We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the detour”

Jack Daniel's Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Nashville to Jack Daniel's Distillery and Back
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fifteen miles east of Lynchburg.
Sammamish, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Worth the detour”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Not an alcoholic drinker, but saw the sign driving from Nashville and Chattanooga, and decided to take a detour and visit the distillery.

The visitor center is nice and modern, with exhibits all around the large room. The tour is free.

The tour starts with a group photo, and then a short bus ride. You're given the history of the company, and then walked through several buildings, from the original office, to the water source, and one of the warehouses. We were told that the tour would take an hour, and it ran about 15 minutes extra.

Because of local laws, they don't sell liquor that they make there (other than some promotional bottles). There are also no free tasting, but the free lemonade was quite good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank palladia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,201
    491
    70
    24
    19
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
basingstoke
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

what a place! excellent tour, town and shops. well worth the trip and very infomative! loved every minute and would highly recommend seeing this if you are a Jack Daniel's fan. The tours are excellently run and managed!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank womblefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, VA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I arrived bright and early for the sampling tour only to find out it was being done at noon! So we waited, we were able to look around the area and take our time reading little tidbits of information. The tour was incredibly informative, we learned so much! Our tour guide was friendly and attentive to everyone. I highly recommend going on the sampling tour as well. My husband has come home and thought he was an expert on whiskey. The tour guide explains everything and shows you how to taste, smell, and really step back and enjoy the whiskey more than you had before!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited in December with friends. We booked the taster tour and it was great. You actually start appreciating whiskey much more after seeing the whole process of how it is being made. The guide was very informative and good-humoured.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jack's Old #7”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Entertaining tour of how whiskey is made and how it is that Lynchburg is the location for Jack Daniels's Distillery. Tour Guides are informative and have a sense of humor. Some walking involved but not too bad.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dewlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Daniel's Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Jack Daniel's Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing