We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly & cosy place to stay”

Strathwhillan House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strathwhillan House
Ranked #16 of 19 Brodick B&B and Inns
Camberley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great friendly & cosy place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have just come back from a wonderful few days on Arran, Strathwhillan House is a beautiful building full of character, the room we stayed in was very spacious and comfortable. From the dining room there are fantastic views of the mountains which was enjoyed while we ate a good hearty fry up.

Room Tip: I recommend one of the front bedrooms as they have a fantastic view of Goat Fell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maisie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    10
    9
    10
See reviews for
6
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Characterfull building from the outside, easy to find and convenient for the ferry. Room we had was grim as was the decor. plumbing and bedding. Owner reluctant to give change when paying, did not turn up for breakfast on our last day and we had to get our own milk from the not too clean fridge in the kitchen, so no cooked brekkie and no tea or coffee and then we just left without seeing anyone. Would,nt have paid the night before if we would have known.
Definately would not recommend, owners clearly not hoteliers or good hosts. This is a hard review but its the truth.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brodick hotels

Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Had a lovely stay with 2 friends for a budget weekend away, friendly place and our family room very spacious. Great cooked breakfast to see us off!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shandyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We booked this prior to seeing the reviews, then after seeing the reviews our expectations were low - and unfortunately met. The mattresses are indeed old and lumpy, the shower awful with no bath as backup, the blankets are antiques and the net curtains have zig zag scissor marks down the length. That said the owners are very friendly and the location superb for the ferry. Think somewhere between a private room in a hostel and a B&B. Breakfast was ok to good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonocle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our first visit to arran and we stay in very nice room at strathwillan house. Owners so friendly and look after us very well. we want to come back again very soon and we bring more family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabi0S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

I had stayed here previously on a short break with my wife and enjoyed it so much that I was determined to go back with three friends for a golfing holiday. The place has super views over Brodick Bay, but is also very centrally placed to get to all the Island's seven courses very easily. The proprietors had finished refurbishing all the bedrooms since my last stay, and my friends and I were well looked after by the proprietors.
Would definitely recommend as a comfortable place to stay, and I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfnut88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Thank you very much to Phil and Charlotte for taking us in out of the rain last Saturday into a warm and comfortable house. Lovely stay - great hosts (the washing and drying of our clothes was much appreciated!), tasty breakfast, we didn't want to leave! Have now booked up for 5 nights in May and we look forward to seeing you again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa_duffy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 8 in Whiting Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#4 of 19 in Brodick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathwhillan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathwhillan House

Property: Strathwhillan House
Address: Brodick KA27 8BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Strathwhillan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathwhillan House Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing