We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”
Review of The Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I was really impressed with our stay in room 103...the best view on Arran, was from our windows.The staff at this hotel are smart in appearance and extremely helpful.Our stay here was our first time on a 'proper' holiday without kids or mates...and it was made fantastic by our stay at this lovely hotel....I am Head Housekeeper at a very famous Stately home and can say that the treatment we received was not far short of that that I would expect from my team.I could fined fault but then that is my job,and it really would only be nit-picking....this is a super hotel with a very good team,in its early days.....I would most definitely return and also recommend The Douglas Hotel to anyone visiting Arran

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn24York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 970 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

I agree with all the other reviews and this is indeed a special hotel. The interior decoration is fantastic and done to a very high standard. Large bedrooms and huge bathroom with lots of towels and bathrobes and slippers. Great hairdryer and lovely homemade shortbread in your room - yum! The furnishings were very tasteful and the heating in the room was easy to control. Only negative was I felt that the lighting was rather dim. Food was lovely (even if the dessert portions were tiny) and the wait staff very helpful (especially Craig). All in all a lovely hotel and I would certainly stay there on my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We are just back from an overnight to celebrate my parents diamond wedding anniversary. The Hotel very kindly upgraded them to a beautiful room with a sea view and left a bottle of sparkling wine and a card in the room for their arrival. The hotel is lovely. Classy Scottish without the tartan. Very tastefully decorated with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever had in a hotel. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the staff in all areas were friendly and efficient. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VFMEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at the Douglas for an overnight .We had arrived on an early ferry and were able to book in straight away which was appreciated .

We had booked an executive room and were on the top floor of the hotel. We had a very pleasant view of the bay .

The bathroom was extremely spacious with plenty of good quality linen and toiletries. The bedroom was cosy and comforting and we liked the mix of modern and traditional decor.

A very comfy bed was dressed with good linens , cosy duvet and lots of pillows . During our stay we enjoyed complete peace and quiet while in our room and were able to thoroughly relax.

Arran was enjoying a lovely , sunny but cold weekend when we stayed however our room was warm and had all we wanted for a good stay ,

The hotel dining room is a lovely room as is the bar area .We had dinner at the hotel and while the service was good we could only say the food was ok . Breakfast was better with the continental selection (breads , pastries , cheeses , ham , salmon , fresh fruits ,etc ) being especially good . Regarding the cooked breakfast , I can only concur with a previous reviewer , hash browns have no place on a traditional scottish breakfast , bring back the tattie scone!!

We were delighted by the Douglas . It has an easy style , attention to guests comfort and delivers a relaxing retreat on beautiful Arran.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miramol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

bacon far too salty, time for breakfast given to us was wrong, cocktails need improved,overcharged, evententually got fixed. view perfect, bedroom lovelly, bathroom perfect, welcome at front desk and waiting/bar staff very nice manager is up himself

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasHotel, Operations Manager at The Douglas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Hello Annam75

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at the Douglas Hotel.

I have emailed you directly in the hope of getting some more details about your comments since they are so unusual and not what people experience at our hotel which has a fine reputation for friendly and efficient service as well as good food, drink and all in luxurious surroundings.

I am pleased that you used words like lovely, nice and even perfect but would be very interested to know more about your interactions with any members of our staff that (you say) offered you anything less than our usual exceptional and friendly service. Our friendly and helpful staff are carefully selected and are very well trained so they are adept at resolving any issues quickly and efficiently and they are always on hand and very keen to help.

I can’t relate to some of your comments especially the one about our cocktails which are highly regarded and very popular but as ever, in an effort to maintain our exceptional service standards I am always keen to hear opinions so that we can continually improve our service to our loyal guests.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Regards,
Colin Smeeton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The transformation of this historic property on Arran is very impressive, tho little of the old is apparent inside. What you have instead is a great little euro-boutique hotel - kind of a nice surprise in the western isles of Scotland. If you are going for the standard room, note that the one we had in the Annex was comfortable and of course super modern, but lacked ventilation apart from the door to its little terrace. So in the summer, that might be a problem at night - but on the other hand, could be quite nice in the day to step outside. We were there in March, so this did not apply. Heating was easily adjustable - water through the radiator a bit noisy though. Everything else was fabulous, Good toiletries, loads of fluffy towels, bathrobes, etc., and most especially the staff, who could not have been more pleasant, attentive, and efficient.
Bistro meal in the evening was very tasty, and quite reasonable, including some OK wines by the glass (which is useful if you've already started your evening with a bottle of prosecco between two and have an eye on a dram or two of the local malt later). Really great breakfast, again with attentive service. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view if it matters to you- Or the annex is more modern if that's what's you pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Not_a_Jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Have been visiting Arran for 40 years and decided to try the Douglas for a meal. Beautiful hotel, first class meal and service. Good to see the old Arran pictures in the dining rom. Nice to see thie Douglas looking so good.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,768 reviews
3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
782 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
21.7 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
729 reviews
3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range: $146 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing