We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of The Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed four nights here for a wedding and loved it. The rooms were stylish and comfortable, with a very large bathroom.
The breakfast was very tasty and freshly made - I hate luke warm, buffet breakfasts. The view out of the front overlooks the sea and you can enjoy a drink on the terrace oustside.
The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. It's located very close to the ferry pier, which is handy for arriving and leaving.
As for the wedding - I think I had the best wedding dinner I've ever had there. Normally it's fairly bland, luke warm fare - chicken in a tomato sauce or something. But the dinner here was hot and delicious - both the lamb and the chowder were delicious.
I'd definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjgraham82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 955 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Douglas Hotel at Brodick on the Isle Arran. We splurged on a suite, room 103, and stayed for two nights and it was well worth it. A lovely spacious well appointed room with a view overlooking the bay and a distant view of Brodick Castle. My husband particularly enjoyed the freshly baked shortbread treats provided on the tea tray in our room. A full breakfast with local produce is included in the room tariff, and is a great start to the day. We also dined one evening in the restaurant, and my tip is to get a window seat in the smaller of the two dining rooms. My husband ordered the salmond and I enjoyed the beer battered pollock, served with chips served attractively in their own metal basket. Pollock is an interesting choice of fish to batter, but most delicious and served up with mushy peas. All up, the food is delicious and the service is friendly and professional.

The bathroom in our room was huge, and yet the shower was restricted to a small bathtub. I would just love to see a proper and luxurious shower recess with a drenching shower head. However, three cheers to the Douglas for their generous bath towels. How often do I enjoy a shower in an expensive hotel only to find a towel the size of a bath mat is provided? Also it was curious that the small safe was not secured into the cupboard - seriously funny that you could place your treasures in it and someone could just make off with the entire thing!

We are picnickers and come armed with foods and beverages, and it is inconvenient that there is no fridge in our room for our provisions. However the staff kindly offered to pop our pack into their kitchen fridge. My big tip is that two days is only just enough. Access to the Isle is a one hour car ferry trip which needs to be booked and planned in advance. There is lots to explore on the Island and a car is necessary to get about, importantly give yourselves plenty of time to enjoy the island. We visited a brewery, whisky distilery, golf course, cheese shop and the local fish shop where a local lobster was cooked, cleaned and shelled for collection a few hours later.

The golf course layout hugs the bay, and finishes with a challenging 220 yard par 3, 18th. Even if you don't play golf, an early morning walk around the course is most enjoyable.


While waiting for the return ferry journey, we enjoyed a scoop of delicious and memorable local strawberry ice cream!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie282000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A Modern Boutique Hotel in Brodick right opposite the ferry Terminal.

Contemporary 'Cool' décor throughout the hotel , in sharp contrast to the rest of the hotels on offer in Arran. Nice room with very comfortable bed and good facilities. Nice bathroom although lighting in it was a tad dull. One bug bear was that there was no clock in the room.

Dinnner was excellent and the staff helpful and knowledgeable as to the menu. Menu displayed a fair amount of locally sourced produce.

Breakfast was okay , the menu did say there was local Arran Cheeses , but on both occasion there was none , only 'plastic' sliced cheeses. Whilst this is not a problem , please don't say local cheeses when you have no intention of doing so. Otherwise everything else was cooked to order and was perfect , with all the staff being helpful.

This is an ideal place to stay , particularly if you don't want to get caught up in the hussle and bussle of the Auchrannie .

Room Tip: Do try and get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanaa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

15 of my golfing buddies and myself recently stayed at the Douglas and were treated so specially by the staff, they could not do eneugh for us. The food was excellent as was the quality of the accommodation. All of my fellow golfers intend to return in the future. Well done the Douglas.

Room Tip: Pick any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Room 103 gives you the best sea bay view you'll probably ever get. We loved it and never saw something better. The hotel is located near by the drop off of the ferry from Ardrossan, very convenient. The hotel has a pleasant interior design and atmosphere. It has a nice bar and nice restaurant. The staff is very friendly, but somewhat unexperienced. That makes it sometimes takes some time before you get your coffee (cold) or wine (after the course is finished). But all together, we would surely recommend this place when you're visiting Arran. And Arran itself is surely worth visiting!

Room Tip: Ask for room 103, with great views over the bay, and which is huge, with a huge badroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Douglas Hotel, Brodick for two nights recently and couldn't fault the hotel in any way. Our room was luxurious, food first class and the staff were efficient and friendly. We enjoyed our stay very much and definitely highly recommend the Douglas to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 207 at the side of hotel and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Booked a 5 night stay (dinner, bed & breakfast) in a standard double room for our wedding anniversary. On arrival we were delighted to discover we had received a free upgrade to one of the very large suites as it was a special occasion. Beautiful views of Brodick bay, etc.
Room was extremely large with a vey large, superbly comfortable bed (best sleep for ages) and also a huge bathroom. No air conditioning however all executive rooms and suites have numerous large windows which can all be fully opened in warm weather.
Also received complimentary drinks with dinner on the first evening. All staff were excellent in attitude and were extremely courteous. All food was delicious, from breakfast to dinner.
We had a great stay, and the fantastic weather was a bonus. We would not hesitate to stay at The Douglas again and have already made a future booking.

Room Tip: Executive rooms all have views to the front of the hotel over Brodick bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 366DavidR366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
769 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
185 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
440 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range: $138 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing