We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queensferry Hotel
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
552 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Large modern 3* hotel in North Queensferry, just the other side of the Forth Bridge and very easy to get to from the airport (bus 747-takes about 35 minutes). Booking in was quick and vey efficient. Room was spacious, clean with decent fittings and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was a good size with a bath and a shower with good fittings. Our room did not overlook the firth but there was no noise from the busy main road. The hotel was very busy with several functions, coach tours and a Prom Ball but we were at the far end of the accommodation so were not affected by any night time noise. The food was ok nothing spectacular, with limited choice but reasonably priced, but the service was variable. However all the staff were friendly, my only criticism of the staff is that some of the younger staff needed more training and supervision as at times they wandered around looking a bit lost and some of their service at the bar and restaurant could have been better.
My only criticism of the hotel decor was that some of the carpets in the corridors were very badly marked and stained with what appeared to be bleach, which was a shame as they were good quality carpets that looked quite new.
A nice hotel if you want to stay outside Edinburgh but very easy to get into the city with a bus stop right outside (bus 55 takes about 40 minutes and runs every hour).
We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    231
    126
    68
    57
See reviews for
125
334
28
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Friendly and welcoming staff. Lovely, well laid out hotel. Beautiful. clean spacious rooms.
Our visit was short but made very enjoyable with the staff. Lovely restaurant with excellent food

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aileenfrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Dear Aileen,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on TA. I have shared your feedback with my team who do appriciate feedback from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire. UK.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed in the Brook Queensferry Hotel in Edinburgh for a get-together of our Royal Naval Photographer's Association. The hotel was in a wonderful location, the staff were great, and we couldn't fault it. Altogether it was a first class experience. Wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: Just state your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burtie020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Dear Burtie020,

Thanks for your feedback and I was delighted to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Having read some of the reviews for the hotels I half expected to turn up to Faulty Towers, but I couldn’t have been more presently surprised!

The hotel is situated right next to the forth bridges with lovely views. The chap on reception was very helpful and friendly, a trait we found in all the staff.

The hotel was very tastefully decorated and the room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Our room was certainly not run-down, shabby, or in need of refurbishment, as several other reviews would have you believe. We didn’t have dinner so I can’t comment on it, however the breakfast was nice and of a high standard.

We were told on the Friday that there was a wedding on the Saturday which gave us slight concerns, however it passed without incident and you couldn’t hear any music.

We had our dog with us and the hotel was very accommodating.

I’ve noticed the General Manager reads and comments on most of the reviews, my only feedback would be that on the Saturday night when we had a drink in the bar they seemed to have run out of most draught beer (or no one knew how to change a keg) and the girl behind the bar seemed quite young and inexperienced, as I didn’t get any glasses or cooler for the bottle of wine.

Overall I would definitely go back to the hotel and recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your feedback on TA and I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay. Thanks for letting me know about the service that you experienced from my bar staff, and I will certanly instigate some more training with the team.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stuart
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I stayed as part of a wedding group this month (wedding held in the hotel) and thought the hotel was really nice, the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. Lovely views over the forth.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember10232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your feedback and glad to hear you had a good time at the wedding.

Kind Regards

Stuart
StuartGrant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northlew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Windon in room was broken- hotel fully booked so no change of room possible. They promised to get some gaffer tape to fix it- but this never happened. Left feeling worried about safety the whole stay. Had room service-roast dinner- this was C-O-L-D!!! There is no menu in room so you have to go down to restrauant to order- complete madness!!
Return after day out and can't get into room- they thought was were only staying one night. Wifi is supposed to be free but could only access internet with 1 item- no more than one item could be logged on at one time.
Would never come back or recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shuvtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, and I sincerely sorry to hear about your recent experience at our hotel. Please can you contact me directly at the hotel, so that I can discuss this further with you.

Kind Regards

Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed at the Queensferry for two nights while up for a wedding (not held at the hotel).

The first night a significant (about 30) number of the party we were with ate in the restaurant. This seemed to surprise the hotel and we were split into two sittings. For the second sitting, the menu was hugely reduced as they'd run out of food. The food itself was OK, but over £10 for a small chicken breast or a small, poor quality bit of pork wasn't great value. Service was sloppy and tardy. 15 minutes queuing to pay, when the barman taking payments walked off in the middle of it, didn't round off the evening well! We resented paying so much for the meal.

Positives - breakfast was very nice. Staff were helpful to us on a couple of other occasions, and generally were friendly. It's a quiet location, and as others have said the views are great.

The room... generally OK. No fridge. Most things felt dusty, grubby or dated (the carpets!), it's clear the hotel is in need of refurbishment.

We had a great weekend regardless. But the restaurant experience was particularly testing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgwkmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartGrant, General Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting your feedback on trip advisor and I am sorry to hear about the shortfalls that you experienced from my team.

Friday night was a difficult night as without any warning, we had a request for 42 people for dinner at 7.30pm which were seated over 3 tables. We certainly welcome business but considering the size of the booking and at such short notice we had to adapt the menu and times for the group to come in.

I am sorry to hear about my bar tenders conduct which I will be following up, and I will be taking your comments on board with regards to our future plans for refurbishment.

My apologies again, and if you would like to discuss this further, then please feel free to contact me directly on 01383-410000.

Yours sincerely,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
stuart.grant@brook-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
2.1 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,855 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
618 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
168 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberdour
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensferry Hotel

Property: The Queensferry Hotel
Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, The Queensferry Hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a modern bar. There is ample free parking on site. Our restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. There are stunning views of Forth Bridges. Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 9 miles from The Hotel. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away. Hotel Rooms: 77. Please note there are renovation works happening on site, mostly externally which should not affect your stay. If you have any concern please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Queensferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
The Queensferry Hotel North Queensferry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing