We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Life on the Ocean Wave”
Review of Crusoe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crusoe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed one night for a business meeting nearby. The location of the Crusoe Hotel is superb - be careful not to fall off the wall straight into the sea! It is very conveniently positioned. Be prepared for many golfers to sit around the bar boring everyone else! The decor in the rooms is good and the beds are comfortable. Do not be put off the the tired and worn public areas. Food in the pub lounge is excellent and the breakfast is generous and arrives very hot!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beacon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Crusoe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 252 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

My buddy and I stayed at the Crusoe Hotel on a golfing holiday, and we were very pleased with this hotel. The other reviewers are exactly right about the sea wall, the ocean views, and the super convenient location. (By the way, this hotel is not in Leven, but in Lower Largo, about five miles farther along the Fife coast to the east. Lower Largo is a lovely village, infinitely more quaint and interesting than the industrial, blue-collar town of Leven.) The rooms are smallish, and a bit tired; I'll grant you that. The carpeting on the stairs is worn, no doubt. But the staff is extremely helpful, the owner is on the spot every day keeping things running, and in terms of convenience, charm, value and interest this old facility -- it's been a hotel for 250+ years! -- is high on my list of excellent choices. We had dinner in the pub one evening and it was splendid, and fairly priced. The pub is always busy. Parking is free and convenient. For me, this is great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My memories of Lower Largo are of many decades ago. We were very pleasantly surprised by the upgrade that was done to the Crusoe Hotel which has built new, comfortable bedrooms effectively on a sea wall. When the tide is in, you are right above the water. The tidal rise is big so most of the time you have the lovely changing views of the beach. The light is especially interesting and has inspired many artists.
The sea is of course quite noisy but I found it soporific rather than intrusive.
We stayed for three nights and ate in two of them.
The Hotel is very well run and the food is good. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff helpful.
Plan to do it again as there is so much to see within close distance of Lower Largo.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of waves, get a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We decided to stay there just because it was very conveniently located on the sea and on our way back to Edinburgh. I have mixed feelings about this hotel. First of all, rooms are much worse than they appear on website. Room decoration and furnishing is poor, old, not so clean. The cost for the double en-suite room is too expensive (£97.50) for this hotel and this village, Lower Largo, with no particular touristic attraction.
But: it is on the sea, very much on the sea, it protrudes from the rocks to the tiny beach and, when the tide is high, weaves splashes under your window until the reinforced hotel wall. You get the impression of being in a boat, beautiful!
Also: dinner at the hotel restaurant was the best we had in Scotland, and breakfast was rich and very good, the chef definitely knows how to cook, rare quality as for pubs/restaurants we've been in.
I don't know if I'd chose to be back, but I'm happy I stayed overall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerenaEMatteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have stayed at the Crusoe before, so we had high expectations for our recent return visit. These were met and more.
The location is superb, and the staff are excellent and very welcoming. Not one but two staff members referred to the hotel as a "home-from-home", and we were made to feel extremely comfortable from the word go. No hassle or rush, just excellent accomodation and dining.

Also, easy access to Edinburgh and St Andrews, plus lots of local tourist spots.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

First of all observed a barmaid treating German visitors with absolute disdain, was very embarassed to see this. Secondly, after having several drinks we asked if we could order food whilst sitting at an outside table on a beautiful sunny evening. We were told we could and were given menus. When we attempted to place an order we were told that they would only take orders for those sitting inside the restaurant and all tables were fully booked. This is not the first time this has happened to us, but it will be the last - we will not be back. There were 3 other tables of dissapointed people who didn't get fed and spoke to locals who said they don't frequent the place because of terrible service. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
8  Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We came across this Hotel when visiting the area and due to the the location we knew we had to visit. Absolutely stunning views as we requested a room with a sea view. It was in June and we were hoping for some sun but unfortunately none but it didn't hinder our visit in any way. The food was excellent and have to say it's the best breakfast we have ever had. Eggs Benedict is a must. We will definately be returning as it was one of the best breaks we have had. You must also vist the wee pub across the road the locals are a hoot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
0.8 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
530 reviews
2.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leven
153 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
8.7 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
575 reviews
14.1 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crusoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crusoe Hotel

Address: 2 Main Street | Lower Largo, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 6BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Crusoe Hotel Leven, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing