We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner for Sixteen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crusoe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crusoe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Dinner for Sixteen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were entertaining a group of good friends in Fife and had booked a dinner for sixteen in the Alexander Selkirk Room. With the help of the staff, we had pre-chosen a short menu of food with a 1960s theme - which proved to be excellent. The service was prompt and very attentive with relaxing gaps between the courses - and the food was good and well prepared in line with the theme - with generous portions all round. Well done to all at the Crusoe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanatdyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    91
    33
    14
    12
See reviews for
32
135
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Right on the harbour, public rooms are old world charm, bedrooms have been modernised with contemporary finishes flat screen TV etc. For someone who loves a quiet hotel room all I could hear in the morning wwas the sea.... Breakfast cooked to order -a bonus when buffet now so common in the chain hotels and good choice - if I were being picky my scrambled eggs (compared to a friend who had likewise 10 mins later) a bit overdone but all else good with prompt service despite having a sudden rush of guests. Plan to stay again next year.

Room Tip: Room 10 I stayed in and faces the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were met here by very good friends whilst on the Fife Coastal Path walk and consumed a spot of Lunch, the restaurant is a shrine to the adventures of Robinson Crusoe (Inspired by the real life adventure of Alexander Selkirk)
The food was acceptable once delivered, we waited almost 1 hour which you may wish to take into account if on a schedule?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinP1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

What a delightful place to have lunch, very friendly staff with a brilliant dog friendly attitude especially when its a hot day and you have been down the beach and fancy a wee refreshment!! The meal itself was amazing, overall a very pleasurable experience with fab weather and views to top it off!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Visited this hotel on Sunday, 11 May 2014, & was pleasantly surprised at the excellent quality of the refreshments provided, namely a couple of pints of Bellhaven for me & a large pot of tea for my driving companion.

Previously when we have visited Lower Largo we have gone to the Railway Inn, but this time due to the nonchalant attitude of the rather bored woman behind the bar, who advised that she was too busy to make a cup of coffee, we left and went across the road to the Crusoe. In hindsight the woman did us a favour and when we next visit Lower Largo it will again be the Crusoe Hotel as opposed to the Railway Inn.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jimdundee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stopped by here for morning coffee and were so impressed with the place! We were shown round the rooms, bars and restaurant by a charming lady, all on the strength of a cup of coffee!
We returned the same evening to sample the restaurant's offerings and had one of the most enjoyable food experiences for some time. The staff were attentive and friendly, the restaurant, though busy, was full of character and the food and drinks very reasonably priced. The hotel has undergone extensive rebuilding and refurbishment and represents an excellent venue for dining or for a longer stay. Being right on the beach the views from the sea-facing rooms is spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraser L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were lucky to be given an overnight stay here for a gift. We were given the suite at the top of the hotel. We were over whelmed with the view and suite we were given. We love this coast and the both verandas were amazing for views. We found all rooms clean. Staff were professional and helpful. We had our evening meal and breakfast and both were lovely. We had a great over night stay and will return, have already booked for our first wedding anniversary and can't wait. Will be recommending to family and friends what a great wee place.

Room Tip: Room at top with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokieFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
0.7 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
8.7 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crusoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crusoe Hotel

Property: Crusoe Hotel
Address: 2 Main Street | Lower Largo, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 6BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Crusoe Hotel Leven, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing