We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Trees!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackwaterfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Palm Trees!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Yes ther are many palm trees in Arran. It appears to have a micro climate, the weather was lovely and even the rain was soft. The hotel was very good and in a very nice place, our room was spacious and had a great view if the bay. Hard to drag yourself away from it, we saw herons,cormorants and every day the swifts put on a lovely show. It was hard to leave. You are never far from other towns in the island and they are all different. Everybody should go to Arran once, you will probably want to go back, I do.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr0dden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    172
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
122
249
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, Powys
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife & I spent 2 nights here as part of a coach party on 12th & 13th August. Reception (by Ruth) was efficient and friendly. Stayed in room 57 (a ground floor room with sea views) in a 2-storey linked annexe not far from the swimming pool. Some of our party had rooms on the upstairs floors – with access only by stairs (no lift in the annexe, apparently), so access for guests with mobility problems may be a significant consideration.

Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean (but some of the fittings were a little dated). TV reception was good. We found our double bed comfortable (though we realise that bed comfort is very subjective). Electronic card keys easy to use, even though ours stopped working on day 2 – easily resolved by the reception staff. The room was reasonably soundproofed except for the excessive noise when adjacent rooms ran any water (hot or cold) and when an adjacent room (not sure which one) turned on the light-cum-fan in their bathroom.

The Hotel is only separated from the sea shore by a narrow road, so access to the shore for strolls was easy, and the view across to the Mull of Kintyre to Campbeltown and the Kintyre peninsula was spectacular. Easy stroll to the nearby Shiskine golf course (and beyond to the spectacular Kings Cave near the shoreline if needs be).

A small general store and a butcher’s shop only about 50 yards from the hotel car park, though we didn’t make use of them. Service buses stop right outside the hotel, giving easy access to and from all locations on the island's ring road - regular services.

Reasonable dinner choice on first night, with ample portions – we had lentil soup or duck parfait for starters, both of use chose salmon fillet on a bed of spinach with a cream sauce and selection of vegetables for main, and fruit salad & ice cream or Baileys Irish Cream profiteroles for sweet. The coffee was very much to our taste. Service was efficient & friendly.

Full self-service buffet breakfast the next morning. Good choice on offer (with porridge, of course, though no haggis). The only problem was the long wait for toast from the DIY toaster (which seemed to have a mind of its own) – toast brought to the tables would have been much easier and more efficient when catering for the needs of a coach part of 40+ people with an early morning departure scheduled.

Dinner on our second night was a consensual choice of prawn cocktail for starters, followed by gigot of Arran Lamb with a choice of vegetables for main course, and lemon tart with strawberry jus for sweet. Ample portions again, and service efficient and friendly as before.

Musical quiz evening entertainment provided for guests if required - we chose to have a shoreline walk instead, but others in our party seem to have enjoyed the quiz.

Drinks in the bar after our walk – good choice of drinks (including a good choice of Arran whiskies, among others) – with friendly and efficient service. Bar prices not excessive.

Some of our coach party had ordered packed lunches from reception for our departure at 09.00hrs on the 14th August., and they seemed pleased with the choice and price.

Our schedule did not allow time to sample the swimming pool or other leisure facilities, but the pool was being well used by guests and non-residents.

Not sure about value for money as our stay (with meals) was all-inclusive with the coach tour.

We had been to the Kinloch Hotel before (had lunch there on a coach tour 3 years previously) so knew something of what to expect. We were quite happy with our stay and would be content to stay there again. Nice to stay at a hotel that didn’t treat guests from coach parties as second class (especially at mealtimes).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed in a single room, which was not huge but more than adequate for one, and had a full size en suite bathroom. It was clean and comfortable, though didn't have the view of some of the other rooms. The restaurant and bar were fine and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a secure bike store, although our bikes were safe enough outside.

Blackwaterfoot itself is a quiet village, but it was a good base for exploring the island heading north, south or accross to Brodick. Horse riding is also nearby and recommended, and special mention must go to Gus the taxi driver who chauffeured us (and our luggage) around.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JW_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break. The hotel is lovely and has character and charm. All of the staff are very helpful and pleasant to talk to. The rooms are clean and spotless. We booked dinner on 3 of the nights and there is a good choice of menu plus daily specials. We were not disappointed and would recommend that you book as it is busy. The hotel is in a nice quiet location but it is a good base to explore the rest of the island. There is a beautiful sandy beach about 1/4 mile away and you can book pony trecking nearby to gallop along the beach. We we very pleased with all aspects of the hotel and were sad to leave. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We arrived on Monday, stayed halfboard and departed on Friday. From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed the staff could not do enough for us. They were very helpful, friendly and with alacrity attended to all our needs, no matter how small. From breakfast to dinner they could not do enough for us. The food was fabulous - indeed so plentiful that the 3 course dinner was a challenge to complete (we have to admit we were defeated). The variety of food on the menu was super. This is a doggy friendly hotel and I have to confess (please don't tell the hotel) that mum secreted some of her dinner for Poppy (our darling miniature Yorkshire terrier) in her handbag. When we returned to our room Mum got her usual kisses and waggy tail, and Poppy was then straight into Mummy's handbag. The view from our room over the Kilbrannan Sound was superb. So if you are a doggy treasurer, love excellent food and accommodation with outstanding views, take Caledonian Macbraynes to the Kinloch Hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the Kilbrannan Sound and stay halfboard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 499Emily499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A very fine and cozy hotel directly at the shore of Blackwaterfoot. Lovely views over the sea to Kintyre; cozy room, friendly personal, nice swimming pool, very good bar food - the only negative issue is that we could not stay longer because of our ferry schedule. We will come back certainly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lanarkshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed nearby at a holiday cottage and visited the Kinloch regularly for swimming and food! The staff were all very pleasant and there was a great atmosphere, even when it was very busy. We had to book for evening bar meals as it was so busy. The kids loved having lunch after their swim and, although they struggled to eat the portions, loved the kids meals. The ice cream sundae for afters was just the tops! We also managed an evening meal adults only - this was very good, accompanied by a lovely bottle of wine. The variety on the menu with daily specials was excellent and we found the lunch portions to be a perfect size after an active morning, and excellent value. The views were excellent from the lounge, with the thought of stunning sunsets at a different time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackwaterfoot
8.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
908 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
382 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kinloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kinloch Hotel

Property: Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Address: 6 Rankin Drive, Blackwaterfoot KA27 8ET, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Blackwaterfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackwaterfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kinloch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kinloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blackwaterfoot
Blackwaterfoot Best Western
Best Western Kinloch Hotel Blackwaterfoot, Isle Of Arran, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing