We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stop but a great little guest house”
Review of Lomond Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lomond Guest House
Ranked #5 of 11 Leven B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Short stop but a great little guest house”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Welcomed by Jean on arrival and given a great room with a double and single bed. really comfortable with a load of space and spotlessly clean. Did not stop for breakfast as away at 6.30 but Jean gave us a discount as we only required the room, she did not need to do this but it was most welcome. Would recommend this place to everyone and will be stopping again if I am in Leven in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickHughes1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This guest house was booked for us by Macs Adventures as one of our stopovers while hiking the Fife Coastal Trail. The house was well-located (one block from the trail) clean, comfortable, and charming. Our spacious room with two beds had a bay window overlooking a tree-lined park area. Jean was accommodating (doing a load of laundry for us) efficient, and a wonderful cook. The house itself was once the headquarters of the Polish Resistance during World War II. A perfect resting place for the tired walker.

Room Tip: The second floor corner room overlooking the trees, was especially bright and cheerful. Although, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaSearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a lovely place this is! Jean - the owner was very friendly and always up for a chat. She went over and above the level of service we expected - closing the curtains for us and putting on an extra heater in our room when we were late back on a very cold night.
Our room (7) was large, the bed was 2 x 3 feet singles pushed together to make one extra wide bed, this prevented "roll together" and made for an excellent night's sleep. The location of this guest house is in a better bit of town and is a hundred metres away from the sea front and there is a pub / restaurant just a few minutes walk away, as well as a supermarket and a bank with an ATM machine.
The whole place is immaculate and extremely clean.
The bedroom was spacious and had a well stocked complimentary tea and coffee tray as well as bottled water.
The en-suite is large and well stocked with toiletries.
The breakfast choice was very extensive - ranging from a choice of cereals / fresh fruit / fruit juice / yoghurt, etc., Toast was also available. The choice of cooked breakfasts ranged from scrambled egg (on toast) to a full Scottish breakfast, with haggis and black pudding!!
All in all a very pleasant stay and we will definitely return here when we are next in Scotland - an exceptional Guest House in the Leven area, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizmo2brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great location only a block from the beach and within walking distance to everything else in town. Several choices for the included breakfast. The room we had was quite big and with an ensuite. Jean Hughes was always there to lend a helping hand with local information etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenaroundenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I staggered into the Lomond Guest House, having walked a long stretch of the Fife Coastal Path. We were given a warm welcome by Jean and shown to our room which was ideal. Spacious and nicely decorated, with an attractive seating area in the bay window overlooking the tree-lined street. Beautiful spacious bathroom with terrific shower. After a good night's sleep, we were given a delicious breakfast with vegetarian option. We felt fully refreshed by our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Sent one of my team to stay here last week as he was working in the area, so this review is his. Views are valid as we have a review plan for where we stay and we all judge against this.
Great value for money. It was very clean and warm. Food provided at breakfast was excellent. Jean is a very genial hostess. Only downside for business travellers is there is no wifi connection but you can go down to the Cumberland and access free wifi there. All in all a great place to stay if you are in the area and we would wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Everything a guest house should be. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, with an agreeable landlady. Also easy to find and well situated in a nice area, literally a stone's throw from the sea. Some en suite, some not. Good Internet. TV. Tea-making. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davyclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
1.5 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leven
150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fantasia Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Seascape Largo Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Upper Largo Hotel
Upper Largo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Largo
108 reviews
3.5 mi away
Montrave House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Guest House

Property: Lomond Guest House
Address: 6 Church Road, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Leven
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Lomond Guest House Leven, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing