We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed :-(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fernie Castle Hotel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed :-(”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We attended a wedding and stayed one night in a standard double room as a special treat (I say double, two twins locked together, creating a discomfort right down the middle of the beds).

Although we made the most of it and enjoyed the wedding as best we could the following must be considered for any future guests.

The Castle itself is very historical - right down to the décor and standard of ...... although the grounds are beautiful.

Our room was dirty, dust I could write on - furniture stained with goodness knows what, bed uncomfy and cold, even with extra blankets - on a very hot night! Could not open window and no real running water in bathroom, a trickle at best.

Wedding meal was sub standard with everything overcooked. Public toilets on ground floor totally not in synch with "Castle" atmosphere, very 70s and badly in need of refurb. The carpets were very dusty and really the whole place could do with refreshing.

The bar was ok - the function suite bar was poorly stocked and poorly manned considering how many people were being catered for.

Breakfast was passable although the tea was tepid.

We did get a £30 discount when we muted our issues, still poor value for money and a real disappointment for us. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JaneK3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    43
    22
    38
    61
See reviews for
78
91
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Afternoon tea is such a popular outing these days so why not try Fernie castle. It's a beautiful, atmospheric building - very Scottish baronial. Food, drink and service all first class. A totally relaxing and pleasing experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ellvee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Recently attended a wedding at Fernie Castle,castle and grounds are beautiful,I had requested a vegetarian menu and was confused as to why prawns would be on the menu,I was also asked if my menu could be taken to the kitchen which makes me think the kitchen staff did not know what Was on the menu,toilets could also do with a bit tlc,bin was overflowing with paper towels to the extent they were over the floor,very disappointed in a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowgoose1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Fernie Castle for one night. We booked a double room in advance and paid a discounted B&B rate of £130. I believe that the full rate for a double room with breakfast is £190.

The castle itself is a lovely fascinating building and the communal areas, such as lounges, ceremony rooms and bars were highly atmospheric. Within the castle's grounds there's a lake and the rolling hills of Fife's countryside provide a pretty backdrop. The prices of drinks at the bar, whether alcoholic or soft are reasonable. When made aware of an issue the castle's staff tried their best to resolve matters.

However, the standard of our room, along with the overall level of service and quality of food struggled to reach 2 Star, despite the fact Fernie Castle advertises itself as a 4 Star establishment and charges 4 Star prices.

Fernie Castle has immense potential as an event venue, hotel and restaurant but would benefit from staff experienced and trained in hospitality, event, catering and business management.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Letham hotels

Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

1 night stay after a wedding, room average, broken tv, bathroom door would not shut, a pair of old tights in the bin, the main meal was reheated frozen fare, very poor, breakfast was ok at best. Lager on draft, but no beer, bar unattended at times, function bar very poorly stocked, not enough staff, profits maximised at guests expense. £130, poor value.

Room Tip: Lots of alternatives nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I recently attended a wedding at this venue.
While it is a nice looking place I found it to be quite disorganised.
The car park was a muddy patch of grass, the hotel was poorly signposted.
The room was noisy and cold, we had to request additional blankets.
The room was poor with no wardrobe to hang clothes and a bathroom door that would not shut.
Barking dogs at night also didn't help.
The waitresses didn't know where the tables were despite having a seating plan and seemed unsure of what they were doing.
Breakfast showed more disorganisation.
Personally, I'd not go back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham_w_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I can't thank the Laird Neil Blackburn and his staff enough for making my wedding day, in my brides words " a truly amazing fairytale wedding". From the very first time I called for information to the day of the wedding Neil was fantastic. This castle was absolutely perfect for our needs. Beautiful inside and out, with rooms full of character we are so happy that we chose Fernie Castle for our big day. I must also add that the food served during the wedding dinner was simply "to die for" and the location for wedding photos is beautiful. A day that we will never forget :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letham
7.8 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
21.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
5.4 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernie Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernie Castle Hotel

Property: Fernie Castle Hotel
Address: Letham KY15 7RU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Letham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Letham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernie Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fernie Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernie Castle Hotel Scotland/Letham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing