We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveler rating
432
205
16
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
205
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mull of kintyre swimming pool sea view snooker room squash court shiskine golf self catering on the rocks post office bedroom window lovely hotel ferry crossing fantastic views comfortable rooms long weekend both nights first class
Filter
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 661 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Just returned from a two night stay at the Kinloch Hotel. Lovely location right on the coast. Service was very friendly & welcoming - nice touch was the place names on the table for you at breakfast time. Food excellent - great choice for breakfast. We ate in the bar both evenings and enjoyed our meals - the Chicken with black pudding and apple was especially nice! Room was clean and a good size although the bathroom was a bit small and dated. One problem with the rooms is the walls are a bit thin and you can here next doors television.

On the whole a very pleasant stay. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dlogan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Let's start with the negatives.

The pool has seen better days. When it rains (and it isn't unheard of!) the water comes through the flat roof and tops the pool up.

It can be noisy - in the room we had you could hear the TV from next door, so that meant I felt I had to keep the volume really low on ours so as not to disturb any one else.

If you don’t like kids, steer clear of the school holidays. The hotel is very family orientated so it can be a little unruly in the lounge - not always the best if you want a quiet meal for two!

The bar menu is pretty limited, with only a dozen or so main meals and a couple of specials to choose from.

Now the positives.

All of the staff (including the cleaners, waiters, reception staff etc etc.) are fabulous. They somehow all seem genuinely friendly. No false 'enjoy your meals' or 'have a nice day'. They seem genuinely happy and pleased to be working there. This seems to rub off on the place, giving it a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

The rooms are neat and larger than a lot I have stayed in in the past. The beds are really comfy also. The view from the bedroom window is something special - we even had a seal resting on the rocks probably not more than 200m away.

The village is a great little place. Up the road there is a golf and tennis club which also has a bowling green. The golf course is 12 hole and pretty short but has some brilliant holes and was in really good condition. The beach at the top end is really sandy and probably about 3/4 mile long.

The food is generally excellent. The breakfasts are cracking - but the plates are too small for the bigger eaters amongst us, leaving you with a decision to either stack it high or go back for seconds (and thirds, and fourths...). The bar food is also superior to most places. In addition, we had a pretty nice meal in the restaurant which is well worth trying.

All in all, the positives outweigh the negatives by some distance. A great hotel - I'm sure I'll be back for more.

Date of stay: July 2006
4  Thank Moley75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2005

Was in Arran on busineess and booked here late Friday night. I found the public areas of the hotel a bit tired looking but was pleasantly surprised by the rooms: large, very modern, clean with fantastic views over the water. Staff were very friendly. Lounge bar well stocked with the usually beers and malts.

Date of stay: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2003

We arrived on Arran late in the day, w/o a reservation. We stumbled upon The Kinloch hotel hoping to find at least one room for the three of us. The staff could not have been more helpful, friendly. We were shown a room as well as a self catering suite, at very good prices. We took the suite, which faced the water and was very roomy! Dinner in the bar was delicious (especially their special salad w/ pine nuts, currants....). The following day, we were allowed to use the laundry facilities before departing and were served complementary coffee in the lounge. I can't wait to go back!

7  Thank leswyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2003

The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food, especially meat and fish was excellent. But broccoli, carrots and turnip 5 days running got very tedious. The young girl on reception was outstanding in her professionalism both on booking and during our stay. (we stay at many hotels and she stood out) She deserves to get poached.The downside was the perpetual throb from the pool, air conditioning. It needs soundproofing with a vengence or turning off at night! It infiltrated everywhere and was so bad at night, throbbing through the pillows and coming through the shut double glazed windows. We got moved to the furthest corner of the hotel where it was muted.

7  Thank Scenic27527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews