We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold rooms, damp, forgot to give us breakfast, no heating.”

Strathwhillan House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathwhillan House
Ranked #15 of 16 Brodick B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cold rooms, damp, forgot to give us breakfast, no heating.”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We started our mini break on a positive note. The B & B was the first one we came to from the ferry. The outside looked very pleasant and welcoming. Inside we were greeted and shown to our room.
The heating wasn't working and the room were very musty and damp.
The shower was so small I had to crouch down.
The following morning we had requested breakfast at 9am. An hour and a half later we were still waiting for the owners to appear. We ran the bell numerous times, knocked on doors and clattered cups in the hope of stirring the owners into life. Alas after 90 minutes and my partner contemplating making breakfast ourselves. We resigned ourselves to a hungry walk to the nearest cafe.
Needless to say there was no one around to pay either. I reluctantly left half if the money due which was half too much in my opinion. Thinking back we should have left without leaving any money.
Avoid and pay the extra for a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    10
    10
    11
See reviews for
6
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2011

My trip to Arran was all too brief but on the basis of the short time I was here, this is certainly a great place to stay. The location was top notch, breakfast plentiful and the B&B had lots of character.

A previous review stated that the site is in need of an update. I don't agree, the house has atmosphere and to try to turn it into another variant of trav*loge would be missing the point.

The only (rather minor) incident that happened during our stay was a problem with a bedside lamp. However, that was quickly remedied by the very attentive owner. Shame he didn't stay longer as the three of us enjoyed a natter about the sights.

Would recommend to Alex Salmond as a break away from those dusty chambers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolly_McLead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Thought we would give this place a go as was so close to the ferry. Thankfully it was so close we could get away from here . . . and fast. Room was damp and smelly. We couldn't heat up and had to ask for the heating to be turned on - the owners felt it was fine! The smell on our clothes lingered until washing. Lumpy bed and dust and spider webs at windows. It spoiled our visit to arran.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brodick hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The room we stayed in was quite cold and damp. The dampness stayed in our clothes and bags for days afterwards. We mentioned the cold room to the owners and they said the temperature was fine and they turned on the heat for one hour, but we were still cold. The bed was quite lumpy and I had to use extra bed pillows to make it sleepable. It was close to the ferry, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgypeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leedswalker
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

To be fair, the owners were very friendly, and the breakfast was nice but it does seem a shame that the general maintenance and upkeep just didn't seem to be getting done.

From the outside, the building looked lovely, and the views across the bay were good (although the best vantage point was in part of the grounds marked "Private"). Inside, though, it looked as if it had been redone at some point in the late eighties and not touched since and reminded me a bit of a youth hostel (and that wasn't yesterday, I can tell you!). Other reviewers have talked about the funny bathroom arrangements and ours was like this too, as "our" bathroom was not ensuite, but rather located down a corridor, although apparently not used by anyone else. In some ways though, if you have to leave the room to go to the loo, you might as well have a communal one.

Location was good for going into town, and easy to find from the Brodick ferry terminal. Convenient, but definitely not one if you are looking for luxury...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leedswalker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Strathwhillan House was an enormous disappointment. After looking at other reviews before we went we thought we would risk 2/3 reviews being right and 1/3 being wrong, but that proved not to be the case.

The room was:

Dirty, eg: long term dust on window cill and skirting, splatters of somesort on skirting, stains on bedsheets, terribly marked carpets, stains and spatters on wallpaper.
Tired, eg: wallpaper peeling off walls, passed-it furniture as in our 'king size' bed was actually two sagged beyond help single beds pushed together.
Smelly, eg: cooking fat (one of my bugbears as I really don't want to go around smelling of a bag of chips).
Uncared for, eg: the lounge was untidy, sad looking with sagging furniture.

I wish I had taken some photos but was too reluctant to touch anything in the room.

I don't mind staying anywhere a bit tired, or a bit old fashioned, but dirty? No thanks! Another couple we met there were stuck for a week in the same place but luckily for us we were able to stay one of our two nights and found somewhere else which was impeccable (and was less expensive)!

In its favour, the breakfast was good, but all in all I would avoid it like the plague and advise all others to do so too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineAGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We managed to book two rooms very last minute, and were pleased to find the B&B less than a minutes drive off the ferry. The owner is very friendly, and was on-hand when needed. The common areas and rooms are looking tired, and a modernisation is probably due. Full-english was average. We decided to move on after one night, as the rooms did not appear to be value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph_and_Mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.0 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,154 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
746 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathwhillan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathwhillan House

Property: Strathwhillan House
Address: Brodick KA27 8BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strathwhillan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathwhillan House Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing