We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth the Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Enjoyed a couple of days at the Douglas, the location is excellent with great views across the Bay. Staff were very pleasant and always approached with a smile, the standard of the rooms was excellent and the selection and quality of the food was very pleasing. Both the lounge/bar and bistro were very pleasant places to spend an evening. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    155
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
114
520
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here one night to celebrate a special occasion and only disappointment was we hadn't booked for 2 nights. Just a five minute walk from the ferry, the location is perfect. The room was lovely, comfortable, clean and the window opened out into a little garden with a patio and picnic furniture - and as it was a lovely sunny morning, I could sit out there with my tea. Great bathroom/shower, fluffy white towels and lashings of hot water. No seat or shelf in the bathroom though to put things on ...which was a wee bit challenging.

The highlight though was the restaurant and bar - the staff were 5 star for sure, the food to die for...simply the best steak I have eaten in years - cooked to my exact specification. perfect. Hubby had fish and chips - the chips quaintly served in a little basket lined with parchment printed with a front page of the local paper. We love Arran. Now there's a hotel to love too. Thanks to whoever is behind this. We'll be back

Room Tip: If you like quiet and fresh air in the morning with your newspaper - the rooms in the annexe are per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliAK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful three nights at The Douglas Hotel and don't know where to begin as everything was exceptional. From the professional, friendly team of staff, to the impeccable decor and the mouthwatering food. We ate all of our meals at the hotel, usually planning them in advance so we didn't miss out on anything. We highly recommend the Bistro's mussels and steak as well as the Bar's club sandwich and burger! We knew right away that we would like to return with our family. We mentioned this fact to the manager and he told us that the hotel also has a house nearby that can be rented and that it was the same standard as the Douglas. After seeing pictures, we have booked our return visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadie191007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from The Douglas Hotel after having spent a couple of nights on Arran using a voucher from a website.From start to finish everything was first class, the decor and finishings have been tastefully selected to a very high standard and this same standard was shown in the staff and mangement who could not have been more helpful.The weather at the time was excellent and very sunny and was another bonus on our stay.A gold star and full marks go to the owner and staff for providing us with a great stay.Anybody thinking of going to this hotel will not be dissappointed.Our room was 204 at the side of the hotel which gave a nice view of the Ridge at Goatfell.Stunning!!

Room Tip: The suites are bigger but the other rooms are equally comfortable and adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorralex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

we recently returned from a short stay,at the douglas.what a delight!.beautiful hotel,lovely quality finish,to the entire decor,super attentive staff,warm friendly,made us feel we were important as guests.the standard of the staff in all departments was superb,especially in the bistro,very young waiting staff,but oh so professional,and courteos.the standard of the food was excellent,well presented,and cooked to perfection.the training standard of all the staff should be used by many of the large chains of hotels,(they might learn a thing or two).the whole hotel is a credit to the owner and management,we will definetly be back

Room Tip: corner rooms give a nice view across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Douglas and were highly impressed with the quality of the room and en suite, the reception staff, food and beverages and very reasonable price. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a no-fuss weekend away.

Special mention of the Bistro restaurant food, both our meals were absolutely amazing and the breakfast was delicious. Thank you for making our stay on Arran just that bit more memorable and special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine2790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay in this lovely hotel. Rooms comfortable and spacious,food very tasty, staff very friendly and helpful. We would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone. Our room was 105 and was comfortable but the view was to the side of the hotel. The chaise-longue was very welcome after a long day hiking in the magnificent scenery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#4 of 19 in Brodick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Property: The Douglas Hotel
Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing