We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunclutha Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Leven B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Basic B&B in run down ex-seaside town. Unsure why this is graded at 4*. Decor is old fashioned, furniture is old and of poor quality. Room tidy - but could have been cleaner. Shower small and difficult to regulate. Beds cimfy and linen good. Breakfast generally OK. I must be missing something with all the wonderful comments in the visitors' book - but basically it was a rather average B&B. Tidy, warm and somewhere to rest your head. If you have to stay in Leven ( can't think why you would) then its a reasonable place for a night's sleep - but if you are holidaying in the area there are 100 other B7Bs that would probabaly offer you something better.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gromitpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Dunclutha Guest House very much. I was a bit suprised that our hostess did not intorduce herself or show us where the lounge or breakfast area was but after reading her post, she had a lot on her plate at the time. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. John really enjoyed the french press coffee and the Jam was excellent.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mimibev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We were booked into this guest house by the company running our hiking trip. When we arrived there was no one there at 3 pm in the afternoon even though we were told we could check in after 2 pm. Being from the states we had no way to call as we had no telephone that worked in the UK. After waiting outside 30+ minutes her son-in-law came and saw us sitting there and called her for us. When she got home she never applogized for being out or offered any explination. We were supposed to have an en-suite, come to find out that since there were others staying paying a higher rate we got bumped to the room with no en-suite, but a bath across the hall. Our room had porn magazines on all the bookshelves. I don't mean to be prudish, but that is just not acceptable. The one bright spot was breakfast where there was wonderful strawberry jam.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhurey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestaccommodation, Owner at Dunclutha Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

I am very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay.
I was horrified about the comments about the magazines - I have checked the room tonight and found the 2 offending magazines. I normally check magazines which guests leave but it was an oversight on my part. I do not approve of any magazine of that type in my house and will make sure that never happens again.
I am sorry I wasn't in when you arrived but I was not told that you would be arriving early by the walking company and they didn't ask me when would be suitable.
I normally do my shopping in the afternoon after we have cleaned the rooms etc and therefore rarely accept guests arriving early afternoon - a lot of walkers arrive by tea time which is when I would have been expecting you.
In my defence, my husband has been ill since the end of June and timing things right with all guests is difficult -especially when I don't know when they are arriving. I have been back and forward to the hospital and the doctor with him and therefore my time table can run late.
I am afraid I am not clear which day you stayed - I have looked at my diary for the 12th but that was the week of the Open - I assume you stayed before that date.
All my rooms are charged at the same rate and I did not "bump" you off with an inferior room - I often give that particular room to walkers because they can soak their weary bones in the bath - there was a shower over the bath as well, I did provide a bathrobe and the bathroom was private - for your use only.
I may have had to move your room but it would not be because I was charging more in any other room - I don't do that.
I do apologise again but I can only go out in the early part of the afternoon and cannot be tied to the house all day otherwise there would be nothing for my guests to eat for breakfast.
Thank you for the comment about the strawberry jam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

The Dunclutha was the perfect B&B -- comfortable and quiet, with a great location and gracious hostess. We stayed longer than we expected because we enjoyed our stay so much. We're anxious to go back, and would absolutely stay at the Dunclutha again. Also, it offers wonderful breakfasts and food!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktj9Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: alle kamers zijn goed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hertjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Dunclutha Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Dunclutha Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maulwurf7065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leven
154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forth Bay Guest House
Forth Bay Guest House
#1 of 1 in Leven
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fantasia Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Bankhead House
Bankhead House
#5 of 11 in Leven
51 reviews
3.5 mi away
Montrave House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunclutha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunclutha Guest House

Address: 16 Victoria Road, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Leven
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dunclutha Guest House Leven, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing