We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Deep Sea World

Deep Sea World
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deep Sea World is located underneath the iconic Forth Rail Bridge, in the quaint village of North Queensferry. Deep Sea World is one of the premier attractions in Scotland, offering fun for the whole family, no matter what their age. Come along and see our spectacular underwater tunnel and come face to face with one of Europe's largest collection of Sand Tiger sharks and even dive with them...If you're feeling brave enough!
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We were done within 30-45 min. We found it overcrowded and the tunnel poorly presented. The initial displays were interesting. Ripelys Aquarium in the USA is far better value.

1  Thank thebrowns3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanBer, Visitor Services at Deep Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Good afternoon,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Deep Sea World. We value feedback from all of our customers.

We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your visit to our attraction. Generally we receive very positive feedback regarding our underwater tunnel, it would be fantastic if you would like to provide further details on what you felt was lacking and ways which we could improve upon your experience.

I am sorry to hear that you were unable to spend more time in our attraction, however we believe that customers who choose to view our many talks and feeds, as well as soak in all the information surrounding our displays are able to spend many hours at Deep Sea World in one visit.

I would like to thank you again for your feedback, and wish you a pleasant week.

Many Thanks
Allan Berturelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"shark dive"
in 89 reviews
"seal feeding"
in 48 reviews
"sea creatures"
in 23 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 24 reviews
"marine life"
in 20 reviews
"bearded dragon"
in 24 reviews
"staff were very friendly"
in 16 reviews
"feeding times"
in 17 reviews
"forth rail bridge"
in 25 reviews
"talks"
in 113 reviews
"rays"
in 28 reviews
"wee"
in 29 reviews
Filter

1,081 - 1,085 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited on Saturday the 13th of April and had a great time. I used to visit a lot as a child so it was a bit of a nostalgic trip - we loved the shark tunnel and getting to see all the various creatures on display.

I've seen a number of complaints about the size of the attraction and the time it takes to walk through - this is only an issue if you simply walk past each tank and say "Yep, there's a fish" rather than actually reading about them or watching them! We spent almost three hours alternating between looking at all the different animals, and watching the various feeding sessions.

We particularly enjoyed getting to stroke the bearded dragon, and the behind the scenes tour. Dogfish are now cat sharks!

Special thanks to both Lorna and Sarah who were very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable.

1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanBer, Visitor Services at Deep Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Good afternoon,

Many thanks for a fantastic review and for awarding Deep Sea World five stars on TripAdvisor. We love to hear stories of customers returning throughout the years and having new and fantastic experiences with every visit.

I’m please to see that you spent so much time viewing all of the exhibits what we have to offer and took the time to immerse yourself in the mass of information available to all of our customers.

Thank you once again for such great feedback. I will pass your comments on to the Deep Sea World team, they will be absolutely delighted.

Many Thanks
Allan Berturelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

for the entry fee taken at £13 per adult we were in and out in just over an hour. While the talks and displays are good for older children there is nothing to hold the attention of toddlers so would advise waiting until older.

Also having last been 10 years ago I would have expected a few changes. Nothing new that I could tell and the tunnel area was looking very worn & shabby.

Overall a good location to go for educational visits with older children but not one for the youngsters or adults really unless you really love this kind of thing. For what is on offer the entry fee is too much.

2  Thank s_ross13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visited here Sunday 21st and the place was mobbed. A good sigh as we had visited last year on Mothering Sunday and it was just as busy and hassle free.
Yesterday, we queued up for tickets, four adults and one child, and for a time nothing seemed to happen except when a member of staff walked the line asking if anyone had booked online and to follow her through the no entry door on the right. A couple of people did but for the most part everyone else just stood and waited.
The problem, and I don't blame the staff, was there was one till for the masses, the other was only being used if a member of staff was available.
The working til was also being used for group membership and these transactions took a while to process if it was a credit card payment, further adding to the delays.
Why don't the staff on the door have radio mikes and could a couple of signs be left out advising online purchasers to queue separately.
If we had thought about it we could have saved £12.50 online, that's an online adult price of £10.50 and a child over 3-12 years £6.50. Better value too.
The conveyor belt surrounding the aquarium had broken down, wasn't a problem for us but the younger families with kids seemed to struggle which in turn created a bottle-neck as both walkways became congested.
This family attraction is still good value but we felt that the issues are more to do with bad management than with the friendly overworked staff who do there best given the situation.

4  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Despite it's not too big sea life attraction, it's very nicely organised. Kids amazed, since they have a chance not only to see but to touch too. Nice underwater tunnel, which actually makes fish look bigger than they are, but it gives you just better picture. It's very nice to make pictures on your own or ask for staff to do it for you if you have forgotten the camera

Thank Linxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanBer, Visitor Services at Deep Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that your children were amazed by the creatures and exhibits that we have on display here in Deep Sea World, and were able to take full advantage of our interactive ‘touch sessions’ which allow visitors to get up close and personal with some of their favourite creatures.

You may also like to know that our underwater tunnel has an effect that actually makes our sharks and fish appear smaller than their actual size. This really puts into perspective the hugely impressive size of our large Sand Tiger Sharks.

All of our customers are more than welcome to take as many photos as they like. We encourage visitors to take as many photos as possible and we hope you were able to create some fantastic memories to take home with you which your family can keep for many years.

Than you again for a great review.

Many Thanks
Allan Berturelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep Sea World also viewed

 
North Queensferry, Fife
North Queensferry, Fife
 

Been to Deep Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing