We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$165
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seamill Hydro(West Kilbride)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lauriston Hotel(Ardrossan)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$89
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,023)
Filter reviews
1,023 results
Traveler rating
786
180
35
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
786
180
35
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalhuge bathroomhigh standardfirst classbistro restaurantbeautiful hotelbrodick bayhomemade shortbreadduckbar menuboutique hotelexecutive roomgoatsea viewarran aromatics toiletriesspent two nightsisle of arran
Filter
Updating list...
680 - 685 of 1,023 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Booked a 5 night stay (dinner, bed & breakfast) in a standard double room for our wedding anniversary. On arrival we were delighted to discover we had received a free upgrade to one of the very large suites as it was a special occasion. Beautiful views of Brodick bay, etc.
Room was extremely large with a vey large, superbly comfortable bed (best sleep for ages) and also a huge bathroom. No air conditioning however all executive rooms and suites have numerous large windows which can all be fully opened in warm weather.
Also received complimentary drinks with dinner on the first evening. All staff were excellent in attitude and were extremely courteous. All food was delicious, from breakfast to dinner.
We had a great stay, and the fantastic weather was a bonus. We would not hesitate to stay at The Douglas again and have already made a future booking.

Room Tip: Executive rooms all have views to the front of the hotel over Brodick bay.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 366DavidR366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and chose this hotel as it is in the heart of Brodick and close to all amenities.The hotel was beautifully decorated and furnished but we were disappointed by the lack of ventilation in our room (108). There was no window to open - only a very tiny one very high up on the side wall which you could not reach without standing on the window ledge - only to find it was broken. Therefore it was uncomfortable sleeping in such hot weather. On the second day we came back to the hotel about 5pm and found that the the housekeeping had not been done so we were left with used towels and dirty cups however after a quick call to reception this was rectified.The overall cleanliness of the rooms was faultless though. Special mention has to go to the young men and women in the bistro/restaurant who were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The food was excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid room 108 - no proper ventilation
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shst888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The £7m refurb has really paid off, providing rooms and common areas with great ambiance, quality and style. The real 'stars of the show' however are the staff of the hotel. Special mention for the Bistro team. Serving excellent food with friendly and attentive approach to guests. A great 4 night mid-week stay at a competitive rate. Thank you !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcomillennium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our first visit to The Douglas Hotel and we were certainly not disappointed. The accommodation is first class and the meals excellent. We took advantage of the mid week special deal and loved it. The refurbishment of this building is excellent with lovely wee corners to sit and relax around the hotel as well as lovely airy rooms and really comfy beds. The staff were charming and it was lovely to see that most of them were locals too. We will most certainly be returning to this lovely hotel and will be on the lookout for any more special deals too. I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicats116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been visiting Arran for many, many years and absolutely love the place! The Douglas however has not been part of my holidays in the past due its general decline.

Wow! What a transformation!

It has been stylishly and tastefully refurbished and is now gorgeous!

We drank there every night of the holiday and were impressed with the drink selection and the friendly professionalism of the staff.

We were staying in a cottage but in future will be looking to stay in the hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews