We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views in a magnificent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queensferry Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning views in a magnificent hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The hotel's location is second to none - it has stunning views from all over the hotel because it has great big windows in the hallway, restaurant, the rooms and even the reception area! I absolutely feel in love with it!

Modern rooms, very quiet and a very comfortable bed made me feel like I was floating on a cloud. The room was so clean and modern, quite big also.

Moreover, the staff's customer service was impressive, from the reception to the restaurant, the people working there are lovely. The manager Stuart is very nice and a member of staff called Craig was just lovely making the evening in the restaurant so pleasant for us!

Room Tip: You definitely need to ask for a room with a view of the bridge and the water because the views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andraoprea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    215
    117
    67
    55
See reviews for
120
310
24
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2011

A short walk down The Brae from the railway station , and then turn right at the shore for a 5 min walk to this hotel . Welcoming reception staff , clean room , powerful shower , quiet surroundings , excellent vista of the river and a fill your boots breakfast . Impressed with the restaurant manager who appeased a couple of complainants at breakfast ( there was no reason whatsoever for their food gripe ) and infact all the staff were very helpful indeed .

nb. The sign outside says Queensferry Hotel , and does not mention Brook !!

We will be going back soon !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMAN1965_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our trip to Edinburgh was well overdue, however the people you encounter in life often impact the overall experience that you have. A simple thank you just isn't enough to express our gratitude for the friendliness and helpfulness extended to all of the staff that we encountered at this hotel. They are certainly an asset to this hotel which we have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Ted J

Thank you very much for your kind comments that you have posted with regrads to our teams performance. I have posted a copy of your feedback on our staff board which that are all very proud of.

Thanks again and looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Stuart Grant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogeveen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This was the last hotel on our roundtrip of Scotland. We stayed here for two nights in August.

Check in at reception was amazing. The receptionists were friendly, happy and helpful. They told us how to get into Edinburgh (busstops are very near, within walking distance of the hotel), and informed us that if we were to have dinner in the restaurant, we'd better do so before or after a certain time because of a few coaches with other tourists arriving and having dinner all at once. Also, our rooms apparently were booked quite far away from each other, and the receptionist picked up on that and changed it so that we had rooms across from each other. We didn't ask for that, she picked up on it herself. Very thoughtful.

Our rooms were at the far end of the hotel, and there was an obvious separation between an older part which holds the reception, restaurant, conference rooms and a few rooms, and the new part where we were. The whole hotel is light and spacious, with tasteful decoration, and throughout the hotel you can see photos of the construction of the two famous bridges across the Firth of Forth.

My room was very light and spacious, with a double bed and a single. It was the most comfortable of all hotel beds I slept in during this roundtrip.
It had a lovely desk, the only desk I used for my laptop in all the hotels we stayed in. It was large, with outlets in convenient places, and a desk light.
Unfortunately, my view consisted of a sandy 'hill' and trees. But there are bunnies there, so that's cute.
My parents' room had a view of the bridges.

That night we had dinner in the bar. The food was good, and not too expensive. Some staff in the bar was slightly less interested, unfortunately. They asked my dad if he wanted something else to drink, but not my mum and me. When we wanted to say that we'd like some, the waitress'd already turned her back to us and walked away.

Breakfast was a buffet, with sausage, scrambled eggs, black pudding, toast... Full English, but in an 'all you can eat' form. From the restaurant, there are amazing views of the bridges.

There's free wifi available in the entire hotel. You get a password from reception which is valid for 24 hours. After 24 hours, you can get a new one.

The TV had a lot of channels and had good reception.

The hotel is ideally situated, right on the A90 to Edinburgh, and the busstops are along the A90 as well. It has amazing views over the Firth of Forth and the bridges, with an official viewpoint on its grounds.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North east Scotland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

A nice welcome at reception, room was basic but clean and tidy, no view of river unfortunately. There was a strange smell in the room, like it used to be a smoking room  We booked table and had a good view of the bridge, the restaurant was very cold, no heating on a cold windy night. The waitress seemed a bit odd, would  not take our meal order at the same time as our drinks order. Took our drinks order and then went to the next table to take food order, odd  Came back 5 mins later to take food order. Menu had no price on it, so we had to ask how much the food was, 3 courses for £12.95, seemed good value and quality was average, we got what we paid for. I felt sorry for the couple next to us, waited at least 30 minutes from finishing main course to getting their plates cleared, service was poor, slow and no attention was paid unless seating people or delivering food and it was not busy. I would suggest frankie and Bennys across the bridge. Bed was comfy, can't comment on breakfast as we had to leave at 4am. 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesbond007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear James Bond,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor and I am sincreely sorry to hear about your experience. Our business is all about guest service, and I would ask you to kindly contact me where I can discuss your feedback in more detail.

Yours sincerely

Stuart Grant - General Manager - Stuart.Grant@brook-hotels.co.uk
Tel 01383-410000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My Husband and I stayed here for our 10th Wedding Anniversary and everyone made our weekend extra special. This Hotel has a great team of staff. All were really nice, and very friendly, they all took time to talk to their customers even though they were busy. We were really delighted with our room (No 212) it was very spacious and overlooked the Firth of Forth, and I would choose the same room when I return. Our evening meals in the North Shore Restaurant were excellent and breakfast is self service which suits us. The location - for us, it was perfect, we left the car and took a train into Edinburgh, more relaxing than taking the car into Edinburgh City Centre. The staff - I would like to mention the following :- Craig, Dennis, Nicole and Kyle. I would highly recommend this hotel to others and we will definately be back. Many Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

Irene & Ian Milne.

Room Tip: Room 212 - On the second floor with Views Across The Firth Of Forth & The Forth Road Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILM4759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear ILM4759,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor and I was delighted to hear that my team took good care of you. We have a very good team here at the hotel, and I will be ensuring that they are all recognised.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed B+B for two nights when the fringe festival was on in August. Well located on the outskirts of Edinburgh, just a 5 min walk to the Bus Stop, a nice hotel, with a spacious lounge. Our room was very spacious, it was an executive room, good size bathroom with nice toiletries. Enormous bed & flat screen tv. No minibar or comp waters etc. The hotel offers Free wifi. Breakfast was very nice & had a fair selection to choose from with omlettes cooked to order. Staff were all very polite and very helpful and seemed very busy, and a special mention to Nicole on reception. It was very busy when we stayed, but we were able to check in early and also left our bags there when we checked out. We have booked again for next year,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Mandy,

Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor and I was very pleased to read that our team took good care of you and that you enyoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next year, if not before.

Kind Regards

Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,799 reviews
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
423 reviews
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
597 reviews
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
22 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensferry Hotel

Property: The Queensferry Hotel
Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, The Queensferry Hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a modern bar. There is ample free parking on site. North Shore Restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. There are stunning views of Forth Rail Bridge.Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 9 miles from Brook Queensferry. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away. Hotel Rooms: 77. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queensferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
The Queensferry Hotel North Queensferry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing