We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff make this a good place to stay”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We traveled 450 miles from Essex to watch a football match that was called off due to high winds etc. This would normally have made the weekend a tragic waste of time, but thanks to the fantastic service provided by the staff at the Caledonian Hotel, we still had a great time.

The bar is spacious and doubles up as the restaurant/breakfast area.

The menu was straightforward and the food cooked well. Service was attentive but not obtrusive. I'd consider our meal good value for money.

Breakfast was superb. There is a help yourself cereal/fruit juice bar followed by a table service menu. Our breakfast was cooked very well.

Like many hotels of this type, it could do with with a lick of paint and a general tidy up. I would say this a reflection of the current economic climate rather than neglect on the part of the management.

I would like to make a point of thanking the friendly staff for all their efforts, particularly Lauren, who seems to be everywhere!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may well be quieter. Certainly those at the front were quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveB1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 159 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel, the staff were very friendly but the hotel itself was badly in need of refurbishment. It all looked a little 'Sad'. The meals were just about ok but lacked choice.It was very close to the sea which was a bonus, but unfortunately we had very noisy, disruptive neighbours next to our bedroom which went on until 4am.

Room Tip: Room on the other side than facing the street is advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A comfy bed, clean room,delicious food and friendly staff made our overnight stay very relaxing.Plus they were dog friendly ( £10 extra ) and did room service so our dog stayed with us while we ate our evening meal in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked this hotel when travelling up for a golf comp at st Andrews.
It was very cheap and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The room itself was a good size uf not a little worn looking. The bathroom really needs some attention with stains and marks all over it.the shower curtain stank of molde.and there was inly shower gel not shampoo.

The breakfast was propably the worse iv ever had in a hotel.it all looked like it was cooked the day before and kept warm with a sausage that contains next to no meat.so poor that I ate about 3 mouthfulls and my friend couldn't face one bite.

The bar area is fine with drinks resonably priced and food also but after the breakfast we ate elsewhere.

The are around the hotel is small but has a nice curry house and a bus station with good links to surrounding towns.

All in all it was fine for us as all we wanted was somewhere cheap with a couple of beds as where were only in the rooms for a few hours.but if your travelling with kids and spend time in your room and like to eat at the hotel I'd suggest paying that bit more and staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel that accepted dogs n i found this place online. It was in a great location, 2mins walk from the beach. We were greeted by Paul at reception who was very friendly n helpful. Our room was quite dated but very spacious, clean n comfortable. Breakfast which was included in the price was cereal, fruit juice n a very filling cooked breakfast which was delicious. I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghBigyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last night with my partner for an overnight.
room was standard could do with some updating though clean and tidy.bed very comfy.
Shower not very powerful and lights in the room didnt work though told the staff as we left.

Breakfast was a standard english breakfast . with lashing of tea/coffee and toast. though not very tasty.Would i stay here again .. NO..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen_n_raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Rooms a little dated but bed comfortable and we found it quite. Biggest complaint was I always chose a hotel that has WiFi for my ipad etc. and this was broken for the full length of my stay even though I reported minimum 3 times. Eventualy, a sign at reception saying it is broken but never fixed. This is not good enough these days as to me it is almost equivilant of not having any hot water. Hotel part is attatched to modern type pub which was about the best in town (not saying much I am afraid) but the staff were very friendly and the food OK. Breakfast was nice either full English or limited cereal.

The hotel is in the high street and number of shops and pubs close by. Poundland is getting everwhere. Chip shops and cafe's tended to shut by 8 and town was quite.

Reasonable location for travelling around the area but maybe a little expensive for waht it was.

Room Tip: Read some other reviews which say noisy in some parts of hotel. I was in room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryMcCrossan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
1.8 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
558 reviews
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#3 of 9 in Glenrothes
209 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
7.2 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
589 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: 81 High Street, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Price Range: $68 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caledonian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Leven, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing