We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay on Arran”
Review of The Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brodick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn B&B
Ranked #12 of 16 Brodick B&B and Inns
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay on Arran”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Kath and Phil have a B&B on a very peaceful spot close to Brodick. Clean, friendly, very, very good breakfast, spacious rooms. Only a short walk to Auchrannie Resort provides you with restaurant, bar and health centre with swimming pool. The Brodick shops are about 1,5 mile.

Room Tip: Very peaceful just outside Brodick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islay_whisky_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Barn. From indulging me trying to get a photo of a red squirrel to letting us gather the eggs from the chickens, Phil and Kath were brilliant. Phil even hosed our filthy car down for us! We only wish we could have stayed longer. We've looked for a peaceful location near Brodick on several previous visits and have finally found the spot. Really nice, good quality, comfortable room and good breakfasts too. Hope we can come back...!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pbw_fw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here May'13. Arrived to terrible weather on Arran and we were soaked by the time we arrived.

We were warmly welcomed and Kath took our wet items of clothing and dried them off for us, which was greatly appreciated.

Room was very clean, modern and homely. I travel a lot with work and the quality of room exceeded many hotels that I have visited.

Breakfast was excellent. Locally sourced produce.

The only point that I would highlight is location. We are a young couple so the walk wasn't an issue for us. Be aware that the road shown on Google maps is actually a gravel track.

Despite the location, we would return in an instant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moore1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0rna50, Owner at The Barn B&B, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to post this great review, we were happy to help out with your 'wet' problems !
We are magically placed in a beautiful glen, with no passing traffic - heaven for many who live in a busy town. However , we are literally 5 minutes drive from the pier at Brodick , if you choose not to bring your car a taxi can be prebooked and will have you here in a mo ! ( Just e mail us for details ).
We are also less than ten minutes walk from the fantastic award winning Auchrannie- an amazing new spa , three eateries and bars.
We ( and many guests ) feel that we really do have the best of both worlds - total peace , yet 5 star amenities an easy walk away.
We hope you'll return in the sunshine and enjoy Arran again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed the weekend here with my partner and it was a really nice, clean place with really helpful and friendly owners! It's a wee bit out of the way but if you've a car/bike/working pair of legs it's not a problem :) Otherwise it's comfortable, quiet and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemo_090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Cumbrae, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the barn for 2 night when we were at a wedding! It was so nice and lath and Phil were great hosts. We even got to hand feed a pheasant that pops onto the garden. The rooms were great and food fabby the only down side was the distance to the town. But a taxi was only £5 so not to bad.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for a night as part of our cycling route on the 5-ferry's challenge around the area and the only disappointing thing about our stay was that we couldn't stay longer! If you're after peace and quiet in Brodick this is the place to go. It was lovely waking up to the sound of birds after one of the best nights sleep I've ever had in the confiest bed I've ever slept in. Breakfast was also fantastic with a great selection, including eggs from their very own chickens. Kath and Phil, the owners, couldn't have been more helpful and provided us with storage for our bikes. We mentioned we were slightly concerned about the wind for cycling the next day and were promptly shown the weather forecast on the internet.
If we were ever on Arran again we would DEFINITELY stay here again and next time we would book for longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0rna50, Owner at The Barn B&B, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review.... maybe we shall see you again in the future - and you can stay a bit longer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I received a warm welcome, and stayed in a lovely room - tastefully furnished and well equipped. Breakfast was beautifully set out and prepared, and had a good selection of items. Highly recommended and good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brodick hotels
0.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Glenartney
The Glenartney
#2 of 16 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#4 of 16 in Brodick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Guest House
Belvedere Guest House
#6 of 16 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn B&B

Property: The Barn B&B
Address: Glencloy, Brodick KA27 8DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Barn B&B Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing