We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queensferry Hotel
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful views”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a long weekend at this hotel as part of a coach party and had a wonderful time.The staff were very friendly and our room very large comfortable and clean.The view from our room was amazing.
The food was really good, all in all a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 212 overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the staff it is greatly appreciated. I have passed on your kind words to the team. I’m glad that you enjoyed the food and had a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    245
    132
    68
    58
See reviews for
133
350
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel and staff very nice, the only problem was that this was in March and we could get no heating in our room. Also the bath water was only tepid at best, shower alright but not the bath. I was also a bit suprised to find cobwebs (quite a lot) on the inside of the bedroom window - not what you would expect from this class of hotel. On the upside the food was fabulous and as mentioned all the staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christineKL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m sorry that you found your time here to be disappointing. We did have problems with our heating system however these issues have now been resolved. We have recently been bought over by the Cairn Hotel Group who will be investing heavily in staff development and training. They are also undertaking a 2 million pound refurbishment of the hotel including installing an external balcony, full redecoration of both function suits and public areas, full bedroom refurbishment and a planned extension to the bedroom stock. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the staff it is greatly appreciated. I have passed on your kind words to the team. I hope that these changes will reassure you in our ability and with time I hope that, with time, you will reconsider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here a few times now. All the staff are great and very helpful. They have some good deals on the rooms. The bar is very stylish with a good selection of beers, wine and shorts. Food menu has a wide choice. The breakfast buffet has a great choice and the hot menu is good too.
Will be coming back here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bumying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. We always really appreciate positive feedback. I have passed on your kind words to the kitchen team and the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great place as a base for an Edinburgh City break with easy fast public transport links. Some parts of the hotel are a wee bit tired but with the change of ownership, this appears to be being addressed. However, the friendliness of all the staff and the seriously good food helped us to overlook that minor issue.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGbrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. We always really appreciate positive feedback. I have passed on your kind words to the kitchen team and the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Having used this hotel for many years for meetings - meals out and overnight stays I am absolutely astonished at some of the comments on here - this hotel has one of the best views in Scotland - most of the rooms have been upgraded and are to a high standard - others that have not yet been refurbished are "quaint" and very in keeping with other hotels in Scotland - not boutique style but would you want that ?

I would totally disregard any negative comments on here and plan a visit to thsi hotel - the reception staff are lovely as are all other staff -

Over the years yes there have been a few changes of chefs but the food is good and if using it for a meeting then the chef is more than happy to work with you to offer a menu that suits your party

I am a firm beleiver in Queensferry Hotel - give it a visit

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Bridge or the water - you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilmabodyshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. We always really appreciate positive feedback. I have passed on your kind words to the reception team and the rest of the staff. We thank you for your continues loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is run down and shabby. The room was musty and cold. We asked about the lack of heat and were told it is on between 6 -7 am and 4-5pm. This was on Dec 27th and it was cold. We ended up using a space heater in the room which I would assume is a fire hazard if they have everyone using those rather than a heater.
The food is terrible. The customer service is nonexistent.
We travel a lot and are in Scotland several times a year. We will never stay here again and would recommend no one else waste thier money either.

Room Tip: Stay at the Dakota down the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newenglandgrl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m sorry that you found your time here to be disappointing. We did have problems with our heating system over the festive period however these issues have now been resolved. We have recently been bought over by the Cairn Hotel Group who will be investing heavily in staff development and training. They are also undertaking a 2 million pound refurbishment of the hotel including installing an external balcony, full redecoration of both function suits and public areas, full bedroom refurbishment and a planned extension to the bedroom stock. I hope that these changes will reassure you in our ability and with time I hope that
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I thought I would share our recent experience at this hotel to try to balance some of the negative reviews. My family of 10 plus 3 children, one of them a small baby, had a lovely get together between Christmas and New Year. We had the three course lunch which, for what we got, was very reasonably priced. The food was of a high standard and plenty of it. I can't fault the service either, we were very well looked after. Nothing was too much trouble and we were left to sit and chat long after our lunch was finished.
I must admit to being slightly concerned after reading some of the reviews but in the end there was absolutely nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arenas52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is always very encouraging to hear positive feedback. I have passed on your kind words to the restaurant team and the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
2.1 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,930 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
648 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
4.8 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
177 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensferry Hotel

Property: The Queensferry Hotel
Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, The Queensferry Hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a modern bar. There is ample free parking on site. Our restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. There are stunning views of Forth Bridges. Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 9 miles from The Hotel. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away. Please note there are renovation works happening on site, mostly externally which should not affect your stay. If you have any concerns please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queensferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
The Queensferry Hotel North Queensferry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing