We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my 3 kids ( all under 6 yrs!). The room was a great size for us all and the staff really made us feel as relaxed as you can be with 3 noisy kids in the bar and bistro. Only the wet weather disappointed us on this short break.
Only thought would be if they could make it more child friendly by adding toys/ books library ....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineCampbell, Manager at The Douglas Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear PDILSON,
Thank you very much for your review - the weather was certainly awful during your trip.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your break, despite the rain - your 3 well behaved children certainly seemed to :-) Arran is a great place for familiies, isn't it?

We will look into your suggestion of toys/books for children, and thank you again for your comments.

Yours Sincerely,
Elaine Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    158
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
117
530
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here recently with an 'itison' voucher deal. Very modern hotel, with lovely fresh decor throughout. The bedrooms are a great size and are also very modern and clean. The beds are very, very comfy! We ate in the bar on one of the nights and the food was delicious. Excellent friendly service from all staff. Hotel has a great location as it is just opposite the ferry terminal!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped her with my wife for a bite to eat... I thought it was a bit posh for me but boy was wrong, the building is stunning along with the food and the staff are so helpful, and massive thumbs up, did not try the rooms but will definitely try booking here soon

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mrmoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Me & my partner stayed here from the 11th - 13th February having purchased an itison deal for his Christmas. We were definitely not disappointed! We have previously stayed here in the Auchrannie resort which was not a patch on the Douglas Hotel! Once u come off the ferry it is directly in front of you. We took the car which was probably not needed... We were greeted as soon as we entered and got on very well with the lady on the front desk she was lovely! We got upgraded to a suite (202) we were over the moon with the hotel and our room! Couldn't believe it, it was spectacular! The room was massive, modern, spotless, tastefully decorated and we had a massive outdoor terrace were we had a great view! Take a look at my pics.

Food - first night we ate in the bistro I has mussels & the chicken and haggis. Service from staff was spot on! Food was amazing definitely to a 5* standard.

Breakfast- well what can we say the exact same! The breakfast was served promptly, same staff boy and girl from night before who were so helpful to us and chatted away! The traditional breakfast was the best!

On our last night we ate in the bar which was to the exact same standard! Impeccable my partner had a cheeseburger and I had the roast beef baguette it was lovely and the bar man was lovely too! Making me nice strawberry daqs! Please don't listen to the people on this saying staff aren't trained properly ect! Never heard such nonsience in my life!

Rooms were cleaned to a high standard, everyday. Loads of nice big fluffy towels too.

You will not be dissapointed! Hotel manager was a lovely guy too talking away to us all staff made us feel at home and I will definitely recommend the Douglas to all friends & family. I will be back in the summer too! Thankyou very much for such a lovely mini break! Be back soon!

Tips - Upgrade to a suite well worth it! (202) is the best!

Don't take ur car cheaper to rent on the island.

Visit Janies tearoom (next to Arran aromatics) lovely soup and baked potatoes.

Hotel food is 5* definitely eat here!

No need to bring hairdryer

Free wifi

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

First time to Arran and not sure what to expect. Hotel was really excellent. Room was most impressive, cosy warm and with small balcony. We ate in the Bistro and the food and service were sper. Staff very helpful and we will certainly be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night break in this fantastic hotel, which was a greatly appreciated Christmas gift from our daughter and partner. Room 203 has brilliant views over the bay. The food in both the bar and restaurant was lovely and all the staff were really friendly and helpful, nothing was a problem. Very close to ferry so no need to take a car if you don't want to. Cannot recommend this hotel enough and hope to return again in better weather, hopefully.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Sheer luxury is the only words to describe my now new favourite place ever. Didn't want to come home. Views are splendid, hotel is beautiful, staff were brilliant. Will try and get over at every opportunity. Makes the best Strawberry daiquiri's ever. A must place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated to a very high standard, but the suite is just gorgeous for a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaM207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#4 of 19 in Brodick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Property: The Douglas Hotel
Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing