being pampered. However - the rest of the Spa was a let down. The facilities are obviously designed for families, to allow Mum (and Dad) to go and have a treatment while the kids play in the pool. As a result it is a messy compromise, particularly on wet days when fractious teens disturb the peace. The management should transfer the "Spa" to the old hotel and use the new hotel for families.

Negatives:
Dinner in the Garden restaurant: Perhaps we caught Chef on a night off. The food was indifferent - overcooked venison and basic vegetables. The wine list is very poor and the house wine we had was disgusting. The management should invest in a better wine list, with more half bottles. Selling your own selection of wine is a good idea but not one "blended by our staff".
We asked for a glass of champagne before dinner and were given two minatures of Cava with screw tops. Get some decent house champagne and pour it at the bar.
We stayed at the Roxburgh Hotel outside Kelso earlier this year. It is very similar to Auchrannie in size and style. It is not without its own faults - but the food and wine was excellent and far better than what we had here.
Dinner at Brambles the next night was better - but we had a 20 min wait between starter and main course. I stuck to Arran beer.
On the third evening we dined at Creelers north of Brodick. Simple, relaxed, excellent food and a real pleasure.

Overall - a good concept but could do much, much better if management focussed on doing a few things really well.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr_Pudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2007

I have just spent 4 days at Auchrannie, staying in their older hotel part of the complex. My partner and I had a completely relaxing holiday, which was much needed!
The staff where really friendly and the food was soooo good and varied (think I put on weight!).
This will sound a bit rude, but the last thing we expected to have on a small island in Scotland was such comfort ,and to feel so well cared for . The whole place is great and as the weather was not the best so much indoor stuff to do. They are graded 4 star and in every respect seem to far exceed this rating in our minds.
AND they have wi-fi!
Fab - would recommend it highly. Am trying to work out when we can come back!

  • Liked — friendly staff and great food - so many options
  • Disliked — we had to leave!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ukhappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
909 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
13.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie House Hotel

Property: Auchrannie House Hotel
Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Country Hotel
Auchrannie Country Brodick
Auchrannie House Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing