We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter lunch special”
Review of Arran on a Plate - CLOSED

Arran on a Plate
Price range: $19 - $47
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern restaurant serving the very best of Arran's top quality produce, including island cheeses, lamb, fresh fruit & vegetables, ice cream, ales and whisky.
Isle of Arran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Winter lunch special”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stopped here with family a few days ago to enjoy the winter lunch offer. It was excellent value and we all very much enjoyed our meals. Expertly made, tasty and well presented. The staff were friendly and we were well looked after. Plants and trellises around the room made the place feel nice and cosy and we also enjoyed looking at the varied artwork around the walls.
Congratulations to the chef!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amel1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    68
    34
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I would recommend a visit to this restaurant. It doesnt look much from the outside but the food is fantastic, the chef even came out to introduce himself. The only downside was the Kir Royale was a bit flat, but it was really cheap so we didnt complain.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JayCee193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of arran scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“same menu (boring) apart from specials on board”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

went here with a few friends, menu is still the same apart from special board, service was slow, also bit like fawlty towers running around and gettin nowhere, we had to ask for steak knifes, remind them for drinks that we ordered, i am local and will not be back!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank arranlass232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice lunch menu”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a lovely meal lunchtime for 4 adults and 4 kids. Good value menu and very tasty. Nice selection. Didn't look like child friendly initially but was very good for kids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
“A can of dog food would make for a more enjoyable meal!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The last night of our weekend on Arran my Father decided to treat my Mum, my wife and I and my sister to dinner in this restaurant.
To say the food was dissapointing is an under statement as it wasn't even fit for pigs. The only words that accurately describe what was served on our plates are swear words.
I can honestly say that not a single item of food that was served to us was absolutely anywhere near restaurant quality.
To the person who said that people who give a bad review of the food are ignorant, you are a complete moron and probably see an Asda value microwave meal as an 'a la carte' dining experience.
As my Father isn't one for complaining he paid the bill which was well in excess of £100 and we all left feeling like it had been a bad ending to an otherwise enjoyable weekend on Arran.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arran on a Plate also viewed

Brodick, Isle of Arran
Brodick, Isle of Arran
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing