We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service”

The Brodick Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

On a weekend break back to Arran, we had called in at the Wine Port in the early evening. They had just stopped serving food -- too early in the season -- although we had a drink. They suggested their other establishment, The Brodick Bar and Brasserie, and if we arrived before 7pm there would be an early diner special deal. We did this and had a lovely meal. The deal was a reduced choice from the (too) extensive menu board, but still a good selection. Food was delicious and the staff were attentive without being overbearing. The owner was setting a good example but still had time for a chat with customers. The atmosphere was relaxed, not too busy when we arrived around 6.30 but quickly got busy; always a good sign.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandHoppers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    178
    60
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently high standards”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We eat here every year on our annual Easter trip to Arran and really recommend it. We have a young family and so being able to have dinner from 530pm onwards is great. On our last visit I had the most delicious cheese soufflé ever, the venison was so tender and my 8 year old always remembers the sticky toffee pudding. It's a very relaxed atmosphere and the service is always great with a lovely welcome from the owner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Brodick. With a very extensive menu it's hard to choose what to have! It was great to see what other diners had ordered. I had steak (which was huge and perfectly cooked) followed by crumble. Wasn't a long wait for each course and the owner (I believe) was around serving as well as having wee chat with guests. Great experience and would definitely recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank edinburghrose29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely Food a welcome”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a great place to eat and drink. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the food was great. The owners also own the Wineport in Arran and we met some of the staff there when we were there later in the week. We were remembered and staff took an interest in our opinion and what we were doing on Arran.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food buts things they can improve”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I recently enjoyed a meal here with my girlfriend and had an enjoyable evening with good food. The waiting staff were attentive yet discreet. Things to improve would be:
- better beer selection. Why not sell a selection of arran ales as they use other local ingredients in the food.
- menus needed on tables as is an annoyance having to leave the table to choose your food
Apart from this they offer some of the best food available on arran

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rollo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brodick Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Brodick, Isle of Arran
 
Brodick, Isle of Arran
 

Been to The Brodick Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing