We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackwaterfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We took advantage of the hotel's midweek break offer which includes bed, breakfast, a £20 per person evening meal allowance on the first night and the ferry crossing for both passengers and a car. All this came to about £260 and is even less over the winter months, an excellent deal. The hotel itself bears the Best Western name but is locally owned and managed. It is situated with nice views across the Firth of Clyde to the Mull of Kintyre in the village of Blackwaterfoot which is tiny. Don't go there is you want nightlife, in fact it is probably best if you avoid Arran altogether if nightlife is your thing. Otherwise it is as good a place as any to act as a base for discovering the island.

The staff are lovely, very chatty and helpful. The manager is very visible and very keen that you should be enjoying your stay. And enjoy it we did. The room was perfectly nice and spacious, there were plenty of electrical sockets to plug your mobile phone chargers into (other hotel chains take note) and wifi, which was surprisingly quick, was available for free in all rooms (other hotel chains take note again). Our bed had a mattress that was a bit on the lumpy side but otherwise we were perfectly comfortable and, being at the front of the hotel, got the view of Kintyre from our window.

The food was good. Breakfast was a buffet with a decent selection whilst the evening meal was excellent. It is nothing too fancy but nicely done and the portions are generous - beware of overdoing the starters! Prices are reasonable too for both food and drink despite this appearing to be the only venue in the vicinity that is open in the evening.

There is a pool which is open to the public, a tiny gym and a billiard room. We didn't sample the delights of these facilities but they looked fine.

When we return to Arran this hotel will definitely be the top of the priority list.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 594 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had gone to Arran for the day, as I had never visited the island. After a long walk in the sun to see the Standing stones at Machrie, we were keen to have lunch and a cool drink.

We stopped at the Kinloch hotel, where we both chose the steak baguette, which we both enjoyed. After lunch we continued our tour of the island and over the String Road. At Brodick, still enjoying great weather, we decided to stay over. I'd researched some hotels just n case, but we decided to return to the Kinloch hotel.

We got the last room, which we expected to be a bit dodgy, but it was lovely. (And the manager went to the trouble of checking it out first, as some work was in progress in the hotel). It also had a good view over the sea to Kintyre.

Dinner was excellent, as was breakfast. The staff are very friendly and professional.

Perhaps the only down side is the hotels popularity, and the need for the staff to set the breakfast room for functions later in the day. But I would rather have that than be in a hotel no-one else wanted to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jingscrivens717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Several years since we had been to Arran so we were pleased to get a great deal which included the ferry crossing. Had a lovely room looking over the water. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Manager always around speaking to customers. Food was very good but a little disappointed that the restaurant was only used for breakfast and we had to eat in the bar area in the evening which was rather noisy as it was so busy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nocera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Have been returning here for many years with a group of female friends. We have always found the hotel staff to be welcoming and friendly. Our rooms clean, comfortable and all that we required.
The food is excellent and superb value as our deal is dinner,bed & breakfast, golf and ferry. Can recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was an absolute delight. Warm welcome on check in, offering us to book for dinner and options of eating in the bar or dining room. We were given information on the leisure facilities too. Our room was overlooking the sea and the Mull of Kintyre. We had an island of seals to watch which were amazing to be so close to.
The restaurant had a good choice on a meal deal (2 courses or 3 course options for a set price). There was a good wine menu.
We also ate in the bar area which had a fantastic menu of its own plus you could have the dining room options at separate prices. Plus if you ate in the bar between 5-6pm you got 20% off your food bill.
Food was of good quality especially the thai mussels and there was a lot of local produce included.
Our bedroom was spacious and had everything you needed.
It is a great location for walks to Kings Cave, beach walks plus a short drive to Machrie moor to visit the atmospheric stone circles. If golf is your thing then there is a course a couple of minutes walk from here.
We had such a great stay at the kinloch that we are looking to get booked up again next year!!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the sea - well worth it and you wont be able to beat the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked in as part of a short break to the Isles of Arran. We stay in a pleasent room with a seporate single room for our daughter. An enjoyable stay, our room overlooks the bay and across to Kintyre, good food and friendly staff. I would happily visit again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Neil4993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is my ninth year staying at The Kinloch Hotel whilst taking part in a ladies golf competition at nearby Shiskine Golf Course.I have never been disappointed ! The excellent accommodation ,( I stayed in one of the suites) friendliness and professionalism of staff and high quality of the food keeps me returning year after year. The hotel is set on the shore overlooking Mull of Kintyre and the sunsets are amazing. Have just returned from another brilliant stay- can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 663Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackwaterfoot
8.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,756 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
775 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Brodick
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
454 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#6 of 16 in Brodick
202 reviews
12.4 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kinloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kinloch Hotel

Address: 6 Rankin Drive, Blackwaterfoot KA27 8ET, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Blackwaterfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackwaterfoot
Price Range: $52 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kinloch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Kinloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blackwaterfoot
Blackwaterfoot Best Western
Best Western Kinloch Hotel Blackwaterfoot, Isle Of Arran, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing