We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A no but B&B”
Review of Bankhead House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bankhead House
Ranked #2 of 11 Leven B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A no but B&B”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having read many reviews (and written a few) the majority of them give a good account of an establishment then near the end there is a "but" then the review says something negative. Having stayed here for two nights I can only say that this is an outstanding establishment in every area, service, value for money, location, etc but the icing on the cake is Sue and Len. Thank you for your welcome and making our stay such a pleasure and for running a no "but" establishment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Well_travelled_Jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankheadHouse, Owner at Bankhead House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your feedback about your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words, and also for booking directly with us through our website. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you're across this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent a fantastic sunny February(!) weekend with Sue and Len at Bankhead Farm and were very very impressed. The quality of the accommodation and food was first class but the real stand out memory of our weekend was the way we were welcomed and pampered by our hosts. It really felt like staying with old friends. I'm sure anyone booking in here will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had a sea view which we appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankheadHouse, Owner at Bankhead House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're pleased your enjoyed your stay with us and the weather was just perfect for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently spent 1 night at this beautiful b&b and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were really sad we hadn't booked a longer stay. Beautifully spacious room with a fantastic view over to the Bass Rock and East Lothian. Delicious breakfast and lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankheadHouse, Owner at Bankhead House, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Bankhead House, we're glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you back at some point. We now have a booking facility on our website so bookings can be made directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
446 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The reviews are spot on. Very warm welcome by our hosts who are most helpful. The whole place is decorated and furnished to a very high standard- better than many places purporting to be luxury and charging more but which don't come anywhere near the standards set by Bankhead House. The rooms are great- very comfortable and with marvellous views. Breakfasts cooked on the Aga are just what you want to start the day.If you want the town by the door forget it but if you want country quiet and views as we did this is a must.We will definitely return when the golf is on next year or maybe before.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankheadHouse, Owner at Bankhead House, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Myself and my partner had a late booking to Bankhead House due to the flooding of the original place we had booked nearer the center of town, Boy am i glad it did! This wonderful house is made warm and welcoming by the homely touches and the attentiveness of the hosts, Len and Sue. When we rang ahead and explained a problem we had with being due at a wedding between the check out times at a previous hotel and the check in time of Bankhead, They were very accommodating and helpful and solved our dilemma. The rooms have beautiful high ceilings, big windows, newly appointed bathrooms and the whole place is spotless! I would love to wake up everyday in these rooms and look out upon the stunning views that can be seen. The gardens and surrounding areas are just waiting to be explored and we will just have to come back to explore them! Lovely!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankheadHouse, Owner at Bankhead House, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bankhead and describing some of its charms. We're pleased to have been of help to you, and glad that you enjoyed both the event you attended and your stay here. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimbolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lovely old farm in rural Scotland. The views are spectacular and feel like they go on forever. I think the location (outside the town) really compliments it.

Really welcoming hosts who went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and happy. A recommendation and booking for dinner was appreciated. I will definitely come again - just sad we didn't have enough time to experience all the area has to offer.

Rooms were beautifully decorated and appointed with great attention to detail.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puzafriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankheadHouse, Owner at Bankhead House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves, and look forward to seeing you back for a bit longer next time.You can book directly on our website, or just give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have stayed here for 2 nights and it was clean and warm.
The staff were welcoming and friendly,especially Sue,guided us local restaurant when required.
I left my car for one night at the premise and it was safe and secure.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patmant70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankheadHouse, Owner at Bankhead House, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our place on TripAdvisor. We're glad you felt so comfortable and look forward to receiving your next booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
2.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leven
146 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
3.9 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#2 of 9 in Glenrothes
193 reviews
4.1 mi away
Montrave House Bed and Breakfast
14.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 10 in Anstruther
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bankhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankhead House

Property: Bankhead House
Address: Bankhead Farm, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 5NL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Leven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil countryside retreat, Bankhead offers spacious and comfortable accommodation with glorious, panoramic views over the Firth of Forth to the Bass Rock in the east, the coast and hills of East Lothian, and to Edinburgh to the west. A family home, our 19th century house is a delightful combination of old and new: original architectural features blended with contemporary luxury and comfort. We offer two lovely rooms for guests who'd like to share this special place with us for a while.We are within easy reach of Lundin Links ( 2 miles) and the East Neuk of Fife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bankhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankhead House Leven, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing