We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Dining Experience”
Review of eighteen69

eighteen69
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $51
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: eighteen69 is Auchrannie’s Scottish tapas restaurant serving a wide range of small plates in a relaxed, informal environment. The restaurant is located in the glasshouse and lounges of the Country House Hotel. Customers are encouraged to choose and share a selection of small dishes from the extensive menu. As well as being open for dinner, guests can enjoy a wide range of speciality cocktails, wines, spirits and beers – making eighteen69 the perfect venue for either a full meal or just a drink and some nibbles.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had a delightful dining experience at the 'Eighteen69' Restaurant within the Auchrannie Resort. 'Eighteen69' is a Tapas Bar with a Scottish menu. Did I say Scottish menu and Tapas Bar in the same breath? Yes I did! The menu is distinctly Scottish but has a refreshingly tasty twist on old favourites like Salmon and even the humble Mince - though not so humble after the 'Eighteen69' treatment! But diner beware - the portion size is quite large in comparison to traditional tapas. We had ordered 3 dishes each and for our party of 4 we had a bit too much food. The waitress was very helpful in explaining items on the menu and the service was quick. The food is cooked to order and the delivery of dishes to the table is staggered - but that was not a problem. We dined on a Thursday night in a quite full Restaurant. There was a lovely relaxed informal atmosphere and helpful friendly staff. The Décor is pleasing on the eye. I will definitely return when next on Arran.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mairi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    83
    38
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best on island”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I cant rate this place highly enough - I can sometimes be sceptical about restaurants in hotels but this blows that argument to bits- Very very well considered Scottish tapas from a chef and team who obviously have a palate and an eye for seasonality and local produce . Very well priced with exceptionally generous portion sizes too. My 6 year old son also tried his first whitebait there ( which he loved! ) Top end city centre food was greatly enjoyed by all . Highly reccomended

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WeeKaisDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RS_General_Manager, Manager at eighteen69, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Many thanks for your great review; I'll pass on your comments to the team, and we look forward to seeing you again next time you're visiting Arran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas IOM
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Fantastic tapas bar with super food not too much or too little depends what you order.”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at Auchrannie for 3 nights, prior to spending a fortnight in the Highlands self catering as we wanted to fish and walk.Eighteen 69 is a fantastic Scottish Tapas restuarant and is situated in the older Country House hotel acroos the way from the more modern Hotel and Spa.

The food was wonderful and it is an idea to book in advance so you get the time you wish to dine .Service was super quick and a good idea is to print of the menu from the internet so you can decide in advance what you wish to have .It was a lovely informal atmosphere and very reasonably priced .

My husband and myself tried the Rustic Homemade bread board with Arran Cheese/Mustard, the Haggis Boubles,whole King Prawns and baked flat cap mushrooms .Everything was delicious.Probally best to order less if you have had lunch as you can always order more when the waitress arrives.

We will certainly try eighteen again next year, probally twice as we are going to Auchrannie to stay pre and post our visit to the Highlands before returning back home to the Isle of Man

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monketteDouglasIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt County
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The food here was excellent when me and my buddies came across from the US, for golf. We loved the Scottish twist, and the decor with the hunting equipment was awesome!

The service was a lil' shabby at points but we put it down to the busy restaraunt.

We would surely return!

Helpful?
Thank Terranceray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Make sure you book to avoid disappointment! This restaurant is closed Tuesdays and Wednesdays.

You will be advises to have 3 or 4 dishes each. We had 4 each and it was too much. The menu does say that you can pick dishes and then maybe order more later. Make sure you follow that advice or your table will be overflowing with food leaving little or no room for plates or glasses. Spacing out your ordering will also allow you time to digest the mammoth portions. It may be billed as tapas (and to an extent it is) but the portion sizes are not those you will find at your local tapas bar but maybe that's because it's Scottish tapas?

The only downside was the service. The restaurant wasn't full but at no point was I offered another drink and when I did ask for, in the end, a glass of water....well, I'm still waiting for it! The hotel should employ someone in the bar near reception so that the waitresses can focus on their tables rather than having to make drinks for those lucky to be able to order them.

Despite the minor service issues when we are back at Auchrannie we will be booking a table again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenin1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed eighteen69 also viewed

Brodick, Isle of Arran
 

Been to eighteen69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing