We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel is truly beautiful and an asset to Arran”
Review of The Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had a look about and enjoyed a lovely Meal only but would recommend it to any holidaymakers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 975 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

Just back from a stay at The Douglas, was absolute heaven. Accomodation perfect, views amazing, staff friendly and efficient, cocktails delicious and the meal a delight. This definitely is a treat not to be missed. Will definitely be back. x

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaM207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed August Bank holiday weekend and will return, without doubt. The welcoming friendless of all the staff was fantastic as were all the Arran people we met. We had room 102, 101 is slightly larger, on the ground floor with access to a patio area with a table and chairs. The only minor moan was that the wifi, free, is a bit weak there but within 4 metres the signal was great. The whole hotel is a free wifi zone and there were no problems anywhere else. We arrived early but were given our room right away. The terrace, just outside the lounge bar, was very pleasant with the sun being there until it sets. The breakfasts were very good and only the toast, cheese, smoked salmon etc. were on a self-service buffet. The evening meal was so good we ate there on our 1st & 3rd night. The plates used were hot, a particular want of mine. The Arran ice cream was served at the correct temperature which is another diploma from me. All in all, we had a great time in The Douglas and can thoroughly recommend it for that long weekend

Room Tip: take 101 before 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tartantrumpsFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Douglas Hotel was easilly situated to the harbour. The staff were friendly and accomodating. The room was the executive suite and it was amazing!! We dined in the hotel restaurant and it was a 5star meal! The bar attached to the restaurant had a local musicin playing and she drew a crowd of standing room only!!!A lovely walk around the community provided not only a great stretch, but a view of the locale that was amazing. Well worth it! We were able to goto the Castle Broderick the next day and be wow'ed at the historic value of the castle!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We needed a well derserved short break and decided on Arran.Found the Douglas Hotal and booked the suite with the balcony for all 4 of us (2 plus 2 kids). The room was beautifully decorated and although the bed was a great size, to be honest it wasn't very comfortable to sleep in, just a bit too hard but then some people like very frim beds. The room was perfectly set up for all your needs but the balcony was especially enjoyable as the view was great and if on an evening when the sun were to shine then you would be envied your room position from those below.With regards to food service, breakfast was perfect and thank you to the friendly staff in the morning. As for the bar/bistro, we did stay the same weekend of the Highland games but I don't think this contributed to the lack of accomodating the hotel guests when wishing to eat in the Bistro. We ate in the bar as the Bistro it was full but waited an hour for bread (after asking on 2 occasions if we could at least have the bread)and with 2 hungry kids waiting! well!! The bar provides a great amount of business for the hotel A guest lounge would be useful as the bar got really busy and maybe some smalll entertainment for the kids. On the whole though we have a great stay. Watch out on the concrete steps as they are slippery when wet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodvaleballoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

A fantastic hotel, great decor, staff and food. We really enjoyed our 5 day stay. The views from the hotel are fabulous and the outside deck allows you to enjoy the sunshine whilst watching the Ferry arrive and depart.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was first class - great breakfasts and great choices for dinner.
We would recommend the Douglas to anyone who appreciates a high quality contemporary style.

Room Tip: We had the first floor suite which definitely has the best views from a massive bay window giving p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilliG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Just returned home today after a 3 night stay at this beautiful hotel and I could not fault it in any way. The room was lovely and had the best view on the island, the super king sized bed was the best I have very slept in. Arran Aromatic toiletries, lovely fluffy bathrobes and slippers and the biggest hotel bathroom I have ever seen, what more could you ever need you will not want to go home. The staff are excellant so friendly and helpful, if you want anything just ask. The meals in the bar were very enjoyable and breakfast was brilliant. The shortbread in the room is delicious. A lot of thought has gone into the design of this hotel and it is just beautiful. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Any room at the front will have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taramilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,792 reviews
3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
782 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,153 reviews
13.2 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,608 reviews
21.7 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range: $138 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing