We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,036)
Filter reviews
1,036 results
Traveler rating
794
183
36
10
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
794
183
36
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalhuge bathroomhigh standardbistro restaurantfirst classbeautiful hotelbrodick bayhomemade shortbreadduckbar menuboutique hotelgoatexecutive roomsea viewarran aromatics toiletriesspent two nightsisle of arran
Filter
Updating list...
696 - 701 of 1,036 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our first visit to The Douglas Hotel and we were certainly not disappointed. The accommodation is first class and the meals excellent. We took advantage of the mid week special deal and loved it. The refurbishment of this building is excellent with lovely wee corners to sit and relax around the hotel as well as lovely airy rooms and really comfy beds. The staff were charming and it was lovely to see that most of them were locals too. We will most certainly be returning to this lovely hotel and will be on the lookout for any more special deals too. I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicats116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been visiting Arran for many, many years and absolutely love the place! The Douglas however has not been part of my holidays in the past due its general decline.

Wow! What a transformation!

It has been stylishly and tastefully refurbished and is now gorgeous!

We drank there every night of the holiday and were impressed with the drink selection and the friendly professionalism of the staff.

We were staying in a cottage but in future will be looking to stay in the hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A wonderful couple of days staying on Arran at The Douglas Hotel using their mid-week offer. We were touring the west coast and this offer worked out a couple of pounds cheaper than staying in a standard bed and breakfast and paying for an evening meal. And for the price we got an amazing room with a luxuriously enormous bed. tea/coffee and the most delicious shortie were provided.
The decor is fab with every attention to detail. We didn't have a sea view and there seem to be some moans about this but it didn't bother us at all as we went outside to get the views!!
Restaurant food was good and the breakfast choice was excellent with a wonderful selection of fresh fruit.
We found the staff, friendly, helpful and welcoming.
We have no complaints at all about the service or the value for money that we received.
A wonderful hotel and we will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just spent the weekend in Arran, our first ever visit. We booked last minute and stayed at the Douglas Hotel. The location of the hotel is opposite the ferry port, so excellent if you don't take your car. Our room was very spacious and well furnished with a very comfortable bed. There was a great choice for breakfast and everything was well cooked and served. We ate the first evening from the Bistro menu and as the weather was that good we opted to eat outside on the terrace. The food was excellent and it was a great setting with great views over the bay. After having a look around the town we couldn't see anything that looked as good as the hotel, so ate there again on the second evening but this time opting for the bar menu. We had the burger followed by a cheese board and the food was excellent. The bar has a great choice of wines, beers and cocktails, all the staff are very attentive and friendly. Looking around the town nothing else really compares with it. I would certainly recommend the Douglas to anyone and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had our wedding reception here in June this year and would highly recommend it as a venue for any occasion.

It was everything we expected and more. The staff were extremely helpful from the moment we arrived to when we left and a special mention must go to the hard work and patience of Jim and Ailsa, dealing with our persistent questions and demands!

They couldn't have been more accommodating to our every need, and their own suggestions for the layout, timings etc. was brilliant, made us both feel very relaxed on the day.

Most of our family stayed in the hotel over the weekend and everyone commented on how amazing the rooms are, if you like spacious rooms with great views then this is the place.

It also has to be said that the food was excellent, kudos to Greg and his team for producing 80 covers of top notch food with a great choice on offer.

we are frequent visitors to Arran and would recommend the island as a wedding setting - our guests have already made plans to go back - they've caught the arran bug!

Jamie and Rosie

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews