We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of Crusoe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crusoe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Second time staying here. Love the situation of this hotel, right by the sea.
Had asked for a sea view room but due to a mix up we had to take a room in the old part with view of car park and harbour.Room needed a bit of TLC, was quite cold and had one of the worst showers I have ever had, water was hot but it trickled out.
Got a lovely apology and discount to make up for it. Food here is excellent, best fish and chips ever...and the trio of salmon was fab. The staff are so nice and so helpful.
Breakfast is also very good. We will be back for our sea view room.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandTravel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    100
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
39
140
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Never eaten here before, but when I booked, the lady was so helpful and welcoming we were all really looking forward to it. Went with 8 middle aged ladies, and we ate upstairs. The restaurant is very cosy, nicely presented and very welcoming tables. The young female waitresses couldn't have been more delightful. The menu was excellent and very varied. Lots of choice for non-meat eaters. We all had different starters, mains and pudd and they were all really excellent. Very imaginative and a lot of creativity. Well done to the chef. A number of us have eaten at some fine restaurants around the world, and for a sleepy village restaurant in the middle of nowhere this hotel is a must for a nice Saturday night meal out.
It is very reasonably priced for what we had and would have paid more. A great night and a fab little restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed at the Crusoe during a recent visit to Fife.

Hotel is located right on the harbour (sea view rooms look right out onto the beach) with ample parking.

Staff are exceptionally attentive and extremely helpful - nothing is too much trouble for them. Food is very good - generous portions, fresh produce, innovative menu, excellent value for money,etc, etc. Would recommend trying as you won't be disappointed. Rooms are very clean, comfy and spacious although maybe a little dated.

Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra premium for a sea view - what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie_Lynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent our most amazing Chriatmas day here.......!!! What an awesum time. Rooms, food, service, EVERYTHING excellent. Wished we had stayed longer. Will def. go back. We had a room overlooking the sea and it was like being in a boat...the waves crashing against our room.....wow!!! The food was amazing and what a great deal and value for money.......

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE GREAT CHRISTMAS DAY!!!! xx

See you again soon!!!! xx

Room Tip: Ask for one for a sea view!!! DEF!!!! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fudgesamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Spent 0ne night in the suite at this amazing hotel, situated virtually on the beach in the beautiful East Neuk of Fife. Warm welcome, extremely helpful and friendly staff. Food in lounge was excellent and good value. Our suite had stunning views to the west and over the Forth to the south. On a cold bright January, we saw superb sunset and sunrise over calm water. Bed was large and very comfortable. Some fittings getting slightly tired but do not let this put you off visiting. This is a very special place.

Room Tip: Beachcomber suite was special
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMGFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Have stayed here a few times on business, generally ok place but is starting to look tired. Food was of good quality with bigger than average helpings. Breakfast was great, haggis, black pudding etc etc.
The rooms are the biggest let down, I stayed in December during a cold snap and the room was very cold. I complained to staff the following day and was told that the heating doesn't go on until 5 but they could get me an electric heater the next night. The problem is that all of the bedding, carpets and atmosphere in the room that I stayed in had a generally damp feeling which I am not keen on. One of the rooms I stayed in was quite shoddy, the tv power cable was a bit short so the solution seems to be that the tv was mounted on a slant with the cable stretched across the corner to the socket. The carpet had some old stains on it too which were not really appealing.

Staff were very friendly, this place could be a little diamond if it were refurbished to a more modern standard. Would certainly stay again but only in warmer weather

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glostaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinsonScotland, Owner at Crusoe Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Many thanks for your comments both positive and negative. You were unfortunately staying in the old wing which is due for a full refurbishment this year along with the heating.
I do hope you will try us again and ask to stay in the seafacing rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Spent two nights at the Crusoe for a friend's 50th birthday. Would definitely return and recommend to others. We had a three course meal on the Friday and Saturday, 3 choices for starter, main and pudding - all were excellent and good sized portions. The breakfasts were really lovely, I had eggs benedict both mornings - ten out of ten. Breakfast, dinner and bed all in a very reasonable deal. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable, the sea comes right up to your window. Bar was friendly and cosy and there is another pub across the way which has a lovely atmosphere - very relaxing spot. Walked to Elie which took us over two hours - went to The Ship for lunch - very unpretentious, lovely grub.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliesays123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
0.8 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
511 reviews
2.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leven
150 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
563 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,129 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crusoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crusoe Hotel

Property: Crusoe Hotel
Address: 2 Main Street | Lower Largo, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 6BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Crusoe Hotel Leven, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing