We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Douglas Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waterside Hotel(West Kilbride)(Great Value!)
$137
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seamill Hydro(West Kilbride)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lauriston Hotel(Ardrossan)
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
999 results
Traveler rating
771
173
34
9
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
771
173
34
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalhuge bathroomhigh standardfirst classbistro restaurantbrodick baybeautiful hotelhomemade shortbreadduckbar menuboutique hotelexecutive roomgoatsea viewarran aromatics toiletriesspent two nightsrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
696 - 701 of 999 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from 1 night B&B in the Douglas. We had upgraded our room and felt it was worth very penny. Our room had a huge bed, double aspects and an enormous bathroom. The hotel is very stylish throughout and we thoroughly enjoyed the bottle of Prosecco which was waiting in our room.
Check in and out were a pleasure thanks to the charming reception staff.
We had cocktails in the bar in the evening which were delicious.
Breakfast was very good (apart from the sausage!) but service was very slow. This wasn't a problem for us and our waitress did apologise as they were short staffed in the kitchen.
Would thoroughly recommend a visit to this very classy hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room at the front - well worth the extra
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhomacek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at the Douglas for a week as part of a large group of friends, sharing a twin room. Twins can sometimes feel a little cramped, but not a bit of that here; our room was bright and very spacious with plenty of storage space for both of us. The design throughout the hotel is top-class, with just the right balance between contemporary sleekness and comfort. There's plenty of space to relax outside the rooms with a lovely little lounge area (complete with piano) and a good sized bar. Best of all is the terrace at the front of the hotel - perfect for an evening cocktail whilst watching the sun set across the bay. Our package included breakfast and dinner at the hotel, and although it took them a little time to serve our large group of 30, the food was always good, especially the generous breakfast (and the delicious shortbread left in our room each day). The staff were great too, and were friendly and efficient throughout. It's a lovely hotel in a great setting (just a few minutes from the ferry) and I look forward to staying there again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank BrightCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This distinctive and landmark building has had a major revamp after it fell into dereliction and was an embarrassment to the island. It would seem that no cost has been cut from the budget in creating a beautiful hotel. It is now marketed as a boutique hotel and it fits that category well.

My wife and I booked a double room on the second floor which had two outlooks. One to the front onto the pier and the other to the access drive. Our Queen bed allowed my wife to report on the comings and goings of the Calmac ferries. Many of the front rooms overlook the bay and an outlook of the big mountain, Goatfell.

Our bathroom was enormous and would have been the size of a double bedroom in another hotel. Sadly the lighting was quite inadequate when the window blind was down which was a necessity because there was a back driveway. State of the art plumbing was sadly without instructions on how to use it.

There was a most welcome tea tray with home made shortcake biscuits but only one dressing robe, no Arran aromatheric hand cream/body lotion, no shower caps and a room door which was so hard to open we thought we were locked in.

Our dinner was extremely tasty and the choice from the menu was perfectly adequate. If we had been staying longer we might have strayed away to other eating establishments as it seemed to be a fixed menu rather than ever changing. The staff were courteous although no-one checked that our meal was satisfactory and my dinner roll created crumbs which were not cleared up between courses.

The hotel, for all its lavish embellishments lacks character however hard the mainly Scottish staff endeavour to keep guests happy. We have been visiting Arran for many years and desperately want this hotel to succeed and with a light touch on the daily disciplines this would change this good hotel into an excellent one. It won't take much.

Room Tip: A view onto the bay is almost essential.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilkos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

spent a great weekend here last week 10th may. weather wasn't great but the hotel was. room was beautiful and the staff, food and ambience were all great. no complaints whatsoever just a comment - possibly think about minibars in the rooms to round off a great experience.

Room Tip: upgrade to executive - well worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossio1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Douglas Hotel for a two night dinner, bed and breakfast stay. Hotel was great, stay were very accommodation and attentive. Room was clean and spacious and meals were excellent. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme Cochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews