We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveler rating
427
200
16
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
200
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mull of kintyre swimming pool sea view snooker room shiskine golf squash court self catering on the rocks post office bedroom window fantastic views comfortable rooms lovely hotel first class long weekend excellent food single room
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 651 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked this hotel without checking it out and were pleases with what we got. Its an old style hotel with traditional values of good service and good food. The bedrooms are up to standard and ample. They have good WiFi and Internet room so while being "remote" you are not disconnected. As we were in a walking break, the hotel was ideal. The views or the Kintyre Peninsula and Goat Fell Range are stunning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinlochIsleOfArran, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kinloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A well loved Hotel with spectacular views and sunsets, courteous and considerate staff, and very tasty meals with large portions. Comfortable beds, and very clean. However for all the plusses and there any many particularly the staff, the hotel is beginning to show its age. The swimming pool once an icon is tired, few of the lockers seem to work and getting the key out is an achievement, but they do offer alternative leisure facilities such as squash or snooker. The plumbing too is unique the noise when my neigbour was emptying the bath was excessive. Arran too looks like the island left behind as North Ayrshire Council haven't spent much on the roads, and it reminds me of an Eastern European Country, although I did notice some short stretches of improvement north of Sannox and on the String.
I am sure it trades well on reputation, hospitality, and location, but an upgrade would benefit, and ensure it remained a popular hotel.
Arran has so much, but it needs investment.

Room Tip: One with a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baldintheheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinlochIsleOfArran, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kinloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for completing a review on the Kinloch Hotel. Any feedback, whether good or bad, is greatly appreciated as it enables us to see which areas we are doing well and which areas we need to improve on.
During the winter season, the hotel undertakes a rolling programme of renovations. The swimming pool is part of this programme and we hope to upgrade the facilities in the near future.
We do find your comments regarding the plumbing surprising as we have never had this brought to our attention before. If you would like to contact us to advise which room you stayed in, we will ask our maintenance department to look to see if there may be any underlying issues that require urgent attention.
We are sorry to read your comments regarding Arran as an Island. It is something that has been commented on various occasions and we will gladly pass on your comments to our local Member of Scottish Parliament.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked a double and a twin with a sea view and the room views were spectacular. The hotel is about 100metres from the sea and looks west so the sunsets are glorious. The Kinloch benefits from a lift so our 81 year old mother did not have to struggle up stairs. There is a super swimming pool. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the food was superb. Lots on the menu and to a very high standard. We stayed for 2 nights end Sept 2012 and wished we could stay longer but were heading up to Mull. If you get chance take advantage of the offers. We stayed on dinner B&B with CalMac ferry ticket included and it was excellent value. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, especially if anyone senior is with you as it's pleasant just to look out the window and watch the waves breaking on the shore.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinlochIsleOfArran, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kinloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This very welcoming hotel could get by simply on the view it commands of the Mull of Kintyre - magnificent. But it doesn't rest on its laurels. Excellent room, very efficient and pleasant staff and beautifully prepared meals completed the line-up. Oh - and at low tide the rocks just yards from the hotel were filled with seals enjoying, at least on the weekend we were there, the sunshine. Perfect. And Blackwaterfoot itself is just so relaxing - don't come looking for nightlife. I didn't take my swimming costume but the pool looked great.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FondGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinlochIsleOfArran, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kinloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is our 9th visit to the Kinbloch Hotel. As usual we stayed in the self catering suites on the top floor. The suites are well stocked and the standard of presentation and cleanliness is excellent. We had a meal in the bar which was good and I used the swimming poolm every morning. The staff were helpful and courteous as always and we had a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday. I think this is an excellent base to stay weather in the hotel or the suites for a holiday on a beautiful and hospitable island. We will be back !!!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinlochIsleOfArran, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kinloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews