We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My fiancée and myself visited this hotel in early February using an online voucher.

Reception/Booking In: Very fast, friendly and efficient.
Room: Spacious, very clean and tidy, lovely and comfortable bed, good views, great bath/shower room.
Bar: Comfy couches, great views of the sea and Goat Fell, friendly staff, good choice of drinks, tea and coffee.
Food: First class, could easily have tried just about everything on the Bistro menu, staff were probably the most helpful, friendly and comfortable in their job I've ever met.
Entertainment: On the night we were there an eight(?) piece jazz band were playing. This isn't really my favourite style of music but this lot were very entertaining and packed out the bar.
Breakfast: Amazing! something for everyone. I particularly enjoyed the haggis with the cooked breakfast.
Overall: Lovely, clean hotel, very friendly staff, amazing views, fantastic rooms, great food. we'll be back very soon. Next month to be exact :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    159
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
119
534
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This was my first stay at The Douglas and it won't be the last. I booked a last minute midweek stay and got an excellent DB&B rate. I didn't have the best room (side view only of the Bay and mountain) but it was roomy and beautifully furnished, and the toiletries in the spacious bathroom (with proper deep bath) were lovely. The Bistro menu was attractive and the food very adequate, but the stars were the staff, who were delightful - it seems everyone is trying hard to make your stay pleasant, and they're succeeding.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AK_golf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here at a friends wedding. It was stunning. The decor, the rooms, the food and the staff were all superb. This is a really romantic hotel that has an atmosphere that matches. Wish we could have stayed longer. This is a hotel that we loved and we will be returning to very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in 208. It is an attic room that is huge, has a walk in wardrobe before you get into the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkeeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed over one night with a group of about 50 cyclist friends so virtually had the whole hotel. The room I had was the best hotel room I have ever stayed in contemporary styling, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Being such a large group, the staff were put to the test particularly as we were all drenched after a circuit of the island. Their patience and attitude were exemplary without fail. The buffet evening meal was of the highest quality with a huge choice. Similarly the breakfast great quality ingredients freshly cooked. A very comfortable hotel which I will definitely be revisiting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

what can I say, fabulous hotel in Arran, decent check in and out times and just across the road from Brodick Pier, gorgeous room (No.102) with stunning sea views to the front and to the right with window seating, superb bathroom with warm white fluffy towels, dinner was delicious (tho little bit disappointed with the 'frozen' chips) but all with attentive and friendly service (dinner for two with bottle of wine around £45)...and breakfast wonderful with a choice of smoked salmon, cheeses, fresh fruit etc. and that was before a cooked breakfast! we were also able to leave our luggage in the reception area to have a last walk about Arran before we headed for the ferry feeling so relaxed...cant wait to go back another time..

Room Tip: Room 102 with stunning sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My friend and I went for a 2 night stay,I live in Australia.the room was very comfortable,renovated only 2 years ago,we had dinner bed and breakfast,and the food was outstanding.I thought the whole package was great value for money.I left my iPad charger there and the staff could not have been more helpfull.It arrived on the mainland next day ,free of charge!!!
I will be back next time with my husband.Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great stay, once again.Cannot recommend this place highly enough.
I have been to many hotels and I can honestly say this is by far the best I have stayed at ! Service and food is out of this world ! I had slight reservations about putting on a review because it
means you'll all know about it and then it will get really busy ! But couldn't keep it a secret anymore.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#4 of 16 in Brodick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Property: The Douglas Hotel
Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing