We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer Luxury”
Review of The Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Sheer luxury is the only words to describe my now new favourite place ever. Didn't want to come home. Views are splendid, hotel is beautiful, staff were brilliant. Will try and get over at every opportunity. Makes the best Strawberry daiquiri's ever. A must place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated to a very high standard, but the suite is just gorgeous for a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaM207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 965 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Fabulous little hotel with really big rooms. The suite (room 103) is huge with massive bay window and spectacular views looking out to sea and to Goat Fell. Recently refurbished to a really high standard. Service friendly and attentive and food in bistro to a high standard. Would not hesitate to come back here and would highly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HN2Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was first class from the service that greeted us to the rooms and breakfast each morning. We had an amazingly large room (for Europe) and upgraded bath. The hotel is literally across from te ferry so if you don't have a car it's perfect. It's a bit of a walk from here to some of the walking trails but nothing crazy. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abmeye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned from this first class hotel, cannot praise it highly enough. Staff were absolutely brilliant and obviously highly trained in each of their tasks, be it waiting staff in dining room, bar or reception. Food was superb - no other word for it. Decor was of a very high standard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a surprise. Amazing sensational views, great location This was out first time we went to Douglas Hotel and cant wait to return. Everything is fantastic. Staff are friendly and helpful. Decor stylish/contemporary and of Gleneagles standard. Food at the bar and restaurant was of 5 star quality. Rooms were huge, as were the bathrooms. This is one reason to visit Arran, just to stay and experience the hotel. Not for kids. All staff, especially bar staff and restaurant staff are superb. Couldn't find fault and hospitality of all staff was second to none. Well done

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welltravelled011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

First time at the Douglas Hotel and mightly impressed. The hotel has been done up to a very high standard and both couples had a very well furbished bedroom and a lovely bathroom. Food was lovely and the choice good despite the fact we were on a limited menu because we were on a 2 day deal. Would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjh7mcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just stayed with my wife 2 nights D,B&B on a midweek special at £79.50 each. Couldn't have been better. Quality runs through everything the hotel does, large rooms size, modern stylish minimalist design, high quality bistro food, attentive service where staff all keen to help, etc. Nice splashes of tartan add to what is a really excellent modern refurbishment. And at that unbeatable price you even get a free glass of wine with your evening meal choosing two courses from a set menu offering a choice of 4 or a deduction from the a la cart.
Only negative was bathroom floor was cold.
OK its January, its wet and its midweek. But we just wanted a couple of days chill, with a bit of luxury thrown in. Last yr we went to Cameron house and this place compares on quality, smaller so less choice but beats it hands down on value.
Well designed bar area, with great view over the bay. Nicer than photos suggest. Literally 3 minutes walk from the ferry terminal making it possible to leave the car on the mainland and use the bus. Right up until our departure we planned to do this, but the thought of standing waiting for the 2 hour bus service in the driving rain changed our minds at the last minute and it was a good decision, Giving us the freedom to pick and choose where we went with ease and how long to stay.
First time on the Isle of Arran and mostly shut. But we drove right around the island with its wild rugged scenery, explored the usual sights (distillery, Arran Aromatics - twice,pub snack). With the ferry trip it made it just right for a two night break.
May just try a summer one to compare.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alatbish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,756 reviews
3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
775 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
454 reviews
4.7 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#6 of 16 in Brodick
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range: $139 - $1,331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing