We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackwaterfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed in a single room, which was not huge but more than adequate for one, and had a full size en suite bathroom. It was clean and comfortable, though didn't have the view of some of the other rooms. The restaurant and bar were fine and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a secure bike store, although our bikes were safe enough outside.

Blackwaterfoot itself is a quiet village, but it was a good base for exploring the island heading north, south or accross to Brodick. Horse riding is also nearby and recommended, and special mention must go to Gus the taxi driver who chauffeured us (and our luggage) around.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank JW_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Kinloch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 576 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break. The hotel is lovely and has character and charm. All of the staff are very helpful and pleasant to talk to. The rooms are clean and spotless. We booked dinner on 3 of the nights and there is a good choice of menu plus daily specials. We were not disappointed and would recommend that you book as it is busy. The hotel is in a nice quiet location but it is a good base to explore the rest of the island. There is a beautiful sandy beach about 1/4 mile away and you can book pony trecking nearby to gallop along the beach. We we very pleased with all aspects of the hotel and were sad to leave. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We arrived on Monday, stayed halfboard and departed on Friday. From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed the staff could not do enough for us. They were very helpful, friendly and with alacrity attended to all our needs, no matter how small. From breakfast to dinner they could not do enough for us. The food was fabulous - indeed so plentiful that the 3 course dinner was a challenge to complete (we have to admit we were defeated). The variety of food on the menu was super. This is a doggy friendly hotel and I have to confess (please don't tell the hotel) that mum secreted some of her dinner for Poppy (our darling miniature Yorkshire terrier) in her handbag. When we returned to our room Mum got her usual kisses and waggy tail, and Poppy was then straight into Mummy's handbag. The view from our room over the Kilbrannan Sound was superb. So if you are a doggy treasurer, love excellent food and accommodation with outstanding views, take Caledonian Macbraynes to the Kinloch Hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the Kilbrannan Sound and stay halfboard.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 499Emily499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A very fine and cozy hotel directly at the shore of Blackwaterfoot. Lovely views over the sea to Kintyre; cozy room, friendly personal, nice swimming pool, very good bar food - the only negative issue is that we could not stay longer because of our ferry schedule. We will come back certainly!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed nearby at a holiday cottage and visited the Kinloch regularly for swimming and food! The staff were all very pleasant and there was a great atmosphere, even when it was very busy. We had to book for evening bar meals as it was so busy. The kids loved having lunch after their swim and, although they struggled to eat the portions, loved the kids meals. The ice cream sundae for afters was just the tops! We also managed an evening meal adults only - this was very good, accompanied by a lovely bottle of wine. The variety on the menu with daily specials was excellent and we found the lunch portions to be a perfect size after an active morning, and excellent value. The views were excellent from the lounge, with the thought of stunning sunsets at a different time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were touring Arran and stopped in for coffee one morning the staff were very friendly and accommodating , encouraging us to use the lounge where the views over the sea to the Mull of Kintyre were excellent. It appeared a very well run hotel in a great position and a quiet and very comfortable base to tour from.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penwyllt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in Kinloch Hotel for 4 nights. This is a really great friendly hotel rooms were spotless. Staff were extremely efficient and welcoming. The food is excellent fresh and full of flavours with a great choice of menu. Blackwaterfoot is quiet and peaceful and a beautiful place for relaxing or if you’re a walker or a golfer there’s plenty to do the hotel has its own sports complex. We would certainly recommend Kinloch Hotel as the place to stay in that area

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackwaterfoot
8.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,196 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
764 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
180 reviews
8.3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
427 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kinloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kinloch Hotel

Address: 6 Rankin Drive, Blackwaterfoot KA27 8ET, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Blackwaterfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackwaterfoot
Price Range: $108 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kinloch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kinloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blackwaterfoot
Blackwaterfoot Best Western
Best Western Kinloch Hotel Blackwaterfoot, Isle Of Arran, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing