We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be back” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackwaterfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Grangemouth Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

After all the fantastic reviews this hotel had I was really looking forward to our stay. Boy was I disapointed. Our room was reasonable the bathroom very small with a big rust ring round the drain and chip marks on the bath. The plumbing 'rumbled' and the soundproofing between the rooms did not appear to exist as we could hear the neighbours coughing and talking. In fairness the bathroom was clean and had big comfy bathsheets and towels. The shower seemed to have a will of its own and both the water pressure and the warm was never guaranteed,

We also found the food to be disapointing, the only veggie dish the chef appeared to serve was mushrooms. We had this on the menu each night on our 3 night stay, including mushroom soup also on one night, Great if you like mushrooms. (unfortunately my husband and I do not). What was wrong with nut roast, or even a salad. We struggled with the food. The chef also seemed to have a thing about cream sauces (another no for my husband) what was wrong with an ordinary gravy? and on two nights the veg appeared to be heated ex frozen veg. - not nice, the coffee was like tar. Service was poor and all 3 nights we had to ask for a waiter to take our order, we had two eldery ladies sitting at our table who were in the dinning room first, people were on to their main course and neither of the 4 of us had even ordered. Staff training would appear to be the order of the day.

The bar serving meals seemed to be really busy, with both meals and drinks perhaps there was staff shortages, to the detriment of the residents. One suggestion might be that half-board customers could upgrade to the a-la-carte at a supplement. I noted one duck on one night and it looked really nice.

Gave the evening entertainment a miss - not really what I had expected. A walk in the evening was also out of the question. The area surrounding the hotel stank of sewerage. I could not believe the terrible smell, and if somebody left a door open it penetrated into the hotel. This matter gives a really bad view of the whole island.

Enjoyed my visit to Arran, did the castle and the distillary, saw some lovely views, old standing stones, it had the works, but perhaps needs to go back to basics.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kat44007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    164
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
108
230
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed here this August. After reading the reviews I booked a self catering suite, as we have two children. The suite was huge, 2 beds, 2 bathrooms, really good kitchen with dishwasher (hotel supplied tablets, very thoughtful), very clean. The views were stunning, even on a rainy day you could sit and watch the sea. Facilities, squash court, gym, snooker room, pool were far more than you would expect.

The food is excellent, not three star at all. We ate in the bar every night which was great, very relaxed, great staff, and huge picture windows.We stayed in a 4 star Hilton on the way home, twice the price, and the food couldn't touch the Kinloch's. They were very happy to do half portions of stuff for the kids, like halving a fillet steak, and roast dinners. There is a bakery run by the hotel, which does great bread and pizzas and stuff, but why it doesn't open 'til 0930 is a bit odd. You can get everything else from the local stores/post office, which has stuff cheaper than my local Tesco!

Everyone is friendly, and the pace of life just seems calmer.

the only thing I would mention, which doesn't detract from the experience, is the fabric of the building looks a bit tired, one of our windows wouldn't shut, plaster not painted etc. but as we don't have to fix them it didn't bother me!

We loved Arran, we had two days out of four when the sun shone and you wouldn't want to be anywhere else, the beach (right by the hotel) was great, but we did take wetsuits. We played golf with the kids, all the 9 hole courses are very relaxed, jeans etc all accepted, you just have to have a bag each. Loads of tea rooms with good value food.

Definitely thinking about booking for half term next year, we want to try the Activity Centre in Brodick.

  • Liked — Huge rooms
  • Disliked — Bit tatty outside
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

Ok so this hotel isnt the most glamerous in the world but if you have children you will be hard pushed to beat it. It is possibly the most child friendly place I have ever stayed. The staff are all extremely friendly - and not in a forced, false way.

There is so much to see and do on Arran that the bedrooms are not somewhere you spend much time. They were however very clean and comfortable (lovely HUGE bath towels).

The pool could maybe do with a bit of a facelift, but it certainly didnt stop my son having a cracking time in it.

The food was really good, once again - a good selection for children.

  • Liked — Relaxed friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing!! Seriously
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Family_JDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

This 3* hotel gives 5* service. The food is of exceptionally good quality and as a resident you have a choice of eating from the Bar Menu or from the formal menu in the Dinning room. The menu is interesting and has great vegetarian options. The on site bakery compliments all the dishes by providing freshly produced homemade bread. The reception staff are fantastic and acted very professionally during a medical emergency. The 2 rooms I had booked although a little small and without views were spoitless and fresh. Great hotel for all.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyFunEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

From the moment we arrived at the Best Western Kinloch Hotel on 7 May 2007 we couldn’t have asked for a nicer welcome.
Our suite was quite beautiful, very comfortable and with spectacular views. We love the large garden at Kinloch and would have liked to build an ‘Inukchuk’ but couldn’t find enough large, flat stones.
On this visit we mainly ate in the dining room where the quality of food and standard of service are impressive and only ate once in the bar lounge as we were on our way to what turned out to be a very interesting art show in Brodick. Again we enjoyed the food and service.
This is our 7th visit to the Best Western Kinloch Hotel, the fact that we keep coming back all the way from Canada says it all. We cannot think of a thing that would have improved our stay and every single member of staff was wonderful.
We don’t know how the Kinloch Hotel does it, but this is the best, friendliest and guest conscious hotel we have ever stayed in, in any country!!

  • Liked — The friendliness of all the staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave it
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jentooban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2006

Just returned from a two night stay at the Kinloch Hotel. Lovely location right on the coast. Service was very friendly & welcoming - nice touch was the place names on the table for you at breakfast time. Food excellent - great choice for breakfast. We ate in the bar both evenings and enjoyed our meals - the Chicken with black pudding and apple was especially nice! Room was clean and a good size although the bathroom was a bit small and dated. One problem with the rooms is the walls are a bit thin and you can here next doors television.

On the whole a very pleasant stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dlogan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2006

Let's start with the negatives.

The pool has seen better days. When it rains (and it isn't unheard of!) the water comes through the flat roof and tops the pool up.

It can be noisy - in the room we had you could hear the TV from next door, so that meant I felt I had to keep the volume really low on ours so as not to disturb any one else.

If you don’t like kids, steer clear of the school holidays. The hotel is very family orientated so it can be a little unruly in the lounge - not always the best if you want a quiet meal for two!

The bar menu is pretty limited, with only a dozen or so main meals and a couple of specials to choose from.

Now the positives.

All of the staff (including the cleaners, waiters, reception staff etc etc.) are fabulous. They somehow all seem genuinely friendly. No false 'enjoy your meals' or 'have a nice day'. They seem genuinely happy and pleased to be working there. This seems to rub off on the place, giving it a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

The rooms are neat and larger than a lot I have stayed in in the past. The beds are really comfy also. The view from the bedroom window is something special - we even had a seal resting on the rocks probably not more than 200m away.

The village is a great little place. Up the road there is a golf and tennis club which also has a bowling green. The golf course is 12 hole and pretty short but has some brilliant holes and was in really good condition. The beach at the top end is really sandy and probably about 3/4 mile long.

The food is generally excellent. The breakfasts are cracking - but the plates are too small for the bigger eaters amongst us, leaving you with a decision to either stack it high or go back for seconds (and thirds, and fourths...). The bar food is also superior to most places. In addition, we had a pretty nice meal in the restaurant which is well worth trying.


All in all, the positives outweigh the negatives by some distance. A great hotel - I'm sure I'll be back for more.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Moley75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackwaterfoot
8.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
9.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 7 in Whiting Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
Address: Blackwaterfoot KA27 8ET, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Blackwaterfoot
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackwaterfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blackwaterfoot
Blackwaterfoot Best Western
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel Blackwaterfoot, Isle Of Arran, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing