We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Empty for a reason” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of McLaren Hotel & Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McLaren Hotel & Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Empty for a reason”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I cannot remember the name of the actual bistro as I believe it has recently changed hands. The decor is plain and looks unfinished. Food prices are expensive for what looks like a cafe rather than a restaurant, so avoided the overpriced meals and stuck with soup and chips. Soup was nice but most likely out of a can. The beer I ordered (in a bottle) came warm, meal of 2 soups, 2 bottles of beer and a bowl of chips came to just over £24!! Disappointingly no local beer on tap, only in warm bottles, when there is a good brewery down the road. Bouncy castle out front blocks some of the lovely view of the bay. Would be fine for a pint after golf and before the ferry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianKimEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had a drink in the bar. Service was good but that's about it. Needs a refurb. Would not go back here

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank elamcg150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay we will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Comfortable and relaxing food was excellent staff and owners friendly perfect situation in the heart of Brodick

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Islandstar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Nice place for a pint.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Arran. Found this bar to be ideal for unwinding after a days worth of walking & getting soaked! Nice to be able to have a seat & enjoy a drink in front of an open fire.


Cheapest pint I have came across on Arran, and ideally located close to the ferry terminal. The bar persons - Ashley & Kevin very friendly, polite & happy to chat. Definite assets to the place. Food reasonably priced & good quality. I have been to Macs Bar on previous visits but this is the first time I have taken the time to review.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
288 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Most tasteless food ever.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were in a large party visiting Arran to take part in a charity cycle race and decided to meet & eat here on the first night,----- were we ever dissapointed? yes indeed we were, the menu looked so good with a large choice--- my all time favourite is Mac& Cheese-- but what a sad let down it was boiled un-salted pasta with a slight sprinkling of grated cheese on top-- garlic bread was edible obviously not made on the premises! we would not be telling others to go there,all in all very dissapointing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McLaren Hotel & Bistro also viewed

Brodick, Isle of Arran
 
Brodick, Isle of Arran
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing