We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service”
Review of Arran on a Plate - CLOSED

Arran on a Plate
Price range: $19 - $47
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern restaurant serving the very best of Arran's top quality produce, including island cheeses, lamb, fresh fruit & vegetables, ice cream, ales and whisky.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“friendly service”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

waitress was very friendly and atmosphere was just right. food was spot on and great value.We would certainly be visiting again if we return to Arran!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    68
    34
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Local food and drink”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a great place to go to taste the local produce of Arran. The food was lovely and they have a wide range of the beer and whisky distilled on Arran. I would recommend the Arran Gold

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice choices in the menu. Excellent lamb tagine. Care given to our gluten-free requirements which is always a good sign. Good friendly service. Fine view of the hills. To be recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could not fault this restaurant”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

First time in this restaurant and was the best meal I have had in a long time. Four of us were dining and we all felt the same. To top it all, nice views, toilets clean and staff pleasant and helpful - a great night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules_17R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Need to be consistent”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I booked this restaurant for a birthday lunch for my Mother who is 91, it was part of a day trip to Arran. I had booked on line and received a nice reply asking me if there was anything special that they could put on the menu for my Mother. On the day the restaurant opened at 12 noon which was the time we had booked for, our party of four were the only customers that lunchtime, this can be off putting but the atmosphere was good and the terrific views of Goatfell and the seafront made it seem special. I ordered 4 Kir Royale's but the champagne had not been chilled properly but they were otherwise nice. My Mother opted for the smoked salmon soufflé to start and I've never seen a bigger portion! It looked nice and light and fluffy and had plenty of salmon in it. The other starters were Haggis and Apple salad which were slightly disappointing the baked apple was nice but the haggis seemed to lack something. The main courses were a small Arran Chicken, Sirloin Steak with peppercorn sauce, Fish and Chips and Salmon with leeks and a cream sauce. I had the steak which I'd asked for medium rare however it really was medium, the vegetables were really fresh and the peppercorn sauce delicious. The hit seemed to be the Salmon with leeks and my friend raved about it all day. All in all it was very enjoyable and I can imagine it will be very busy in the season. Small things stopped it from being excellent but it was very good value for money and we would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pernickity_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arran on a Plate also viewed

Brodick, Isle of Arran
Brodick, Isle of Arran
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing