We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Queensferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northcraig Cottage B&B
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stumbled upon this great B&B when looking for somewhere within easy reach of Edinburgh Festivals but not at Edinburgh prices.

Elizabeth was a great host and North Queensferry is worth a visit in its own right.

On our return journey, a night spent (for a similar price) in a dank and dingy motel room on the M6, served to underline Newcraig Cottage's value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

In a scenic location under the Forth railway bridge, trains trundling every few minutes sounded like thunder, but they seemed to finish at 11 until 6 and didn't keep us awake. Early dawn and thin light curtains woke us too soon, but Elisabeth is now promising to put this right with some darker curtains. Excellent hospitality, spotlessly clean, good breakfast. Be aware the posh "Wee restaurant" nearby closes on Mondays, but the nearly Albert has a new owner and we ate there reasonably well.

Room Tip: only one double is en suite, worth paying for unless you want to share facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piquet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Fantastic hospitality in a spotless little house ideally positioned for the train into Edinburgh. Cracking high class restaurant 3 minutes walk away and the choice of two bars on the way. Smashing little place, thank you Elisabeth I look forward to staying with you again. Graham.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhectorKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at Elizabeth's B&B on a recommendation and were not disappointed. We booked for 1 night, and after 2 nights of relaxation and great breakfasts we decided that we would like to stay for the remainder of our short break, 4 days, fortunately this was possible. A great location to explore Fife and Edinburgh, coupled with good bus and train services from north queens ferry and a kindly host this is a little gem of a place. The delightful location of the B&B is under the forth bridge and the local walks are equally breathtaking.

Room Tip: Double room ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHotelswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We loved it, excellent landlady who went out of her way to make us very welcome. Very clean room with a very comfortable bed and a great cooked breakfast that sets you up for the day. Some may find being right under the Forth Railway Bridge and the rumble of trains passing overhead a bit disconcerting but we didn't mind at all, in fact it added to our stay. A short walk to the railway station, just under £6 pounds for an off peak ticket and you are in the centre of Edinburgh in 20 minutes with a train journey over the bridge which has to be one of the worlds engineering marvels . Don't even think about driving into Edinburgh, roadworks everywhere and a complete nightmare!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I arrived after a long and very wet ride on my motorbike; Elisabeth couldn't have done more to make me feel welcome, warm me up and dry my clothes!

The house is bright and spotlessly clean, the breakfast is varied, plentiful and well cooked.

North Queensferry is a quiet, lovely place. Within 5 minutes walk of the B&B there is a pub and a fabulous restaurant (The Wee Restaurant - booking advised).

Northcraig Cottage is excellent value and I will definitely visit again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trillian2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have stayed at Northcraig Cottage on a number of occasions as it's convenient for Port Edgar Marina. The building is in a great location with good views across the Forth and the accommodation is clean and comfortable. Elisabeth is an excellent host who is attentive and welcoming. Service went well beyond what I was expecting and the place is miles better than similarly priced B&Bs I have visited in the area. Decent breakfast with plenty to choose from on the menu. Lots of nice little no cost extras like the biscuit box and decent tea and coffee making facilities in my room. Had lots of work to do during the evenings so the free WiFi was really handy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Queensferry hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferrybridge Hotel
Ferrybridge Hotel
#5 of 5 in North Queensferry
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#3 of 5 in North Queensferry
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcraig Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcraig Cottage B&B

Address: North Craig Cottage Battery Road, North Queensferry KY11 1JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in North Queensferry
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Northcraig Cottage B&B North Queensferry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing