We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shorehouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Shorehouse
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Affordable and Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

My friends and I stayed here in Brodick for 3 nights for a short break and a spot of hillwalking. The Shorehouse is cheap enough clean and pleasant and a but a short walk from the ferry terminal. Its on the main drag so you can't get lost. We booked a two bedroomed apartment which came with a very well equipped kitchen and a separate dining room. The living area is quite small and the TV would have been better mounted on the wall rather than on the small table (Creaks in the neck) WE enjoyed our stay. Pets are allowed and I'd recommend a visit if you are on a budget. There are plenty of places to eat and its worth getting out and about if you can and go further afield. Arran is a treat to be explored. Recommend a visit. There is a large CoOp nearby and a very good giftshop/cafe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missdcrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
8
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We decided on a short break on one of the Scottish Islands to relax and do a bit of hill walking and cycling when we had recovered from a very busy month. A friend had recently been to Arran and was raving about it. So we started to look around. I did not want to take the car and choose Brodick as the best spot for most things. I came across The Shorehouse through their Bike Hire site. The website looked ok and the price looked good. In fact the place was much better than that. We had a one bedroom apartment that gave us a separate sitting room/kitchen with everything we needed including Free View and WI-FI. Neither bedroom nor sitting rooms were large but they were comfortable. The Shorehouse is in the center of Brodick with great views and a short walk to everywere. The owners are very friendly and helpful and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Having read the reviews on here, my girlfriend and I decided to stay for 4 days at this place. Ever so easy to find, around 200metres from the ferry terminal, and great value for what we got. A lovely entrance hall on arrival and when we saw our room, does exactly what it says on the tin. We took a 1 bed apartment (no.4 I think), it was clean, spacious enough for 2 people and a comfy bed! I guess the only downsides were the shower compartment on the bath was a wee bit small for me, and the lack of ventilation when cooking in the lounge. But overall experience was excellent, and bike hire on your doorstep is an extra plus.
Thanks guys (and sorry for the late review!)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willho1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

I was first attracted to the Shorehouse because of its affordable prices and great location in the middle of Brodick only a short walk from the boat.
I also liked the idea of going self catering as it meant we had more space and the freedom to cook our own meals if we didn't fancy going out to eat (although there are plenty of fantastic restraints in the area).
My boyfriend and I stayed in apartment 8 which has beautiful uninterrupted views over Goatfell.

Overall, no frills, but extremely clean cosy and friendly.

We both love Arran very much and will certainly be back staying at the Shorehouse.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkmoon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

My friend and me stayed two weeks (last of october and first of november) in flat 3. First floor, facing Brodick Bay. Due to a remarkable storm we arrived a day later (the ferry was cancelled, bear this possibility in mind when you make travel plans, especially on the way back when you have to catch a plane). The owners received us friendly and gave us also during the stay several tips. In the main hall there is a computer with free internet, and all guests staying a week or longer can use the washing and the drying machine. The flat was clean, and the kitchen was fully equipped with all you need for a holiday stay. The DVD player worked ;-)

The house is ideally located. Five minutes to walk from the ferry terminal, two or three houses away from the biggest supermarked of the island (and I think also the cheapest), open every day until 10 pm, sundays until 8 pm. From Brodick you can do lots of nice walking tours. You can also go by bus around the island and do some walks everywhere on Arran. The (extremely friendly and helpful) bus drivers collect you on every point of their tour, if necessary also via full brake in the middle of a curve, just keep your thumb out, and also for the dropping off the drivers don't stick to the official stops. The busses stop directly in front of the door of the Shorehouse (except the southern line, but this starts at the ferry terminal).

So, altogehter, we spend great holidays on Arran, and a big part of this was the accommodation in the Shorehouse :-)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlespecter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

My girlfriend had always wanted to see Arran, so we decided to go away for a few nights and explore the island. We found the Shorehouse online and after looking at the website we decided to book. The main draw was the reasonable prices, as were were on a limited budget and the fact it was self catering. We booked using their online booking system for 4 nights and it was hassle free.

The first thing we noticed was the location of the of The Shorehouse, its pretty much ideal, right the along the Brodick shore front, it took us about 10 mins to walk there from the boat. We were shown to our room and which was on the second floor. The room was clean and tidy. It was by no means luxurious but that is not what we expected (or could afford). The room was perfect for us, it had everything we needed. The bathroom was small but was clean and the shower worked, so no complaints. The kitchen area was equipped with the usual things and again we had no problems in preparing meals and the sitting area was also fine. There was basic Sky TV with a DVD player in the sitting area which was an added bonus, if only we had brought some DVDs to watch.

Arran is a lovely place, with so much to do and see and I would recommend that everyone go and see it and if you are up for it, give climbing Goatfell a go, the views are amazing. Brodick Castle is also a good attraction to visit.

The owners were helpful in giving us tips on things to see and do. We took full advantage of of the other facilities that are offered. We hired bikes for a day (and got a discount as we were staying at the Shorehouse), we got lost but discovered a lovely little pub, so it made it all worthwhile.

I also managed to drag my girlfriend onto the speed boat trip. Again we got a discount for staying at the Shorehouse. What a thrill the trip was, we took a trip to a place called Holy Island, on the trip we managed to see some Dolphins / Porpoise (not sure the difference) and also many different types of birds. I never knew there was such great wildlife and scenery in Scotland and I have lived here all my life.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Shorehouse on Arran, it catered for our needs and at a price that was very reasonable. We have no hesitation in recommending the Shorehouse to anyone looking for a self catering accommodation on Arran.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

We stayed at the Shorehouse for a week in mid-october. Our apartment was spacious, clean and well equiped.
The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and modern applicances.
The TV/DVD player in the room, and WIFI internet access in the appartment made sure we were always entertained.
The shorehouse is in a really great location, right on the shore front, near to the bus terminal, ferry terminal and food shops and restaurants. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tomdenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glenartney
The Glenartney
#2 of 19 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shorehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shorehouse

Property: The Shorehouse
Address: The Shore House Shore Road, Brodick KA27 8AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Shorehouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shore front in the centre of Brodick and looking across the bay to Goatfell and the Islands of Bute and The Cumbraes beyond. Many of the Island amenities are in walking distance of the front door including Auchrannie Spa which is open to the public and all the restaurants and bars in the Islands principle town. The Shorehouse offers fully equipped one and two bedroom apartments, most with sea views, with sitting/dining rooms, bedrooms and bath/shower room. The apartments have satellite TV, DVD and Free Wi-Fi. The Shorehouse is Walker and Cyclists accredited by VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Shorehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shorehouse Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing