We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food - pleasant but over formal staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Douglas Hotel Bistro

The Douglas Hotel Bistro
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With its rustic-chic style, The Douglas Bistro has a refreshing simplicity but a serious intent.The cuisine is honest and straightforward in style, bold and hearty in flavour. No fussy preparation or pretentious artistry, just thoughtful and skillful use of good quality produce. The menus are seasonally driven and make use of home-grown or locally-sourced ingredients, with a contemporary twist on flavoursome classics.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great food - pleasant but over formal staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Staff were too stiff - lighten up guys and girls! However, food was very good. Soups were great - very hot and lovely homemade bread. Venison delicious, as was haddock. Sweets - yummy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    128
    42
    29
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Need a mortgage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

only down point the prices 1 pint of lager and 1 morgans and a coke £7.55 A wee bit expensive but lovely hotel

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food but not for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We took my grandparents out for dinner to The Douglas Hotel for dinner while they were staying with us in Arran. Knowing it had been recently redone, we wanted to try it out. We ate off the restricted choice menu which offered 3 choices for each course. I began with the mackerel pate, others had either the same or the mushroom & chorizo soup. Both of these went down well with everyone although apparently the soup could have been a main course itself! For the main 4 of us had chicken and the other 2 sea bass. The chicken, with asparagus and parsnip mashed potato, was fantastic and my uncle said the sea bass was the best he'd had in a long time. Unfortunately my dad had a long wait for his side order - when he asked the waitress it turned out it had never been ordered.

We would have had a lovely meal, had it not been for the noise from the bar. Our table was directly alongside the bar and on a Saturday night the noise from there was really disruptive to our meal - had I been with friends it wouldn't have bothered me but it really wasn't the setting for a family meal out. The bistro is beautiful and the noise from the bar just seemed very out of place. It was a real shame as the fact we couldn't really hear each other talk impacted on our decision to stay for coffee and desert (we didnt)

Helpful?
1 Thank CMA165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Food not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

It looks stylish, but the food was very below standard. The main dish had no flavour, the waitress couldn't let me know what it was like so said she come back and ask for my opinion on it - but didn't, I think they knew. The pudding I left.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank boWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No fish at the inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Took my family here last Monday (28/7) for a meal before my son boarded the late ferry after a days golfing .The only thing that appeared to be on the menu was burgers of one form or another as our preferred fish dishes were off.Nothing wrong with the food I would hasten to say but very little choice .The waiting staff appeared to be quite uninvolved although they were all very young and could I think do with a bit of basic training --- overall could do better

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Douglas Hotel Bistro also viewed

 
Brodick, Isle of Arran
 

Been to The Douglas Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing