We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Recently spent 1 night at the hotel, staff very friendly and were allocated a room over looking the forth. A taxi can take you to a nearby train station so you can access Edinburgh easy enough and also a great location for drives out. Would definately stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Towny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

We are ideally situated to commute into Edinburgh avoiding the traffic and if you take the train you can travel across Scotland's most iconic bridge.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 921 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here overnight and paid £88 for dinner, bed & breakfast. Unfortunately the experience was pretty much a let down on all fronts.

There are very few pictures available online and the site itself doesn't actually show you the decor of the room that you will be staying in. We were dissapointed to find that our rooms looked nothing like those that were shown on the site. The furniture was tired and old. The duvet was rumpled and full of bumps. The grout in the bathroom was disgusting and the TV was way too small and positioned too awkwardly for it to be watched from the bed or the seating provided.

After checking in we took a very nice trip in to Edinburgh. One of the only positives that can be said for the hotel is that it is very conveniently located for access to the train station and both bridges (which also added some stunning local views within walking distance from the hotel).

The restaurant was really dissapointing. The menu was limited and to be honest, it was almost as if it was trying to put itself in to a class that it isn't. Some of the dishes I actually couldn't translate it was that bad. I mean honestly, what's wrong with calling Steak pie, Steak pie?

We ended up settling for fish and chips with mushy peas (It was far more eloquent sounding on the menu but in essence, it was fish and chips). Everything was tasteless. Absolutely everything. I had to soak it with salt and ketchup in order to get any form of flavour and my fiance was the same.

We did complain, however we were informed that it was a new menu and all feedback was appreciated. After dinner we returned to our rooms and ate crisps and pot noodles, it was much better than the food we had been served downstairs.

Breakfast was an equal farce. It was meant to be a buffet, but we were informed there were insufficient guests to justify it so it was cook to order. I ordered sausage, potato scone, fried egg, beans and black pudding, I received exactly one of each - an extra sausage or two wouldnt have gone a miss for something that was meant to be a buffet but at least I got mine.

My fiance ordered sausages and beans, and then when she told the waitress that she didnt want bacon the waitress took this to mean that she wished to cancel her order entirely. The result was I was finished my breakfast and had to ask again if my other half could have theirs resulting in another long wait for breakfast to be made.

Overall not impressed - id rather pay the extra (which isnt that much) and stay in a travel lodge or holiday inn in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleandChris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop as a team.

I'm sorry to read that you were disappointed in the experience you had with us. Some of the décor in the hotel is a little tired however we are about to enter into a 2 million pound refurbishment which will include updating all public areas and bedrooms.

I am sorry that you found the menu and food uninspired we have recently launched our new menu which has been very well received. All feedback however is greatly appreciated and will be passed on to the kitchen team.

I have discussed the issued you highlighted during breakfast with our restaurant manager who will be reviewing the procedures to ensure that all guests receive a quick service.

I hope that your experiences have not deterred you too heavily and hope to welcome you back to the Queensberry Hotel soon

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

we booked this hotel through Itison and it was a bargin!! Hayley on reception is a wee gem! She organised an upgrade for us for a small fee and made sure everything was as it should be. Rooms are a wee bit tired but really clean and the beds are comfy. We ate in the hotel for both lunch and dinner and it was first class, food was amazing and beautifully presented and the staff were all fantastic, really helpful and chatty. We loved our stay and will defo be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and have passed on your kind comments to the reception team and the rest of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have been to this hotel a few times and each time we go we just love it. Everything from the atmosphere, the rooms, the view, the food. It's a big hotel with a small, family feel to it. The reception staff are lovely and so polite. They would go out their way to make sure you have the best stay you can. We just love this hotel. Luxury at a very affordable price.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lauren7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and have passed on your kind comments to the reception team and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Had a nice walk over the bridge from the South Queensferry side and needed a coffee. Walked up to the hotel - no signage to say anything about coffee availability, only menu for restaurant. Went in and delighted to find coffee and cake deal on offer for £2.50 (10am to 4pm) - scone and jam went down a treat. The scones were not the seemingly normal giants that other places offer but decent enough for the price. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel has added benefit of nice views out towards the new bridge under construction.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Gordilindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

After walking the bridge it is lovely to sit in the lounge and relax. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your scones and have passed on your kind comments to the chefs and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon - perhaps when the weather is a little warmer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stopped off at the Queensferry Hotel for a family lunch in their North Shore restaurant and will definitely be back.

The steak sandwich was excellent and our little one helped mum with the impressive fish and chips - highly recommended! Also loved the homemade ketchup, nice to have something a little different.

The service was great and it was a relaxing, comfortable environment to be in, helped by the views across the water.

Will hopefully be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MD0n0van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and have passed on your kind comments to the chefs and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Booked a deal here through Itison for myself and my young daughter for a wee girly day and night away. On approach, the gardens are a bit neglected and the external woodwork of the hotel is all peeling. The general decor is really tired and hugely in need of a makeover. The standard room is ok though a duster wouldn't go amiss-you can blow dust off the table lamp shades!!. The reception staff, However were lovely, very welcoming . Late afternoon we visited the bar for a soft drink, stood ages to get served and while waiting, a rather ill natured female bar person(?managerial) was just appauling. She was making coffee and a colleague said something to her. She had her back to the bar but stated "the coffee can only be made as quick ad the machine for f's sake!!". I was a bit gobsmacked as that is just not professional at all and I also had my ten yr old daughter with me. A male member of staff was beside her at this time but obviously this didn't cause him concern though he clearly was a manager of some description, I did complain at reception but never heard a thing thereafter by way of apology. If you have booked through Itison, then be advised that your 3 course meal is a streamlined menu and not as it tells you on the voucher, which only tells you that steak is £5 extra. It seems there is a specific corridor of rooms for those with Itison vouchers, very poorly lit unlike the other floors. Our room was serviceable but not clean with filthy skirting boards(coffee stains, thick dirt etc) the bathroom was ok except for other peoples hairs on the wall at the shower and the remnants of someone else's soap still in the shower soap tray!! Certainly wouldn't return and definitely not 3 star from the experience we had. Luckily it didn't spoil our day as we only really slept in the room. Breakfast waitress even stood looking at her watch as we were just after 930am even though the room information says up until 10am but apparently that's only at weekends so there was little if anything left so just had toast. Felt very uncomfortable

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanukkiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Firstly I would like to apologise for the poor experience you have had whilst staying with us recently. The points you raise are far below the standard expected of our staff and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please can you contact me either by phone on 01383 410 000 or by email at sales@queensferryfifehotel.co.uk

Kind Regards,

Louisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,034 reviews
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
507 reviews
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing

Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland (Formerly The Queensferry Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range: $81 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, our hotel and venue offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and our destination restaurant, The Shore Grill & Fish House. Our restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 12 miles from the hotel. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away.There is ample free parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
DoubleTree By Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing North Queensferry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing