We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best, friendliest Hotel I've visited, in any country!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackwaterfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2007

From the moment we arrived at the Best Western Kinloch Hotel on 7 May 2007 we couldn’t have asked for a nicer welcome.
Our suite was quite beautiful, very comfortable and with spectacular views. We love the large garden at Kinloch and would have liked to build an ‘Inukchuk’ but couldn’t find enough large, flat stones.
On this visit we mainly ate in the dining room where the quality of food and standard of service are impressive and only ate once in the bar lounge as we were on our way to what turned out to be a very interesting art show in Brodick. Again we enjoyed the food and service.
This is our 7th visit to the Best Western Kinloch Hotel, the fact that we keep coming back all the way from Canada says it all. We cannot think of a thing that would have improved our stay and every single member of staff was wonderful.
We don’t know how the Kinloch Hotel does it, but this is the best, friendliest and guest conscious hotel we have ever stayed in, in any country!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jentooban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 590 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2006

Just returned from a two night stay at the Kinloch Hotel. Lovely location right on the coast. Service was very friendly & welcoming - nice touch was the place names on the table for you at breakfast time. Food excellent - great choice for breakfast. We ate in the bar both evenings and enjoyed our meals - the Chicken with black pudding and apple was especially nice! Room was clean and a good size although the bathroom was a bit small and dated. One problem with the rooms is the walls are a bit thin and you can here next doors television.

On the whole a very pleasant stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dlogan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Let's start with the negatives.

The pool has seen better days. When it rains (and it isn't unheard of!) the water comes through the flat roof and tops the pool up.

It can be noisy - in the room we had you could hear the TV from next door, so that meant I felt I had to keep the volume really low on ours so as not to disturb any one else.

If you don’t like kids, steer clear of the school holidays. The hotel is very family orientated so it can be a little unruly in the lounge - not always the best if you want a quiet meal for two!

The bar menu is pretty limited, with only a dozen or so main meals and a couple of specials to choose from.

Now the positives.

All of the staff (including the cleaners, waiters, reception staff etc etc.) are fabulous. They somehow all seem genuinely friendly. No false 'enjoy your meals' or 'have a nice day'. They seem genuinely happy and pleased to be working there. This seems to rub off on the place, giving it a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

The rooms are neat and larger than a lot I have stayed in in the past. The beds are really comfy also. The view from the bedroom window is something special - we even had a seal resting on the rocks probably not more than 200m away.

The village is a great little place. Up the road there is a golf and tennis club which also has a bowling green. The golf course is 12 hole and pretty short but has some brilliant holes and was in really good condition. The beach at the top end is really sandy and probably about 3/4 mile long.

The food is generally excellent. The breakfasts are cracking - but the plates are too small for the bigger eaters amongst us, leaving you with a decision to either stack it high or go back for seconds (and thirds, and fourths...). The bar food is also superior to most places. In addition, we had a pretty nice meal in the restaurant which is well worth trying.


All in all, the positives outweigh the negatives by some distance. A great hotel - I'm sure I'll be back for more.

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank Moley75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2005

Was in Arran on busineess and booked here late Friday night. I found the public areas of the hotel a bit tired looking but was pleasantly surprised by the rooms: large, very modern, clean with fantastic views over the water. Staff were very friendly. Lounge bar well stocked with the usually beers and malts.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2003

We arrived on Arran late in the day, w/o a reservation. We stumbled upon The Kinloch hotel hoping to find at least one room for the three of us. The staff could not have been more helpful, friendly. We were shown a room as well as a self catering suite, at very good prices. We took the suite, which faced the water and was very roomy! Dinner in the bar was delicious (especially their special salad w/ pine nuts, currants....). The following day, we were allowed to use the laundry facilities before departing and were served complementary coffee in the lounge. I can't wait to go back!

7  Thank leswyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
17
Reviewed September 29, 2003

The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food, especially meat and fish was excellent. But broccoli, carrots and turnip 5 days running got very tedious. The young girl on reception was outstanding in her professionalism both on booking and during our stay. (we stay at many hotels and she stood out) She deserves to get poached.The downside was the perpetual throb from the pool, air conditioning. It needs soundproofing with a vengence or turning off at night! It infiltrated everywhere and was so bad at night, throbbing through the pillows and coming through the shut double glazed windows. We got moved to the furthest corner of the hotel where it was muted.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2003

The Isle of Arran is beautiful. A real get away from the mainland hustle & bustle but not so isolated that you feel stuck. The north of the island is mountainous, good for walkers & has a whisky distillery that you can visit & see round. The Southern part is more populated with the high school, hospital & general shopping opportunities. Blackwaterfoot is on the West side of the island, quieter than the East but really handy for getting around. If you feel adventurous you could cycle round the island (about 50 miles) or from one side to the other (about 10 miles). This island is great for golfers, there's a course in just about every village! The Kinloch Hotel at Blackwaterfoot is great. If you're going to be there longer than a few days, try the self contained suites on the top floor of the hotel. You get a kitchen, sitting room, 2 bathrooms and can sleep up to 6 people. You still get to use all the hotel facilities such as the pool, restaurant and bar, but you get a bit more freedom if you just want to laze around & make a sandwich! The hotel is family run and the staff are all so helpful & friendly. The view from the rooms and all public areas is one of my all time favourites - over the sea to the Mull of Kintyre. On a clear day you might get a shimmery glimpse of Ireland. Best times for this view are at sunset (sky all pink & lilac over the hills) or when the sun is shining really brightly (sparkly sea!). Don't miss the quad bikes up the road for a bit of mad fun or 'Arran Aromatics' where you can buy all their gorgeous bath products at factory prices - prepare to leave with several shopping bags! I try to visit Arran once a year. I just love it!

14  Thank Mags8_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackwaterfoot
8.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,748 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
772 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Brodick
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
452 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
253 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#6 of 16 in Brodick
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kinloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kinloch Hotel

Address: 6 Rankin Drive, Blackwaterfoot KA27 8ET, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Blackwaterfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackwaterfoot
Price Range: $53 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kinloch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Kinloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blackwaterfoot
Blackwaterfoot Best Western
Best Western Kinloch Hotel Blackwaterfoot, Isle Of Arran, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing